We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Green Bottles!!!”
Review of Dalmally Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dalmally Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Dalmally B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ten Green Bottles!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have just returned from Scotland, we stayed at the Hotel for 4 nights with Highland Heritage Holidays. Overall we had a good holiday,we felt the hotel could do with some new more modern bedding, but everything else was fine. Alex the Manager makes sure you have a good time. He makes sure everything runs like clockwork. Food is what you expect for the price that you pay, don't go expecting five star gourmet food, you haven't paid for it, but you do get very good value for money! Our driver Jon, was very experienced, a fantastic driver, and knew the area very well, he told us lots of facts and local history and made the holiday more enjoyable! So thankyou Jon. Regarding the green bottles of hand sanitizer, well you get used to them, and it is for your own well being, so with that said. We had a very good holiday. The entertainment did leave a lot to be desired though, and was not to our taste, but if its your thing then so be it! Thanks again Jon, Alex and all of the very pleasant helpfull staff. Janet and Trevor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    57
    29
    13
    12
See reviews for
25
72
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We arrived at the Dalmally Hotel last Saturday for a 5 day break, we were greeted by Alex the lovely manager & made to feel very Welcome.
The rooms were warm, clean & comfy.
The staff are first class, nothing is to much trouble for them. the service was very efficent & everyone worked together as a team.
The trips were lovely, Graham our coach driver was lovely, very imformative without being boring, we were very lucky with the weather & saw Scotland at its best, there were places I wouldnt have chosen to go & other places I would have liked to stay longer, but that is down to personal choice.
The gardens & hanging baskets are a riot og colour, thanks to the head gardner the one & only Mr Ian Cleaver.
All in all we had a lovely break, thank you Highland Heritage for your warmth & hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anniecHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've just come back from one of these tours and I kind of agree with all previous comments, both good and bad - but on the whole I don't think you can fault it for value for money. Yes it's very organised - breakfast at such a time, dinner at such a time, doors locked at such a time. But we had a lovely room with a wonderful view of the mountains. The food for the most part was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The excursions we went on were lovely and our driver Graham was funny and very informative. I would travel with Highland Heritage again, but would go to a different hotel as the Dalmally IS very isolated and we would have liked to wander out on an evening but there was nowhere to go. The entertainment in the hotel was quite good, especially the singer comedian on the last evening (Billy). The bar prices were very reasonable and not the usual hotel rip off. All in all we had a great time, even the weather was mostly kind to us.I wouldn't take children though as here is absolutely nothing for them to do and no wi-fi or even phone signal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ptbakakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just returned from a brilliant week with Highland Heritage at the Dalmally Hotel and I can't fault it in any way. The coach was on time for an early pick-up. It was clean and comfortable and driven by a true professional. The Hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly, welcoming and slick. The food and choices offered were excellent. The itinerary was full but well planned. The evening entertainment was also to everyones liking. It really speeks volumes when everyone I spoke to said what a brilliant time they had.All successes to The Dalmally Hotel. A.H.

Room Tip: Always go for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Oz6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have just returned from a 7 day holiday with Highland Heritage accompanied by my husband and two friends. We found the total experience horrible and were so relieved to get home.
The holiday is definitely good value for money so I suppose you get what you pay for.
There is a ridiculous performance with hand gel which you are required to apply every time you move in the hotel or on the coach. I am all for hygiene but there are limits.
You are required to attend for meals at the times set by the hotel which vary according to the start and finish times of the daily tours. You then have to stand in line waiting to be allowed into the dining room where a member of staff stands with hand gel at the ready. The meals are actually quite good considering the cost of the holiday.
The hotel rooms are well appointed but there are no telephones in the rooms and as there is no mobile signal from any provider. This could be potentially very dangerous. Should you require help in the night you are required to go to reception on the ground floor and ring a bell - very helpful if you happen to have had a cardiac arrest and your partner has limited mobility! I would have thought that this would be a Health and Safety issue, particularly as these holidays attract a more mature or even elderly customer.
The entertainment is quite good but if you do not want to be entertained your only option is to go to your room as there is nowhere to sit away from the noise.
The bar is only open at times set by the hotel and so should you wish a drink at any other time "tough".
Although one trip is stated to be optional, the options are very limited as there is no food or drink available in the hotel during the day and the hotel is miles from anywhere - impossible if you have limited mobility. So unless you organise food the day before and don't mind doing nothing for the day there is no option.
The time set for breakfast each day does not leave adequate time to relax and enjoy the meal and perform whatever ablutions are necessary before setting out for the day. The time from sitting down to the meal and needing to be on the coach varied from 3/4 hour to an hour.
For three days of the holiday you are required to have breakfast at a ridiculously early time because of the distance to be travelled which meant that we could not face a cooked breakfast so early and so rushed.
The daily trips do take in some gorgeous scenery but it is not worth it for the time you are spending on the coach (an average of 6 hours a day travelling) and the short amount of time spent at your destination. If you are happy sitting on a coach all day with scenery flashing by you at 50 miles an hour then perhaps this is for you but I, and many others, suffered from swollen ankles even though we had never suffered before.
The whole holiday was very stressful as you were constantly pressurised, when you were not travelling, to do whatever you had to do in a very short time.
It seems to us that the whole thing is far too rushed and all the rules and regulations are there to keep the management happy and not for the pleasure and convenience of the clients.
It is the first time in my life that I have felt relieved that a holiday is over and I am sure that if the full itinerary was published before you had to book the holiday then there would be few takers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Barbarafoleyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Glories of Scotland coach tour - talk about value for money! An excellent package.
Coach pick-up - case loaded and delivered to your hotel room. comfortable coach with knowledgeable and easy going driver,Stevie [ and Derek his co driver] Warm and hospitable welcome at the hotel by the charming and professional Alex and his entire staff. Everyone can be proud of their work,attitude and manners. Food was good with a choice of evening dinner. Entertainment was Ok but ended promptly at 10:30pm. Dalmally Hotel is really isolated and you are a captive audience but bar prices are fair.
The trips are a full day but the scenery is stunning. Perhaps a little better planning and a bit more free time between arriving back and 7pm dinner time , say 7:30pm!
Overall a truly enjoyable experience. Coach & table companions really nice people.
Be warned - NO Mobile Signal in hotel - you may if lucky get one outside. There are no room telephones either!
Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgharmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXOR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My brother, his wife and myself have just returned today from 7 day holiday with Highland Heritage staying at the Dalmalley Hotel. What a lovely trip and excellent value for money. Excellent organisation which began with our coach pick up in Sunderland by Linda. Journey long but plenty stops.
On arrival we were greeted by manager , Alex, who gave out our room numbers while the staff carried our luggage up to our rooms. Alex and his hotel staff were professional, pleasant and extremely hardworking, an asset to the hotel. Mr Cleaver, you should be proud of them.
Our 2 coach drivers for the week, Linda and Paul, were excellent drivers, very knowlegable about the whole area and extremely entertaining on the long journeys.
Rooms were spacious, warm and clean with toiletries provided, fresh fruit on arrival and tea, coffee, hot chocolate and lovely biscuits replenished every day.
We enjoyed the meals which were good British fayre. Good portions and choice of 3 for starters, main and dessert.
Entertainment enjoyable and reasonably priced bar.
Excursions can be exhausting as early starts and back at 6 and 7 from Mull and Iona but such magnificent scenery. Favourites were Glen Coe, Glenfinnan and Mallaig , Mull and Iona and Scenic tour ending in Oban. Enjoyed Royal Yacht Brittania but a long journey to Edinburgh when we had come that way on journey up and on return journey home the next day. Maybe look at stopping there on either leg of journey or a different excursion to maybe Callander and Loch Katrine.
A point to bear in mind, the hotel is isolated with only gift shop opposite and post office/store down the road so if you do not take optional excursion of £11there will be little to do locally. You could catch train from Dalmally up to Oban and spend time there or do boat trip to Tobermoray and Duart Castle on Isle of Mull followed by seal and bird sighting.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and look forward to visiting the Highlands again. Well done Highland Heritage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOSTRISLuxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalmally
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Doran Hotel
Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
15 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
913 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 10 in Crianlarich
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmally Hotel

Property: Dalmally Hotel
Address: Dalmally PA33 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dalmally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmally Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalmally Hotel Lying in the village of Dalmally in Strathorchy The hotel is sited in the village of Dalmally in Strathorchy. It has spectacular mountain views all round and three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens. The famous salmon river "Orchy" flows down the Strath and the favourite morning walk is past the ancient medieval church down to the 300 year old "Wade" Bridge to watch for salmon, trout and otter. The hotel is of modern construction with large en-suite bedrooms and spectacular public areas awash with plants and flowers. The lounge has a dancefloor and bar, and there is also a billiard room. The bedrooms have comfortable modern divan beds, tea makers, hair dryers, TV and controlled heating. Furnishings are modern and crisp; there are heated towel rails in every room. There are four floors serviced by a modern lift. The dining room and lounges each seat two hundred people and are a joy for flower lovers everywhere. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Dalmally Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmally Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing