We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great wee pub”
Review of Cuilfail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuilfail Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Kilmelford B&B and Inns
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great wee pub”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stopped in for a meal and found a super little bar with a great atmosphere. Very old but clean and welcoming.The meals were generous and well cooked and the prices were most reasonable.Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royoswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    43
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
60
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were booked here by our travel agent and advised it was just outside Oban...hmmmmm its about a 25minute drive, but it is a very scenic drive.
A great looking building and in very good condition inside. The owners were great and very helpful with lots of information on walks in the vicinity.
The onsite pub provided good cold beer and great food for a very reasonable price.
The room was very clean and had double glazing.(Building very close to the road)
The ensuite bathroom needs some work and the water pressure is very low.
Breakfast was beautiful and fresh.
Would I stay again? - Yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I came back to Cuilfail after staying here 40 years ago on family holidays, an experience which still remains one of the happiest memories of childhood holidays. The passage of time has not been kind however and this once grande dame of Scottish hotels is showing signs of her age!
The building needs serious renovation works and successive owners have stripped assets of a once great hotel. The beautiful gardens are now a housing estate opposite the main hotel, gone the Victorian mahogany furniture from every room and some dubious upgrading to add bathrooms en suite spoil once grand rooms.
What had been a comfortable small lounge with chintz sofas and chairs was now a dining room and the imposing long lounge, remembered as the smoky retreat after a big dinner, was boarded off and not in use. The mattress in our room had seen better days and the water pressure was low in the shower. Not the most auspicious start to a hotel stay.
However there were positive points about coming back and staying here. Simon and Yvonne are genuinely warm and welcoming hosts and obviously have a love for the hotel and a vision for its future. Their money has gone on trying to fix ancient plumbing and wiring and keeping the Highland weather out rather than on furnishings and fripperies and one suspects that what they inherited when they bought the place has quickly become a money pit! They do however go out of their way to ensure that their guests feel comfortable and welcome, something unfortunately all too lacking in other establishments. The hotel is also spotlessly clean, something they should be really proud of.
Breakfast was superb on every morning, although not a fan of self service breakfasts in hotels. The cooked breakfast was well sourced and well cooked, delicious sausages and black pudding and eggs poached to perfection.
Simon and Yvonne have a plan to renovate and revitalise the hotel and I hope that they can achieve their goal as they deserve to succeed, however I might wait another 40 years before visiting again, just in case.......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorksRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A very enjoyable experience. The hotel is a bit dated but clean and roomy. They have the best ever pub for atmosphere. As it was early in the evening, it was not busy, and we sat by the fire and read until dinner time. I had the best macaroni and cheese of my life!! My husband's steak and ale pie was also very good. Breakfast the next morning was exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is a bit dated, looks like it needs a lick of paint but was clean, although the bed was a bit saggy! We had one of the best meals of our trip at the hotel, it was amazing. The food is obviously fresh and well cooked, the staff are friendly and helpful and the beer is great.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmasterTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We received a very warm welcome by the owner, Simon (who opened the pub bar for us in order that we thirsty and weary travelers could quench our thirst with a refreshing Guinness), and we felt very much at home for our three nights in the beautiful Oban area. Staff (Simon and Yvonne) were extremely accommodating, and it was a pleasure being in their company. While the hotel is old, it is charming and historic (and perhaps in need of some additional renovation). Our room was large, sunny and clean, with a large, modern, recently renovated bathroom. Breakfast was good, dinner in the cozy and lively very good, and fun! While the hotel is located approx. 15 kms south of Oban, the 20 minute drive into the beautiful harbor town was beautiful and relaxing due to the spectacular scenery. We would definitely stay at the Cuilfail again if/when we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Excellent touring location but over priced for what it is. Clean rooms but tiny shower room which is an add on and spoils the room. Good breakfast, poor tv reception,Soft mattress but friendly host. Hotel requires refurbishment to justify the price.

Room Tip: Ask to review first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmelford
11.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
10.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilfail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilfail Hotel

Property: Cuilfail Hotel
Address: Kilmelford PA34 4XA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmelford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuilfail Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Victorian hotel started life as a drover’s inn which was extended in the mid 1800's to take advantage of the fabulous fishing and hunting the area has to offer. There is plenty to see and do whilst staying at the hotel, walking, sailing, canoeing, horse riding, Shooting, cycling (on and off road), boat trips, gardens, or just relax in the wonderful highland atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuilfail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilfail Hotel Kilmelford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing