We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for, old fashioned but nothing to moan about w”
Review of Miramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miramar Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed this week in hotel marimar prior to the ladies British golf championship, the room was a slight shock as it was so old fashioned and resembled a dirty caravan however it looked like a villa after a long day at golf, overall we can't moan it done the job and people can't moan at the price. Good welcoming from the reception memeber Best part of the hotel by far was the breakfast, very good hospitality from the breakfast one and only staff member and she was a true credit to the hotel and done a very good job at serving all customers in a small amount of time , made it more worth the money , thank you breakfast lady!! From The two English girls x

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caddy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Paying for what you get has never been so true. Room was dated but for £40 a night it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was ok however was a bit disappointed that no filter coffee was available, one would make there own instant coffee from the sashes.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spunky-Monkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Miramar Hotel for a short break. The really nice hotel is not far from Llanelli town centre, and best of all is just a short walk from Llanelli railway station. The hotel feels right, Our rooms were bright, clean and comfortable, with tea making facilties and television. the upstairs restuarant for included breakfast was excellent, as good as any we have found abroad. Food cannot be faulted, so long as you make it clear what you want. I like cod, chips and peas rather than with salad. My friend is an ex chef and he could only offer his praise for the the food. Desserts are amazing. We slept well and the local train gave us the opportunity to view the countryside and visit other attractions and the comfort of knowing the hotel was not miles away. If we go too far saying how good this hotel is, it will become so booked up that we may not be able to get a future booking for ourselves. So please leave this excellent 'value for money' hotel as the best kept secret in Llanelli.

Room Tip: If you are disabled, try and book a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_B503904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed there for three nights, good location as a start point to travel around, nothing to do there. It is nice to be all day outside and to go back, take a shower and have a drink/ meal without going out again. Great breakfest and very nice cook. The hotel is quit simple and not expensive. It is all depend on what one is looking for.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Anat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went here on the weekend as it is near the railway station and we had a couple of hours to kill before our train back to Cardiff after visiting the races. We were so surprised at the quality of the food. We were a mixed party and had a variety of food all which was excellent. One had the Sunday roast, which had thick slices of beef, lovely roast and boiled potatoes and a good selection of vegetables, all piping hot. The gravy was tasty, the only gripe he had was there was only one yorkshire pudding (but he's greedy!) Someone had the gammon with chips which was delicious. The rest of us had the baguettes which were huge, served with fries, onion rings and coleslaw. Astonishingly the meals were just £5 each. We would have paid twice as much in a restaurant in Cardiff. Would definitely go there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank msna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Poor v. Poor this hotel was dirty, dated and in a dire state. The rooms where very unsavoury to say the least all bedroom furniture was damaged and falling to bits, the carpets were thread bare and in need of replacement several years ago. The beds were the most uncomfortable I have possibly stayed in. The shower water pressure was low, door broken and didn't close, toilet handle hanging off and bathroom light inoperable. The room smelled strongly of stale damp and musk. Tv in operable.This goes for many of the rooms having moved over 4 different room none an improvement on the last.I work all over the uk and feel this is the worst I have in countered and had to put up with.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Went for my birthday meal. Been there three times and excellent every time. Service. Food. Atmosphere. Perfect. A* would highly recommend. Would definitely be more than happy to take my family and friends there when they visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taznbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
0.4 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#8 of 22 in Swansea
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
4.6 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel

Address: 158 Station Road, Llanelli SA15 1YU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Price Range: $68 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miramar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently under-going a wide range of renovations. We offer a great selection of rooms with en-suites, free parking and free guest wifi! Also accompanied by our Cabana Grill restaurant and bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing