We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub in a 70's time warp”
Review of Cuilfail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuilfail Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Kilmelford B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pub in a 70's time warp”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went for a pub supper but the small tired and gloomy bar wasn't large enough to seat more than the 4 or 5 couples who were already seated so were shown to a small narrow anti room next door which was utterly characterless with a row of tables and chairs and nothing else. The only alternative was the "whisky lounge" - a larger room with tables and chairs a couple of sofas and interestingly, a box of kleenex tissues on a coffee table.

We opted to eat here but were the only customers so atmosphere nil. The menu is very basic and unimaginative which is fine if there is no one around who is able to cook properly which, if this is the case it is sensible not to try to be adventurous. The list of main courses consists of fish and chips, scampi and chips, lasgne (and chips) etc.etc.

Its disappointing to find a place which could have so much potential being run without what seems to be any form of direction. There was no sign of or greeting by a friendly owner or manager which is so important in these small country hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
63
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I was working in the area and visited the cuilfail hotel several times for an evening meal and wasn't disappointed once. Owners and staff are friendly. Only down side is the meals are a little pricey, overall a thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Thesparke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stopped off here for a drink after a coastal walk and stayed for lunch once we knew the dogs were allowed in the bar.
The bar was traditional and cosy and very well stocked. The Guinness excellent as was the haddock and chips and husbands steak pie and chips!
We were even given information on good dog walking areas before we left.
Very friendly and helpful just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgeandbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Friendly atmosphere,warm welcome from the owners,friendly staff,food and service fantastic,a place worth visit! If you want to see a collection of over 100 currency notes from different countries all over the the world,then this is the place to relax,with an old but warm bar,very cosy ta h

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotlandventuring201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Owners working hard to update this hotel. It's a mammoth task and will take time. Some bedrooms have been refurbished and breakfast room ok. Our room needed a new bed, it was soft and lumpy and we both rolled into the middle. Food as good as most hotels in Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We eat at the cuilfail with family while on holiday the bar was very busy service nice nice and friendly great food i think the hotel could do with a little refurb but the bar is a great old fashioned bar would come back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mpa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from week's holiday in Kilmelford. Food at the hotel is brilliant - HUGE helpings and very well cooked. Great atmosphere especially on the Friday night. Nothing was too much trouble. Moved us to a larger table in the restaurant area so as to accommodate 5 of us around table. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMontgomery_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmelford
13.4 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
355 reviews
10.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
9.1 mi away
Glenmore Country House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilfail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilfail Hotel

Property: Cuilfail Hotel
Address: Kilmelford PA34 4XA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmelford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuilfail Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Victorian hotel started life as a drover’s inn which was extended in the mid 1800's to take advantage of the fabulous fishing and hunting the area has to offer. There is plenty to see and do whilst staying at the hotel, walking, sailing, canoeing, horse riding, Shooting, cycling (on and off road), boat trips, gardens, or just relax in the wonderful highland atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuilfail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilfail Hotel Kilmelford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing