We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melfort Pier & Harbour
Nearby Hotels
Cuilfail Hotel(Kilmelford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melfort House(Kilmelford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Melfort Village(Kilmelford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
162
31
6
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
31
6
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathadmiral suiteself cateringlong weekendrowing boatcrows nestunderfloor heatingviews are stunninglog burnerbirthday treatdock masterbeautiful place to staythird visita great place to relaxexcellent weekenddidn't disappointboat house
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 211 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have just returned from our 5th visit and it never dissapoints.All the staff including Oscar make you feel very welcome,nothing is too much bother.Paradise for dogs and anyone wishing for total relaxation.Spotlessly clean and really everything you would want.Will certainly be back.!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francophileScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed in the Commodore Suite for 4 nights with my husband. First impressions were that the place had a real charm - the welcome in the site office was very relaxed and friendly. The views really are stunning, coupled with the tranquility and peace, this really is what you are paying for.

I agree with most other reviewers that the decor is a little bit tired; but feel this could be easily remedied by first of all just getting new bedding and towels. However, the place is very clean and well equipped and you do have everything you need and a little extra... It was nice to have a sauna.

I do think it is good value for money - Scotland does tend to be very expensive! We looked at other places that were 'luxury' and they were asking for over £900 for the same 4 nights that we paid £520 at Melfort Pier.

Don't be put off by the decor too much - enjoy the views and get out and about.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Melfort Pier is a great place to relax for a short break. Very peaceful and quiet. We last visited about 5 years ago and while the place has aged a bit, it is still excellent. We ate at the nearby Shower of Herring restaurant and at the Melfort Hotel. Again both great quality meals.
Stayed at the Mooring Master, very comfortable with two en suite bedrooms plus a pier side patio area and sauna. Weather was a bit better than have recently experienced - hit 24oC in Oban one day!
Definitely worth considering for a break on the west coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

In the property market (my industry) they say that the three most important things are:- Location, Location, Location and this is one of the best! From the beautiful views across Loch Melfort to the hills beyond, the tranquil surrounds, rich wildlife and delightful walks, to the helpful, easygoing friendly staff and the well appointed and presented accomodation, this truly is the place to unwind and forget all your worrie!. The words 'hustle and bustle' have never been heard here! If you want to 'get way from it all' then this idyllic spot is the place to be. We left feeling totally refreshed and relaxed. Can't wait until our next visit! .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandBUserLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a place in need of some serious TLC. It would have had a wow factor in its heyday perhaps some 20 years ago, but it would appear that cost cutting has taken its toll. I would rate it 3-4 star, but read on and make up your own mind.

Plus points
Fantastic location right at the water's edge. Views of the bay to die for.
Tranquil and out of the way.
Electricity included in price (many self catering properties do not include this)
Easy sea fishing from pier.
Lots of mussel beds around (but the mussels we collected were full of grit/pearls, and not really edible)
Free use of rowing boat .
Free wifi, although connectivity temperamental.
Sauna and spa bath in most properties.
Dog friendly.

Minus points
Very tired accommodation, including beds, bed linen, towels, bathrooms (the shower door handle came off in my hand), general furnishings, furniture (rickety coffee table, wardrobe handle also came off in my hand), sunbleached outside wood panelling.
Second bedroom very cramped (in Quayside cottage anyway) - only suitable for children, or adults for a short stay.
Everything is "budget" range, e.g. Tesco Value hand wash, Argos budget range furniture (very rickety), Technika TV, Beko CRT TV.
No restaurant on site.
No decent sandy beach on site.
No T-mobile/Orange signal (obviously not the resort's fault). O2 and Vodafone ok.

Overall the accommodation is clean and generally well equipped, but I would not call it “luxurious”. Proximity of the sea, the views, and clever layout of the cottages give the whole resort a certain feel-good factor. We had a great time, the dogs loved it, and we would recommend it. It's a little pricey for the standard of accommodation certainly. If only the owners would look ahead and spend even a little money to spruce up the place, e.g. plump new pillows, fresh crisp linen and towels, quality fittings, coat of varnish outdoors….the place could be heading in the right direction of its presumed former glory, and its claim of being a "luxury" resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mabok O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews