We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Relaxing Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcaldine House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barcaldine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barcaldine House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barcaldine
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Spent 3 fabulous nights last weekend with Michael Riemenschneider and his top class team. We were made to feel relaxed and welcome as soon as we crossed the threshold. Two lovely comfortable lounges with log fires. Our bedroom was fresh and clean with a large very comfortable bed and Egyptian cotton bedding, flat screen TV and Wi Fi. No problems with the plumbing in our bathroom, which had a modern over-bath drench shower, fluffy white towels and generous Highland Aromatics toiletries. A slight downside to the bedroom was its position over the kitchen, as there was some noise from clearing up in the kitchen late at night, at the beginning of our stay. However the food is what makes this hotel great. We were happy to go with Michael's recommendations and each of our 3, three course evening meals was a delight, with consistency of quality and presentation across the courses. We enjoyed wonderful seafood, meat cooked perfectly and desserts to delight. We wish you and all the team well in your new venture and hope we can come back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Lovely period listed house in a quiet location, log fires, comfortable lounges, bedrooms with everything you need, quality linen and towels, TV, Wifi, wide choice of beverages. 5 star staff. We left the menu to Michael, the owner/chef, the food was out of this world, fantastic. Totally disagree with the bad reviews, were they staying at another hotel? To enable anybody to have anything they wanted to eat you would need a store room the size of a supermarket superstore and logistics to match. Some people are not in the real world. Many thanks Michael and staff for a great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms comparable, we were lucky enough to be shown 4 or 5 of the bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleschoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Had a very pleasant and entertaining weekend. Michael Riemenschneider's food is very good and he does nice personal touches around likes/dislikes. Staff very friendly and helpful. On the downside, the rooms are tired and the plumbing is medieval- shower pressures non-functional on top floor.
Michael told us his grandiose plans in place for refurb. I think I'll wait for that before contemplating another visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criticallywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, Lanarkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Having just returned from this hotel I am writing to say how disappointed we were with the experience. The rooms were basic and lacked any type of toiletries--now standard in all types of establishments-- beds not comfortable; and decor done on the cheap. There is no evening menu, the chef/ owner comes and talks to you to say you can have anything you would like and it will be cooked for you; but when you say what would be tempting to you he talks you around and you end up with what he has in the kitchen. When questioned why we could not have what we requested-- all foods he said were in stock-- we were told that we were on a package so what did we expect. Will never be back.

Room Tip: all rooms noisy as sound proofing is not good, especially the plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had booked this small hotel (restaurant with rooms) in the early summer and were surprised that it had recently changed hands later in the summer. Our visit was a remarkable treat - the setting is intimate and well appointed. The food was comparable to that found in the best restaurants in Paris - it shows that the chef/owner Michael had trained with Pierre Gagnier - the meal quality and innovation was on that level. Wish Michael the best.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed for a 2 nights break in October. This small and intimate hotel gave the impression of more like a home than a hotel with its setting and very comfortable lounges. The room we had was standard size but very well cartered for. Unfortunately ours was right above the kitchen and quite noisy in the late evening. Other than that the service from all the staff was excellent, very friendly and attentive to your every need. The food was out of this world and thanks to Michael ( chef/patron) who excelled with the meals he produced on both nights of our stay. The afternoon teas must not be missed and neither should the breakfasts. The Barcaldine house is a very comfortable and relaxing break and with its friendly attentive service, we both cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blairgowrie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights end of sept room and service excellent. Michael (chef and owner) and Anita front of house wery welcoming. Nothing was too much bother and public rooms and bedrooms kept very clean and cosy Food was delicous obviously freshly made and served with aplomb Highly recommend a few nights stay and be spoiled..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
0.0 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
0.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcaldine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcaldine House Hotel

Property: Barcaldine House Hotel
Address: Barcaldine PA37 1SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcaldine House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2011, Barcaldine House is one of Scotland’s unique luxury hotels located near Oban and within easy access to spectacular mountains, beaches, lochs and glens as well as a range of superb activities in Argyll. With 11 bedrooms and an award winning restaurant with two AA Rosettes, using the best locally sourced Scottish cuisine - a true taste of Scotland. The 1709 country house hotel is surrounded by enchanting forests and secret gardens. Barcaldine has spacious public rooms with log fires, and is an exceptionally romantic stately home to relax, unwind and explore the west coast of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barcaldine House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing