We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcaldine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalrannoch Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ended up staying here due to work. This was a lovely clean and cosy b and b.
Wish could have stayed a bit longer but it was only a place to get my head down for the night.
Hosts were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice place with some good views. Excellent B&B, a few minutes drive from Oban.

We reached very late owing to traffic and weather. Had a couple room and a family room. Nice rooms - very clean, neat and tidy. Rooms are small but adequate. We had attached bathrooms and there are common ones as well. Toiletries are less but fine.

Breakfast was very good and sumptuous. I will recommend and return.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We chanced upon Dalrannoch Farm three years ago when we couldn't find suitable family accommodation in Oban. That year we were late due to ferry problems and arrived at 5.30 am. The room was kept for us and breakfast delayed until later so we could get at least some sleep. I was impressed enough with that to book again.

This year we arrived after 12 hours of travelling and everything was just as good as we remembered. The ensuite family room with bunks is perfectly adequate for a family of four and taking into account the sizeable and good quality breakfast, excellent value for money. In that respect, I am struggling to think of anywhere we have stayed in Oban that is better. If you still want the choice of eating places (and we were hankering for a haggis supper) then Oban is only a 15-20 minute dash over the Connel bridge.

As has been said elsewhere, the location of the accommodation right next to a small bay off Loch Creran is tranquil and beautiful - wandering down to the shore first thing in the morning I was greeted by the sight of the local heron taking to flight. Welcoming and friendly hosts (who let me off forgetting to send the promised deposit as we had stayed before!!), I honestly can't recommend Dalrannoch enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain_Dalgleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

After a long day, this is a lovely place to stumble upon.
Small but adequate room, no ensuite for me, but the bathroom /shower was right next door.
Clean and very tidy, and the full breakfast was excellent quality.
Lovely views from the breakfast room.
And they looked after my bike for me!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UttoxeterPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had a lovely stay here,the room was lovely cosy and clean with a lounge and also a conservatory with fabulous views. Irene was very welcoming and looked after all our needs even down to sheltering our motorbikes if wanted. Breakfast was lovely very good choice available, scenery fabulous. This super find is well worth a visit. Go and see for yourself you will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillipson_julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

About 15 minutes drive outside Oban in a beautiful and quiet location.
We stayed in the family room with one big double bed an two bunk beds. Very nice and clean rooms. Location was superb. Very quiet and intimate and with a great view. Good breakfast with lots to choose from.
Would I recommend this B&B to my best friend? Absolutely!

Any minus? Location if you want to be in a walking distance to central Oban,
The floor just above the family room was a bit squeaky, so if you are a light sleeper and want to sleep late, you'll probably wake up from the family living there walking above your head.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbrippel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

A busy B&B in a (former) farm. Beautiful views on the water, ca. 150 meter off the road. We had a (small) room with en-suite. Comfortable and good value for money. Comfortable lounge for guests. Breakfast was good. Close to Oban, so a good place to stay, away from the hustle of the town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarTNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
3.4 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
633 reviews
2.6 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardtorna B&B
Ardtorna B&B
#1 of 3 in Barcaldine
593 reviews
2.6 mi away
An-Struan
An-Struan
#3 of 6 in Benderloch
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalrannoch Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrannoch Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Dalrannoch Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range: $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent base to tour this particularly beautiful part of Scotland only 50 meters from the shores of Loch Creran. 10 miles north of Oban on the road to Fort William, there is a wide choice of places to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dalrannoch Farm Bed And Breakfast Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing