We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmelford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melfort Pier & Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

...even the weather was ace! We stayed the week before Easter Hazel, in reception was friendly and warm as was her wee jack Russell. We stayed in the boathouse west where the Accomodation was clean and well kitted out. Hazel left us poop bags and treats for out two jack Russell's. We used the outside barbecue the first night and could have every night along with the spa bath and sauna. We will certainly be back....thanks to hazel and her team. :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    28
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
58
113
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We found melfort pier by accident a couple of years ago and believe me it was the best acccident ever it wasn't the type of holiday we usually take as we used to always go to primrose valley near scarborough but that was when our kids were younger now they have all flown the nest we are so glad we found melfort pier we absolutely love it there the peace and quiet is so good we both work in taxis and this place fills all the boxes the accomodation is very clean and so nice and comfy there is not anything that we needed that wasn't in the house we took all our shopping up with us as the nearest supermarket is in oban but this was no hardship we looked right out on the loch and we could stay here forever the spa bath and sauna are just the icing on the cake the walks round about are fantastic and the village down the road has a hotel so beer readily available sitting out on the balcony looking out over the water it is hard to believe you are still in this country so peaceful the beds are comfy and very clean ample storage space and as for the staff we have found them to be the most helpful and friendliest people we have ever met we go at least 2-3 times a year more if we can as for the pricing excellent value for money if you stayed in a hotel you would pay the same for a night as you do here but at least here you have a house with sauna and spa bath and all for your own use no need to share with strangers we are going up tomorrow 17th march for 4 nights and can't wait so please give this place a try and you will see for yourself how great it is ******
SEE YOU TOMORROW MELFORT ******

Room Tip: boat house east or west
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeebee1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Melfort Pier...had a tough year, so, decided to book a relaxing break and found Melfort Pier..just so peaceful, yes, the weather was awful..but, it was the end of February...but, didnt care...would like to thank Hazel...from my first phone call..during my stay..and my sad day of departure...she is just a gem !! And my house, was so clean, had everything we needed...and more ! We will definately return, later in the year..thank you, so much..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Loved this wee gem of a place.stayed in a room with an indoor private sauna, had amazing views and lots to do nearby, could have spent the whole time just sitting on the balcony was stunning, was greeted by a lovely american woman too who was very helpful. Definitely be back soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank msmcguinnessx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed in Bridge Deck and we loved every minute both times. These lodges are set on the shores of Loch Melfort and offer the most amazing views. The interior has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Have we stayed in more luxurious cottages.... Yes..... But never one more tranquil. If you are looking for time away from the 'rat race' and to recharge your batteries then this is the place for you. Nothing better than a long walk followed by a sauna then sit back and get lost in that view. Thank you Hazel and team, we will back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Myself and a group of 7 friends managed to get ourselves an amazing lodge at Melfort for New Year. We actually had two houses connected together (Anchorage & Dockmaster) which meant we had two living rooms/kitchens which was ideal for 8 people.
Each room had an en suite and we had two sauna's. The lodge was beautiful when we arrived with a few wee surprises added in (Bottles of wine & chocolates) which was the perfect touch.
We had our own Jetty which unfortunantly due to the weather we could not bring a boat with us but the next time we come (as there will be a next time) we plan on bringing the boats and taking full advantage of it.
I could not fault Hazel for all of her help when booking. She was so helpful and lovely when I spoke with her on the phone and she dealt with my thousands of emails and questions beautifully.
We will certainly be back to Melfort Pier in the summer of 2014.
Thank you so much for such a lovely New Year and one that we will all remember.
xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This visit was a last minute decision to spend New Year away, now that our children are all away from home. My husband, friend and myself really appreciated the lovely warm East Boathouse. Our dog was totally happy there too. Hazel at reception could not have been more helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and the en-suites in each room, a real bonus. The view from the lounge was lovely. The sauna was very relaxing and although the weather was awful, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmelford
17.2 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
650 reviews
16.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,456 reviews
3.1 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melfort Village
Melfort Village
#2 of 2 in Kilmelford
121 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
1.2 mi away
Cuilfail Hotel
Cuilfail Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilmelford
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melfort Pier & Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melfort Pier & Harbour

Property: Melfort Pier & Harbour
Address: Melfort | near Oban, Kilmelford PA34 4XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmelford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kilmelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the West Coast of Scotland, just 16 miles south of Oban, the Gate way to the Isle, is Melfort. Melfort Pier & Harbour is right on the shore of one of the most beautiful sea Loch's in Scotland, where the Highlands come down to the sea.............We have 10 Scandanavian houses, all with a different lay out. Some all on one level. Other ones up stairs. Every house has a superb view of the Loch. Our main asset is our unique location,protected on the seaward side by uninhabited islands and sheltered by the hills of the Melfort wood to the North. Our high quality, self contained houses, surround our private harbour. When you are here, we provide you with privacy and the freedom and flexibility to do what every you like. We have 6 houses for the less mobile. 2 Pets per house are very welcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melfort Pier & Harbour Hotel Kilmelford
Melfort Pier And Harbour
Melfort Pier & Harbour Kilmelford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing