We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great 5 days in wales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great 5 days in wales”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

just back from stradey park hotel in wales where we had a great 5 days the hotel was fantastic the staff were good and could not do enough for u the rooms were of a good size [queen size bed] breakfast was terrific all and all great weekend watching the junior internationals and brittish isles championships

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you felt welcomed at the hotel and the facilities and food were what you would expect, if not exceeding what you would expect.

We hope you will join us again soon, whether it be for the sport or a recreational holiday. There is plenty to see in the area, did you get the chance to explore?

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    283
    93
    33
    15
See reviews for
181
304
29
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Looking forward to high tea in the Stradey Park,my friends and I had arranged to take high tea in the Stradey as we all had a day off from work,We were sent up to the roof terrace where a couple were having tea,The views are fantastic,it's a shame the roof was leaking badly,The table was set for tea,and a nice young man served tea,we didn't see him again,it's a shame as we would have liked more drinks.the scones were dry,the cakes were like shop bought,and the trifles were tasteless and runny,we went to the bar and noticed the ceiling was all water stained,shame for such a nice old building to be in need of repair work

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Gail,

Customer satisfaction is very important to us so we are sorry to hear your experience of our high tea was disappointing. All of our cakes are homemade and are normally a source of praise, I'm sorry you didn't feel this to be the case. Maintenance have been informed of the leak, problems like that would be dealt with immediately, it must have occured on that day as we are not the kind of establishment to leave a roof leak.

Our vintage tea offering has proven extremely popular and while we aim to achieve consistently high standards it would seem on this occasion you were let down. I hope that you will acccept our humble apologies in this matter.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

An odd place - starnge mixture of styles and good, bad and indifferent staff. Obscured windows in the bedroom and a nasty damp patch on the bathroom wall. Restuarant is unwelcoming and staff don't seem like they want to be there. Good real ale selection and reasonable food - but overall could not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nearlydunroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Dunroamin,

We take customer feedback very seriously and apologise that your stay didn't meet with our usual high standards. If you would let the hotel know what room you stayed in then we can address the issue mentioned. Our friendly staff are normally perceived as an asset so I'm sorry that on this occasion you felt the level of service disappointing.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I travel to Llanelli on business quite a lot and always stay at the Stradey Park Hotel. In the 4 years I have been staying there I don't think I have ever had cause for complaint. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Some of them feel a little small given the large beds but they are perfectly adequate for a stay of a night or two.

Breakfast is pretty good too and the hotel's main restaurant gas great views and great food. The food in the evening is not as impressive and the service can be slow. Try the third floor bar with even better views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Ian,

Thank you for reviewing. I think that is the highest praise we can receive given that you have stayed so many times. We aim for consistent high standards so it is good to hear a long term guest saying they have never had cause for complaint.

Thank you for being our guest over the years and we hope to welcome you back for many more years to come Ian.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a good hotel with friendly staff and an absolutely terrific breakfast. We've stayed here a couple of times and on both occasions the rooms have been good, with a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The bar does a reasonable range of ales and has decent bar food.
If you are staying in Llanelli then this or the Diplomat in Felinfoel are your best options.

However, both these hotels are big on wedding receptions. This shouldn't be a problem but always seems to be. We stayed at the Stradey for two nights - a Saturday and a Sunday - and they had a wedding reception both nights. The Saturday night one was the worst as not only was there noise until 1.00 am, but our room was next to the room where a couple of the bridesmaids were staying. They were quite young and excitable and noisy, but what can you say when this is their big day? Although my patience was wearing thin when someone banged on our door at 3.00.a.m.

The reception the next night wasn't as loud or late, but was pretty chavvy. it did amuse me as we parked our car to see some wedding guests nipping back to their car to pour themselves some vodka they had secreted in their car boot rather than pay hotel prices!

So, a plea to all UK hotel managers. If you are having a wedding reception is it possible to put wedding and non-wedding guests in different parts of the hotel, with non-wedding guests in rooms that don't face the wedding venue where the disco is playing? If that isn't possible, could you warn customers that there will be a wedding reception?

Room Tip: If there is a wedding reception, ask for a room that isn't facing the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merglys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Merglys,

Thank you for taking the time to review Stradey Park Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of the disturbances you suffered on the first night of your stay. We do try to keep our wedding guests away from our regular guests as much as possible, I'm sorry on this occasion that it was not possible due to room availability at the time you booked.

If you explain the situation to Reception next time you book I'm sure they will be able to accommodate your needs. I'm delighted to hear that you find the staff friendly, the rooms good and the breakfast terrific and hope it won't be long until your next stay.

Kind regards,
Staff & management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff are really friendly and helpful and the room was well presented and equipped.
Only watch out is parking as when there is a wedding on (seems quite a popular place for these) then it can be a bit tricky, hence the 4 stars.
Would happily go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Fuchs,

Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay other than the parking. We do have ample car parking for most occasions, it must have been a really big wedding!

We would happily welcome you back in the future Fuchs. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special, everyone greets you, everyone wants to do their best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Joanna,

That's because all of our guests are special to us. I'm glad you got to experience our warm Welsh welcome, come back any time and you will find the same welcome awaiting you.

We hope to see you again soon Joanna.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.6 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
0.8 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central East Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stradey Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stradey Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Address: | Furnace, Llanelli SA15 4HA, Wales (Formerly Stradey Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Business Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stradey Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in West Wales nestled into a wooded hillside with stunning views over the Gower Peninsula. Stradey Park Hotel and Spa is lucky enough to be situated in Carmarthenshire with its flourishing green landscapes and horticultural attractions such as the National Botanic Garden of Wales. Carmarthenshire has a lot to offer tourists, with its stunning coastline and long sandy beaches, historic castles and many popular attractions including Oakwood Theme Park, the National Wetlands Centre, Ffos Las Racecourse and Pembrey Country Park. Stradey Park Hotel is a large yet independent hotel offering a 'true Welsh experience,' using local produce, local designers and local staff to give you a unique hotel experience. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation including spacious family rooms and luxury suites. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and a fine restaurant overlooking Carmarthen Bay where fresh, local food is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stradey Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stradey Park Llanelli
Hotel Stradey Park
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing