We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remarkable Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barcaldine House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barcaldine
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Remarkable Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We booked in August, and arrived to find the hotel had re-opened under new ownership. The hospitality we received throughout our two day stay was so remarkable, it exceeded expectations right from our reception, by Sarah, through to the time we departed. The personal attention given throughout was a match for the very best of hotels. Barcaldine house is in a very peaceful location. We stayed in a superior room, which was clean, quiet and spacious. The public rooms were also comfortable, clean and pleasant to be in. Of particular note were the comfortable lounges and the elegant billiard room, with a full-sized table. Dining was an exceeding enjoyable experience, with great attention from Michael Riemenschneider, the new owner and chef. Food was all fresh and very professionally cooked and presented by the team, with the dishes set by Michael after he had first fully understood our preferences. This not only applied to dinner, but breakfast too. The new Barcaldine House joins a handful of quality hotels and restaurants that make Oban and North Argyll the seafood capital of the world. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Booked to stay here for two nights but after a day out on the 2nd night we returned to be told the hotel would be closing and we had to move on. Luckily we found somewhere to stay near by where we were told by locals that the owners had many money problems & were known to treat their guests and staff appallingly. No idea if it will open again but my advice is, if it is still owned by the same people then go elsewhere, not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Josephine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

good place, good restaurant, good people. we celebrated birthday of our friend there, everything is so nice. but if you don't drive, it's not easy getting there

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon, wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in Barcaldine House for two nights and enjoyed the room and the dinner we had on our Wedding Anniversary. The welcome and service we received from John (Deputy Manager) and Johnnie were good but the service at breakfast on our first morning was rude and so unwelcoming. We ascertained later that we had been serevd by the Manager (Alastair). What made matters worse was that it was our Pearl Wedding Anniversary and ate in the Dining Room for that occasion ( which we enjoyed) but a friend from home had phoned the hotel to arrange a surprise bottle of wine for us to accompany our meal and the Manager had been rather unfriendly to him also. Since he knew it was a special occasion for us we expected a token from the Hotel to mark our anniversary as we have often heard about this kind of gesture receievd at other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedcouple81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Magnificent lounges & dining room. Would guess has been extensivley renovated since some of the earlier photos were taken. Room was spacious & light & very clean. Meal in restaurant was exceptional. Our 11 year old especially enjoyed a couple of games of snooker! Peaceful setting with some picturesque walks through the surrounding woodland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

My partner and I managed to book into the Hotel at very late notice for an excellent rate.
The manager, John, couldn't have made us more welcome and went out of his way to ensure that we were settled in and assistanced us throughout the stay.
Although there a few flights of stairs up to the room, the room was well worth it. It had a view where the sunset just streamed in with all the beautiful colours of a Scottish summer sky. The furnishings were modern but in keeping with the 'grand' house. The bathroom was massive. The water pressure was typical of a third storey house in the UK.
The rest of the house was furnished in a 'clean' grand way and very warm and inviting. It even had an excellent billiards room. The history was also worth a good read.
If we weren't passing through we definitely would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Lovely setting and house. Food delicious but very small portions even for our Michelin Star tastes. Service extremely slow even though only one other table dining. Breakfast lovely although waiter got very defensive when I asked why our order had not been taken even though other guests who had come down later had been served -a simple apology would have sufficed. Public areas are variable - one lounge is very drap with no cushions to brighten up the dreary sofas. Bedroom lovely buts what with the cheap vinyl in the bathroom and the cheap plastic key ring/door key? - suggests an owner who wants to make the most money for the smallest outlay. And the owner is? We found it strange that his/her name is not in any of the info even though its a privately owned hotel. Again suggested he/she is not interested in how things are run, just in making money. Not sure how long he/she can do that - a near empty dining room in the summer isn't good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFCLEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
0.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
0.0 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcaldine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcaldine House Hotel

Property: Barcaldine House Hotel
Address: Barcaldine PA37 1SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barcaldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcaldine House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2011, Barcaldine House is one of Scotland’s unique luxury hotels located near Oban and within easy access to spectacular mountains, beaches, lochs and glens as well as a range of superb activities in Argyll. With 11 bedrooms and an award winning restaurant with two AA Rosettes, using the best locally sourced Scottish cuisine - a true taste of Scotland. The 1709 country house hotel is surrounded by enchanting forests and secret gardens. Barcaldine has spacious public rooms with log fires, and is an exceptionally romantic stately home to relax, unwind and explore the west coast of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcaldine House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcaldine House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing