We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue for a Wedding or special family occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We attended a family wedding here yesterday and had an absolutely fabulous time. Staff were extremely polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The venue was lovely, with clean spacious and very comfortable rooms. Bars and restaurants were nicely decorated and hotel had a wonderful atmosphere. The wedding breakfast was lovely and I would definitely recommend this hotel for any function, really looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Double rooms have large kingsize beds. Very comfy. Breakfast are good with plenty of choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Annie,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We always aim to give our guests a fabulous time. We are delighted that your family wedding went so well and that there was a good atmosphere for such a special occassion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 887 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

Everything at this hotel was really good until we came to leave yesterday. Although I was in a room by myself, it was a double room with comfortable king sized bed. The food was very good and the staff really nice. We were all ready to get on the coach to go home when some of us were called back as we had "forgotten" to pay our bar bills. I think the others were incorrectly billed for newspapers. However, I was fetched off the coach to appear in front of a large man at reception who said I had not paid for a lunch (£23) and a bottle of wine (£10). I said I had been out every day on the coach all day, and had bought individual glasses of wine each evening with cash at the bar. All he would do was keep repeating my room number to me and saying this bill over again. I agreed it was my room number but not my bill. If he had had any imagination, he would have realised that a coach party of pensioners would be out all day. In the end I told him to sort it out and walked away. I was angry and upset for a good part of the journey home. I had left a good tip, and a glowing repoert on the form in the room, and there was no time to take them back! However, I am giving the hotel a good report as it was not the fault of the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Janet,

I hope that the confusion you faced at the end of your stay with us didn't affect the pleasant stay you had clearly had up until that point. I apologise for this confusion and hope that it will not deter you from visiting the hotel in the future.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, your stay was comfortable and the staff amenable. We hope you will return again soon.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Good points - Good value if you do a weekend getaway, very cosy hotel, friendly helpful staff, good food and plenty of atmosphere if you stay when a wedding party is taking place.

Bad points - make sure you get to dinner quite early as they ran out of a starter when we arrived at 8.30pm, make sure you ask for a room away from the lifts to avoid noies from the wedding parties, and finally the most annoying thing was that you can not always guarantee being allowed access to the rooftop bar as if a hen party etc is stayig they can "reserve" the room - not very fair on the other guests when there is only one other bar which is normally full of wedding guests on a weekend night.

Overall good stay though and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GringoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Gringo,

Thank you for leaving a review. I'm glad to hear you took advantage of our weekend getaway offer, it's worth checking our special offers page for some great bargains. Thank you for the recommendation of the hotel.

We try to place non-weddings guests in a quieter area of the hotel so that they can enjoy a peaceful nights sleep. We apologise for the disappointment you felt in not being able to utilise the Rooftop Lounge on this occassion

We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had seen on a hotels website that around Lllanelli the choice was somewhat limited - seemed to be all Premier Inns and/or Travelodges - not that there is anything wrong with them just that I wanted a bit of character. The Stradey Park Hotel stood out as being a "bit of class". When I rang them they had a special offer for business - this was nearly half the rate shown on the website and similar to the other "chain options" - The room was super the stay was great and I opted for a lamb tagine on the bar menu for dinner and this was genuinely memorable. The staff were very friendly and even switched my room immediately when I had a problem with the TV in my bedroom. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BfpCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear BfpCom,

I'm delighted to hear you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed the character of Stradey at a competitive price. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing Stradey Park Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A very nice hotel with 4* comforts. However it is situated some way outside of town and on a steep hill; so unless you can grab one of the few flat car parking spaces near reception those of a less able walking disposition will have problems. Rooms are cosy, well provided and with comfortable beds. The main restaurant has a pleasant view towards the estuary; and the food is of good quality - served at Dinner and buffet at breakfast. Staff are friendly and helpful. At weekends it appears there are many weddings and other functions; and it can get crowded especially around the bar area. We asked for a quiet room away from potential noise and got exactly what we requested! Now the bad bit. When we came to check out the first bill presented was almost £200 more than it should have been. We keep detailed records of our spend as we have found that many hotels seem to have discrepancies in their favour when it comes to presenting the final bill! On closer inspection, whilst we were on a DBB inclusive break we had additionally been charged for all meals taken as "extras". There were also numerous bar bills which were clearly not ours. The checkout staff at first didn't believe this; but on checking all the bar vouchers in our presence it appeared that a wedding guest on the Saturday night under the name "Smith" had clocked up nearly £70 of drinks against our room number! Bar staff clearly hadn't been checking the issued rooming cards with signature. Once all of this had been stripped off our bill we reached the expected and correct figure. Sorry Stradey Park, but you must do better!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet on a Friday/Saturday ask for a room at the far end of the accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chalkieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Chalkie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Stradey Park Hotel. I am very sorry to hear of the issue you faced in being overbilled, we can only apologise for this oversight and hope it didn't affect the enjoyment of your stay after it was resolved. We will be more vigilant in future!

Aside from this I'm glad you felt the hotel was very nice and enjoyed the views, food and the appointment of the bedrooms and that you weren't disturbed by wedding guests.

We hope that the issue with the bill won't stop you from coming back and visiting us again in the future Chalkie.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We came here for weekend break a couple of weeks ago for a friends birthday, it was brilliant , excellent food and first class rooms and service at a good price, going again tonight with different friends to celebrate my birthday

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186466Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Steve,

Thank you for leaving a review of Stradey Park Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break so much that you decided to come back on your birthday! I hope your birthday celebrations were as enjoyable if not more.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing Stradey Park Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Have just been a good friends 80th birthday celebration, and it was lovely. We had a three course carvery meal which was delicious. The roasted tomato soup was gorgeous, and the carvery excellent with plenty of hot fresh veggies, puds were a plate of naughtiness! We found the staff warm and accommodating. The decor is lovely, cosy little seating areas scattered about with soft lighting. On a good day, it's lovely to take your coffee outside to the little balcony area with stunning views of the Gower. Most enjoyable!

Room Tip: Didn't stay unfortunately, but I'm sure it would have been lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieW631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Annie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, much appreciated! We are delighted to hear your friends celebration went so well and that you found the food and service to be of a high standard. You might be interested in attending our monthly Supper Club - a cookery demo and 3 fine dining courses for only £20pp in the ambient Samphires Restaurant. Details on our website if it's of interest.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.6 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
0.8 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
480 reviews
10.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
189 reviews
10.9 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stradey Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stradey Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Stradey Park Hotel & Spa | Furnace, Llanelli SA15 4HA, Wales (Formerly Stradey Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Business Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range: $107 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stradey Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in West Wales nestled into a wooded hillside with stunning views over the Gower Peninsula. Stradey Park Hotel and Spa is lucky enough to be situated in Carmarthenshire with its flourishing green landscapes and horticultural attractions such as the National Botanic Garden of Wales. Carmarthenshire has a lot to offer tourists, with its stunning coastline and long sandy beaches, historic castles and many popular attractions including Oakwood Theme Park, the National Wetlands Centre, Ffos Las Racecourse and Pembrey Country Park. Stradey Park Hotel is a large yet independent hotel offering a 'true Welsh experience,' using local produce, local designers and local staff to give you a unique hotel experience. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation including spacious family rooms and luxury suites. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and a fine restaurant overlooking Carmarthen Bay where fresh, local food is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stradey Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stradey Park Llanelli
Hotel Stradey Park
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing