We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stradey Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We got married at the Stradey Park hotel on the 3rd of May 2014. We held the ceremony and the reception at the hotel. Mair was our wedding co-ordinator. We had the most fabulous day, the food was excellent and all of our guests have commented to us on the high standard of the hotel.
Mair was excellent arranging everything for us so our day went smoothly.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and as a bride who slept there the night before I had a brilliant sleep. The bed was so comfy!
We love this hotel, it's exceptional value for money and have stayed there on several occasions. It will now always hold a special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    277
    92
    32
    15
See reviews for
178
299
28
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

O stayed at this hotel last week in order to business and it was very good. The badroom is good, the shower too. The cleaning is ok and the breakfast is quite good. As the company booked it, I'd prefer to stay in a hotel where there is a frigobar. I really missed it. There were not so many options to dinner at the hotel. The menu could be better too.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I and 12 other people went to this hotel for a vintage afternoon tea. It was a small hen party for myself. I have to say the service from booking to end was out of this world and to name our host for the afternoon Michaela. She did an amazing job and was intentive and great customer service.
The afternoon tea was out of this world and enjoyed by all. Ages ranged from 26 up to 80 and suited all needs.
WELL DONE STRADEY PARK HOTEL you made my day xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jools1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove Sussex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lots of good things to say about the Stradey Park. Firstly, the staff are nicer than nice, and really seem to mean it. They are all friendly, welcoming and helpful including the chambermaids and the waiting staff.
Secondly, the food was excellent and good value. We had three meals in our 4 nights there, and they were all really good. The great thing is you can have a bar menu meal in the restaurant, and they are very reasonable. Flounder and chips were very nice, as was the vegeburger, and the seabass on the main menu. Being mainly fish eaters we were struggling a bit on the last night and mentioned it in the morning to the restaurant manager. He told us to ask reception to speak to the chef during the day, which we did, and two fish options appeared on the specials menu that night. I had a lovely salmon fillet with lemon sauce and asparagus.
Breakfasts too were very good, everything you can think of, and I even had smoked haddock!
The restaurant has a lovely view, too over the estuary.
The bedroom was the downside. It was tired and needed decorating. There was chipped paint, a broken bath plug and chip in the bath, saggy curtains and poor lighting. However I mentioned the lighting the first morning and they changed our bedside lights for anglepoise lights which made a huge difference. The good things about the room were that the towels were big and fluffy, the bed was very comfortable ( actually two twins locked together, so lots of comfy room). Good amount of storage, and everything very clean. On leaving I mentioned the room not being up to standard to the lovely helpful manager Tim, and he very kindly reduced our bill considerably. He told us that they are in the process of refurbishing the rooms, and showed us a newly refurbished room which was much nicer. We were just unlucky with the room, although the view was great. I had been considering giving 3 stars on tripadvisor, but after this I felt it really merits 4.
Don't let the room issue put you off going here, - you will feel a valued guest and be able to enjoy the views and food in a relaxed atmosphere. We would go back if we returned to Llanelli.

If you are staying here don't miss the Millenium Country Park walk by the estuary, peaceful and lovely. Also, the newly renovated Llanelli house which will apparently soon have digital interacting characters; and Stradey Castle down the road, a privately owned stately home. And of course Dylan Thomas' homes in Swansea and Laugharne.

Room Tip: As for a newly renovated room, and one with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmaam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

A beautiful spot and a fine building, reception staff were friendly and very professional as were all the staff in the bar and restaurant. Dinner in the Samphire restaurant was delicious and a credit to the Chef and his team. Breakfast was superb and everything was hot and fresh.
Only criticism to make was that the room decor was a bit tired and a stain on the carpet did not enhance the look. The bathroom needed a lot of attention as the washbasin was cracked and the grouting at one area where the bath met the wall had filler missing and was blackened. On entering the room after checkin the bathroom did not smell too pleasant and needed the light and extractor fan left on to clear the air.
Saying the above I would not hesitate to stay there again when visiting that area of Wales.

Room Tip: A room at the front is essential if you wish for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seasalter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel was nice and clean inside and out, Reception staff where very helpful and the rooms had everything you would expect and very quite also.

Food from the bar was lovely and big portions, Breakfast was in a nice setting looking out to the bay.

My only negative is the single beds pushed together to make a "double"

Wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nattybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Booked for 2 nights as part of a golf trip. Reception helpful and made checking in easy. Rooms comfortable and well appointed. Restaurant service good. Quality of food and variety at dinner and breakfast good. Good range of beers and wines in the bar with helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
0.8 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central East Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stradey Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stradey Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Address: | Furnace, Llanelli SA15 4HA, Wales (Formerly Stradey Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Business Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stradey Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in West Wales nestled into a wooded hillside with stunning views over the Gower Peninsula. Stradey Park Hotel and Spa is lucky enough to be situated in Carmarthenshire with its flourishing green landscapes and horticultural attractions such as the National Botanic Garden of Wales. Carmarthenshire has a lot to offer tourists, with its stunning coastline and long sandy beaches, historic castles and many popular attractions including Oakwood Theme Park, the National Wetlands Centre, Ffos Las Racecourse and Pembrey Country Park. Stradey Park Hotel is a large yet independent hotel offering a 'true Welsh experience,' using local produce, local designers and local staff to give you a unique hotel experience. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation including spacious family rooms and luxury suites. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and a fine restaurant overlooking Carmarthen Bay where fresh, local food is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stradey Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stradey Park Llanelli
Hotel Stradey Park
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing