We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Clean and modern rooms. Friendly staff. Had a few weddings on but staff try to ensure that non-wedding party guests are not placed near function rooms.

Breakfast was fantastic and they serve breakfast early at the weekend, which is a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Dotz,

Thank you for leaving a review of Stradey Park Hotel. We are glad your stay wasn't affected by wedding guests and that you felt the rooms were clean and modern.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    296
    100
    35
    16
See reviews for
190
315
29
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After booking a 'cheap' hotel in Llanelli and walking straight out due to lack of cleanliness, we sought out another hotel. Stradey Park Hotel is just outside Llanelli on a hill but offers views over the coastline and Llanelli. The stay was faultless. Right from the lovely receptionist, to the bar staff, dining room staff to the manager.
The hotel was spotlessly clean with a high attention to detail in the rooms.
Breakfast was a buffet (both hot and cold, Welsh and continental) and other items such as kippers and porridge could be ordered.
Bar food was excellent with a wide range on offer, the ploughmans was beautifully presented and on the large size!
Evening meals were also of the highest quality with, according to the menu, food is sourced from local producers. My only negative comment would have been to offer more 'Welsh' ingredients than just the cheese. However that is me being very picky!
If we were to return to this area, or close by, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are a must, however if you want to push the boat out, the bridal suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyDaviesmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Stradey Park Hotel. It's worth paying a little extra for the added quality! We are delighted to hear you felt the stay was faultless, high praise indeed. I'm glad you felt the cleanliness of the hotel was spotless and the attention to detail was what you would expect of a four star hotel.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food. Ingredients are locally sourced wherever possible so nearly all of the ingredients used are Welsh, we have added more details of Welsh suppliers in our menus but we can't fit them all in!

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here due to being in the area for work. The hotel staff were unbelievably friendly and could not help enough. The rooms was very comfortable and clean and had all I needed - including a nice view over the bay.
There are 2 options to eat in the evening, the bar and the restaurant. I opted for the bar as it was quite late; the food was served promptly and with a smile. It was usual bar food but really tasty. The menu for the restaurant looked very nice and also very good value for money. Really happy with my stay here and will certainly stay here again if I am in the area. Sadly, I had no time to use the pool or fitness centre.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view if you choose to stay on the side of the hotel looking over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Smith,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel. I'm delighted to hear how friendly you found the staff and that you found the rooms comfortable and accommodating.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. We hope you will visit us again if you're working in the area, maybe you will get the chance to smaple the delicious restaurant menu! Don't worry too much about not getting the chance to use the pool or the fitness centre as we don't have those facilities!

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to this hotel to meet up with relatives for the Easter break. It is pleasant enough but probably struggling to justify its 4 star rating . The downside was that there were weddings each day & their bar is small & dreary so the whole 2 days everywhere was jam packed with wedding guests & even entering the hotel with luggage was difficult enough without mentioning the palaver over parking. In addition it was really noisy in the early hours on both nights. I imagine this is the situation each weekend and the wedding guests clearly are their priority hence the cheap rates (£230 double for 3 nts) for other guests. Breakfast was fairly decent although the fresh fruit salad was nearly all apple & the sausages dire quality but on the plus side the Danish pastries were great.Ate an evening meal in the hotel bar which was ok but less than the standard of a pub with hotel prices so although we were going to book the restaurant for the sat night we were put off & went elsewhere. Wi fi frequently not working so although it was complimentary be warned if it is a necessity for you. On the plus side the staff couldn't be more helpful. Restaurant staff were superb and reception staff very pleasant. Possibly would stay again if going to Wales midweek & the price was as good .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipnjools222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear PipnJools,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very sorry to hear that you felt the enjoyment of your stay was affected by weddings being held in the hotel. It is important to us that all of our guests are happy, there are no priorities so I'm sorry to hear of your difficulties. We take feedback from our guests very seriously and the issues you have raised will be discussed.

I'm glad to hear that you feel the staff were friendly and efficient. We hope you will come and visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Held our wedding here and really can't fault a single thing. Our day ran like clockwork helped by the fantastic efforts of Mark our wedding planner who was there on hand every step of the way. Our guests were from all parts of uk and all commented on the friendliness of the staff. Food and rooms were great. Perhaps if I had to give a negative was being refused access to the rooftop lounge on one evening, there was some inconsistencies in what was "the rules" as we had sat there well after 12 on a previous night however this did not spoil the overall experience. Thank you Mark and co and well done to Angela for running a superb establishment. Really had the most amazing day and enjoyed our 3 night stay. Live local and great full we have such a superb facility. Been here on many occasions and it has never disappointed. Well done all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erliCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Erli,

Firstly thank you for choosing Stradey Park Hotel to host your big day. Thank you also for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that your big day ran smoothly! It's nice to hear that your guests felt the service, rooms and food were of a high standard also.

We are delighted to receive such praise from someone living locally who has visited the hotel on many occassions, hopefully Stradey Park Hotel will continue to meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon Erli.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotels are not about just having the right things, they have to feel right. The Stradey Park may not be clinical like some chains, but benefits from a real personality. It shows signs of ageing gracefully, but everything about it just feels right. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. The complementary wifi worked without any fuss. The television had a perfect picture and had none of the intrusive menus and rubbish picture seen elsewhere. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and served in a pleasant environment with an unexpected view out to the sea. And of course it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_J_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Andrew,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad you think the hotel feels right, we have tried to tastefully modernise whilst preserving the historic value of the hotel to offer comfort and a bit of character. None of this matters if you don't have the basics right, such as good food, comfortable rooms and good amenities so I'm glad you felt the hotel had these criteria covered also.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, top quality restaurant with a great atmosphere. Rooms very comfortable, mine wasn't huge, but more than adequate. A warm friendly hotel. All in all great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamsieWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Tamsie,

Thank you for leaving a review of Stradey. I'm glad you felt your stay was value for money and that you got to enjoy the restaurant while you were here.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.7 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
125 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stradey Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stradey Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Address: | Furnace, Llanelli SA15 4HA, Wales (Formerly Stradey Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Business Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stradey Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in West Wales nestled into a wooded hillside with stunning views over the Gower Peninsula. Stradey Park Hotel and Spa is lucky enough to be situated in Carmarthenshire with its flourishing green landscapes and horticultural attractions such as the National Botanic Garden of Wales. Carmarthenshire has a lot to offer tourists, with its stunning coastline and long sandy beaches, historic castles and many popular attractions including Oakwood Theme Park, the National Wetlands Centre, Ffos Las Racecourse and Pembrey Country Park. Stradey Park Hotel is a large yet independent hotel offering a 'true Welsh experience,' using local produce, local designers and local staff to give you a unique hotel experience. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation including spacious family rooms and luxury suites. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and a fine restaurant overlooking Carmarthen Bay where fresh, local food is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stradey Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stradey Park Llanelli
Hotel Stradey Park
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing