We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value food”
Review of Miramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miramar Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Marvellous value, great food. Lovely atmosphere! Good size portions, drinks slightly expensive but well worth a visit. Really friendly staff. Havn't stayed in the rooms but the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lrod3962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Was booked into this hotel for work recently, it definitely wouldn't of been my first choice! I don't know where to begin? The alleyway at the back of the pub? Full of rubbish, mattresses and smashed bottles? The level crossing that beeps and has trains thundering over all night? The badly hung faded moth eaten curtains? Paint peeling in the shower? Tea\milk stains around the room? The wall light hanging off?the sink light melted? The door to my room that looked like it had been broken into? The damp looking stained ceiling? Dusty window sills with worn carpets? I could continue but I think you get the picture, only reason it gets a mark at all is because the breakfast was not bad a little greasy but Ok! Possibly the worst hotel I've stayed in and I work away a lot! Avoid this hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
6  Thank Aless C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a tidy sized pub. Nice selection of drinks and although I didn't taste the food there was plenty of choice. The only thing I'd say about the place is that it's situated in the roughest areas in Llanelli. It's near the train station so that's useful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Someguy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

travelled down from Newcastle to visit friends, and decided to go to the mirimar for food, we arrived in pub at 150pm and the barmaid was serving someone else with a food order and took approx 4 minutes to serve them. When she came to serve us we ordered our drinks and asked about ordering food to be rudely told "we stopped serving at 2:00" we were taken aback as the time on sky news which was on in the Bar clearly stated 1:54 and the barmaid had literally served someone in front of us a with food order. Needless to say we went elsewhere for a better quality service and with staff with less attitude. I realise that places have time restrictions on food orders but when someone is served in front of you within a couple of minutes of trying to order and then you are refused due to bad timekeeping on the Bars standards, this is not good customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alykes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed Saturday night , as we went to see the scarlets play , for 55 pounds you get basic room and cooked breakfast which is acceptable .we ad a meal after the match the food is Not great but large portions. The pub across the road is ok people were friendly as they were in the hotel also, the beer in the hotel is also ok.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Friendly helpful staff, good value for money excellent full English breakfast included. A very good pub/restaurant downstairs. Nice and clean room with fresh linen.Small secured car park at the back of hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed only for a night so cant comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda1234726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here one night on 17 August 2013. We were give the "best room" apparently. It was on the 4th floor (no lift). Not a problem unless you are a bit unsteady on your feet. The young lady behind the bar was very courteous when we arrived. Our room wasn't ready but that wasn't a problem, we only had to wait 20 mins and were only too happy to have a beer! The room itself was spacious, although tired fittings and carpet. The bed was adequate but the shower was awful. It didn't look like the thing had been cleaned properly for years. The shower head holder came off in your hands when you tried to adjust it.

The breakfast was ok, nothing special. You can't really expect too much for 55 quid a night!

We got a taxi back after our rugby match and were informed by the cab driver not to venture out in this area after dark. Apparently a bit of a drug haven and a few unsavoury characters loitering around in the street.

The car park was fine, not exactly secure as there was no gate where you drive into it. Hotel was easy to find, even with my driving and directional challenges! Just head for the railway station, it's easy.

All in all not a place I would want to spend more than one night in but it does the job. It's a bit like the rest of the town sadly, tired and dated.

Room Tip: Room 14 on the top floor. If you use this one at least you are away from the noise and won't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugby-fan-300861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
0.4 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Llanelli
895 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#8 of 22 in Swansea
244 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel

Address: 158 Station Road, Llanelli SA15 1YU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Price Range: $65 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miramar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently under-going a wide range of renovations. We offer a great selection of rooms with en-suites, free parking and free guest wifi! Also accompanied by our Cabana Grill restaurant and bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing