We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clive-Race & Stay weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stradey Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clive-Race & Stay weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Myself & a party of 22 have just returned from the Stradey Park after a race & stay weekend. This was a surprise weekend for my sister & brother-in-law as they both were celebrating their 60th birthdays.The hotel was spotless, comfortable rooms & beds. All the staff were very friendly & accomodating, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent & friendly service from the bar & restaurant staff. It was amazing value for money & we all had a great day at the races although none of us won a fortune. It was a bonus to be ferried by coach to the races & back to the hotel. Our party were planning the next trip to the hotel on our homeward journey. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms had a fabulous sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Clive,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of the hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you all had such a good time on your race and stay weekend, especially on such an important occasion. It's pleasing to hear how well looked after you were by all members of staff and that you felt your stay was great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay, maybe you will win a fortune at the races next time? Thank you all for choosing Stradey Park Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    277
    92
    32
    15
See reviews for
178
299
28
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Myself and my husband have stayed so many times at the hotel. We had very good friends of ours' wedding there March 17th 2012. What a day! Wales won and the day was totally fabulous. The rooms are spotless, staff are great and helpful. Food amazing. The big room is more than adequate for any occasion. The roof top bar is fab in an amazing conservatory. You then have breakfast in another amazing conservatory overlooking the Gower. The hotel is a must for any occasion. My boss had his retirement doo there December up in the roof top bar. What a night. So so accommodating. The hotel is a must!!,!,!

Room Tip: Rooms further from the stairs are quieter! But they're all clean and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it's great to receive praise from someone who has visited the hotel so many times, we must be doing something right!

That does sound like a fabulous day you describe, a wedding AND Wales winning, doesn't look so likely at the moment...

Thank you for the praise regarding our lovely staff and the different function rooms we have at the hotel, it is a versatile venue and it sounds like you have experienced all it's versatility. Thank you for your continued patronage Debbie, we appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Staff & management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

23 of us stayed at this hotel on the night of 2nd February 2013 as part of the Ffos Las racing package. As we were all travelling down in a 50 year old London Routemaster Bus, my husband (who was the driver)and I drove down to the hotel in the car a few weeks prior to check the best route for the bus. On that day we had a wonderful welcome and the staff helped us. One of the owners of the hotel even offered to drive us along the route. When we arrived on Saturday last we again had a friendly welcome and were checked into our rooms without delay. The trip to and from the racecourse went well and on time. On returning we had a couple of hours to relax in the very comfortable bedrooms before our dinner. The management put us in a separate room from the main dining room so we were all able to be together. The meal, to say the least, was superb, as was the attention from the staff. After a very pleasant evening, a restful sleep in the comfortable bed, we left around 10am on the Sunday following an excellent breakfast. Only thing I would say about our room, on the ground floor at the back, we only had one small, high window that looked out on brambles. As it was only for one night it was not a problem. However, my husband and I intend to book a couple of nights at Stradey Park Hotel for a weekend break in April, so hope to get a room with a view. Thanks again to you all at the hotel for a lovely weekend. See you soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanniebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Joannie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review of Stradey Park Hotel and thanks for bringing so many of your friends to stay on the Race & Stay package. I would love to see some pics of the bus, feel free to post to our social media if you have any.

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed two wonderful stays at the hotel and found the staff friendly and helpful on both occasions. Thank you for the praise regarding your dinner in Samphires Restaurant, and also breakfast the next day, I'm glad you all had such a nice time at the hotel.

Make sure you request a front facing room when you book for April. Our Weekend Getaway package might suit you for that visit, it's great value for money.

Thank you for choosing Stradey Park Hotel Joannie, we look forward to welcoming you back in a few months.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as part of the race and stay package and can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff were so welcoming and the rooms spotless. Transportation to and from ffos las was seamless and all added to a perfect day's racing. We decided to eat in the hotel and had a wonderful meal. The breakfast was great too. All in all, a lovely weekend which are already thinking of repeating with friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you had such a nice time on our 'Race & Stay' package. It's great to hear that you enjoyed an evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and that you enjoyed the warm welcome of our friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the future, whether it be on the 'Race & Stay' package or not. Thank you for choosing Stradey Park Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have just returned from a three night stay here and was very impressed.
The staff were, very polite, friendly and helpful.
I stayed in a double room which was spotless, the bed was extremely comfortable and the en suite bathroom was immaculate.
The breakfast was excellent with a huge choice each morning served in one of the restaurants, lovely surroundings in a very relaxed atmosphere.
This was my first stay at Stradey Park and I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Sarmic,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of the hotel. I'm delighted to hear you felt the room to be of a high standard in terms of comfort and cleanliness and that the staff made you feel welcome.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast in terms of choice and atmosphere. We are happy you chose Stradey Park Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in family room which was great value for money, 3 adults in the room it was spacious and a lovely room. Very nice hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful and service was spot on! Only thing to stop this hotel being excellent was the breakfast, not a 4 star quality breakfast as mushrooms definately had been around for a while and not fresh, and I had haddock and poached egg, was asked if wanted soft, yet was served hard and so was the fish, it was pretty much boiled hard! Other than that the hotel was great and would recommend.

Room Tip: If you fancy saving money and drink wine, a little shop down the road is 10 pound cheaper a bottle t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Mia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel. I'm glad you felt your stay to be great value for money and that you felt the level of service to be excellent and the staff made you feel welcome.

I'm disappointed to hear you felt the breakfast not up to par, I'm sure if you visited again you would find the breakfast delicious, we normally receive a lot of praise for our breakfast offering. Thank you for choosing Stradey Park Hotel, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently after deciding to visit the nearby restaurant Sospan. Lovely spacious and nicely furnished rooms with extremely comfortable beds. Asked for a room at the front which had lovely views out across the town and the Gower. There was a wedding fair on at the hotel which meant that some rooms and suites were available to view for potential customers. Had a good look around the different types of rooms and really impressed with size, decoration and cleanliness. Didn't dine at the hotel but the breakfast was very great, good range of local produce and pleasant views and furnishings. Decided to stay at this hotel last minute but glad that we did!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princessBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Princess,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel. We are delighted you chose to stay at Stradey Park Hotel for your visit.

We are glad you felt the rooms to be of a high standard and (very importantly) the beds extremely comfortable. Hopefully the wedding fayre didn't have a negative impact on your stay.

We hope that you will visit us again and take the opportunity to dine in our Samphires Restaurant, the ingredients as with breakfast are sourced locally wherever possible. Perhaps our 'Weekend Getaway' offer might be of interest to you?

We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for choosing Straday Park Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
0.8 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central East Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stradey Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stradey Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Address: | Furnace, Llanelli SA15 4HA, Wales (Formerly Stradey Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Business Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stradey Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in West Wales nestled into a wooded hillside with stunning views over the Gower Peninsula. Stradey Park Hotel and Spa is lucky enough to be situated in Carmarthenshire with its flourishing green landscapes and horticultural attractions such as the National Botanic Garden of Wales. Carmarthenshire has a lot to offer tourists, with its stunning coastline and long sandy beaches, historic castles and many popular attractions including Oakwood Theme Park, the National Wetlands Centre, Ffos Las Racecourse and Pembrey Country Park. Stradey Park Hotel is a large yet independent hotel offering a 'true Welsh experience,' using local produce, local designers and local staff to give you a unique hotel experience. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation including spacious family rooms and luxury suites. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and a fine restaurant overlooking Carmarthen Bay where fresh, local food is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stradey Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stradey Park Llanelli
Hotel Stradey Park
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing