We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but ease up on the wedding receptions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a good hotel with friendly staff and an absolutely terrific breakfast. We've stayed here a couple of times and on both occasions the rooms have been good, with a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The bar does a reasonable range of ales and has decent bar food.
If you are staying in Llanelli then this or the Diplomat in Felinfoel are your best options.

However, both these hotels are big on wedding receptions. This shouldn't be a problem but always seems to be. We stayed at the Stradey for two nights - a Saturday and a Sunday - and they had a wedding reception both nights. The Saturday night one was the worst as not only was there noise until 1.00 am, but our room was next to the room where a couple of the bridesmaids were staying. They were quite young and excitable and noisy, but what can you say when this is their big day? Although my patience was wearing thin when someone banged on our door at 3.00.a.m.

The reception the next night wasn't as loud or late, but was pretty chavvy. it did amuse me as we parked our car to see some wedding guests nipping back to their car to pour themselves some vodka they had secreted in their car boot rather than pay hotel prices!

So, a plea to all UK hotel managers. If you are having a wedding reception is it possible to put wedding and non-wedding guests in different parts of the hotel, with non-wedding guests in rooms that don't face the wedding venue where the disco is playing? If that isn't possible, could you warn customers that there will be a wedding reception?

Room Tip: If there is a wedding reception, ask for a room that isn't facing the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merglys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Stradey Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Merglys,

Thank you for taking the time to review Stradey Park Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of the disturbances you suffered on the first night of your stay. We do try to keep our wedding guests away from our regular guests as much as possible, I'm sorry on this occasion that it was not possible due to room availability at the time you booked.

If you explain the situation to Reception next time you book I'm sure they will be able to accommodate your needs. I'm delighted to hear that you find the staff friendly, the rooms good and the breakfast terrific and hope it won't be long until your next stay.

Kind regards,
Staff & management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 891 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff are really friendly and helpful and the room was well presented and equipped.
Only watch out is parking as when there is a wedding on (seems quite a popular place for these) then it can be a bit tricky, hence the 4 stars.
Would happily go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Fuchs,

Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay other than the parking. We do have ample car parking for most occasions, it must have been a really big wedding!

We would happily welcome you back in the future Fuchs. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special, everyone greets you, everyone wants to do their best!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Joanna,

That's because all of our guests are special to us. I'm glad you got to experience our warm Welsh welcome, come back any time and you will find the same welcome awaiting you.

We hope to see you again soon Joanna.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for the weekend at the Stradey Park on a KGB deal and shared the experience with different wedding parties on both days.
Having read some previous reviews we thought there may be some drop in the level of service for residents as the staff concentrated on their wedding guests.
We can happily report that was not the case and every effort was made by the very friendly and accommodating staff to make our stay a very comfortable and most enjoyable one.
Rooms were newly refurbished with every amenity, nice ensuite, very comfortable beds and our accommodation was situated far enough away from the late night celebrations to ensure a good, undisturbed nights' sleep.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, as were the evening meals that we enjoyed on both nights, and the opportunity to relax in the rooftop lounge bar where the waiters were happy to provide all our refreshment requirements added to a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTTGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear OTTGroup,

Thank you for your 5 star review. Whilst we endeavor to provide the perfect day for couples getting married at Stradey Park Hotel, we aim to treat every one of our guests with the same high level of service regardless of what's going on in the hotel so I'm glad you felt this to be the case.

I'm glad you enjoyed the food at the hotel as well as the friendliness of the staff. We are in the process of refurbishing some of our rooms so I'm glad you got to experience one of the updated rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope to welcome you back in the future OTT.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My daughter recently got married at the Stradey park hotel and what a wonderful day it was. The hotel staff could not do enough for you and the service and standard was impeccable. Most of the family and guests stayed for either one or two nights and there were no complaints at all. The rooms were spotless and I am not sure what the other reviewer was talking about but the breakfast was excellent. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff for making the wedding and the stay a day / weekend to remember.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank usontourSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear usontour,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It's great to get positive feedback from our guests. It's especially pleasing as it was your daughters special day and it's extremely important to us that everything goes smoothly on such an occassion.

We are delighted to hear that you felt the service and standards at the hotel to be impeccable.

Feedback is normally great for our breakfasts so I'm glad you felt this to be the case.

We are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stradey Park has always been seen as 'the place to stay' in LLanelli. I have not stayed there p reviously though members of my family did some years ago and were happy. Car parking was difficult as other guests/locals park anywhere they fancy blocking exits and occupying 11/2 spaces. The room and the bathroom were of a minimal size. Reception was welcoming and arranged to get a bedside light repaired while we went out to dinner on the first evening. Breakfast the next morning was a disaster. The hot buffet continuously ran out of items and having managed to get some bacon (which was micro-waved and rather slimy) I watched it congeal on my plate while waiting for eggs to appear. Gave up and just had some toast. Breakfast items advertised on the website (laver bread) did not appear on the menu and although we were told it was available it took a very long time to appear. The hotel does warn that weekends are noisy due to wedding bookings etc. This was definitely the case and a parking space was impossible to find on returning from dinner at 8.30p.m. Breakfast the next day was served in a different area where the air-con was set at goose-pimple level. Items still ran out on a regular basis but the (young) staff on duty were a great deal more pleasant and helpful than the (older) ones on duty the previous morning. A very disappointing experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Rael,

We are sorry that your stay wasn't up to the expected high standards of Stradey Park Hotel, we endeavor to provide every guest with the same high level of service. Our breakfast is normally a source of praise so I'm disappointed to hear your experience wasn't a positive one..

We would like to assure you that standards are not slipping at Stradey Park Hotel and that we address every complaint to ensure our high standards are maintained. I apologise that in this instance your stay was not as you might have hoped but I hope you will give the hotel another chance in the future to show you our usual standard.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel centrally located. This is perhaps one of the good hotels in the town The service is good. The quality of food is good.
Overall made our visit comfortable.

Room Tip: Look for deals otherwise could be very expensive compared other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanclaire007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Hi Sanclaire,

I'm glad you had a comfortable stay and felt the level of service and the food was good. May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to review the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Staff & Management,
Stradey Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.6 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
0.8 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
10.9 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stradey Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stradey Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Stradey Park Hotel & Spa | Furnace, Llanelli SA15 4HA, Wales (Formerly Stradey Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llanelli
#4 Business Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range: $106 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stradey Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in West Wales nestled into a wooded hillside with stunning views over the Gower Peninsula. Stradey Park Hotel and Spa is lucky enough to be situated in Carmarthenshire with its flourishing green landscapes and horticultural attractions such as the National Botanic Garden of Wales. Carmarthenshire has a lot to offer tourists, with its stunning coastline and long sandy beaches, historic castles and many popular attractions including Oakwood Theme Park, the National Wetlands Centre, Ffos Las Racecourse and Pembrey Country Park. Stradey Park Hotel is a large yet independent hotel offering a 'true Welsh experience,' using local produce, local designers and local staff to give you a unique hotel experience. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation including spacious family rooms and luxury suites. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and a fine restaurant overlooking Carmarthen Bay where fresh, local food is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stradey Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stradey Park Llanelli
Hotel Stradey Park
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing