We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good base for a holiday in Wales”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Shirley W
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good base for a holiday in Wales”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this property in the middle of September. Located in a lovely village it was the perfect base for exploring the wonderful Gower Peninsular and beyond. The pub/restaurant in the village the Waun Wyllt was a good place to eat and close enough to walk to. Close to the end of the drive of the farm you could access cycling route 47 which was a lovely walk along a disused railway line. One of the benefits of the property was how very quiet it was at night. We had a lovely week exploring the area and would have no hesitation in booking the property again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay - sorry we didn't actually get to meet up but hopefully next time x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal Location for exploring and especially Cycling”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Nice quiet Location. Next to but, away from owners property and near owners riding stables.

Nice clean property with every thing you would need (apart from Towels which you have to bring). Seats to sit outside. Property was bigger than we thought it would be from the pictures on website but a bonus. Chose as close to cycle path which was only down the drive and along, with easy ride up to Tumble and beyond on tarmac or 5 miles down (and up from) Llanelli coastal park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
Thank you Martin it was lovely to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryMarri...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and I booked the cottage as an opportunity to explore the many beautiful places we visited as children with our grandparents, The cottage was amazing and beautiful and cosy. The setting was idyllic and the farm and family were welcoming, but then you are in Wales what else would you expect. There was plenty of space for 4 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 2, the kitchen is very well equipped, I would recommend if you are travelling with a toddler to bring plastic cups, plates etc,
The farm is openly accessible and you are more than welcome to walk around the stables and interact with the horses, we all had favourites, the girls fell in love with Eclipse, however Dotty was my favourite. The farmer even took my 2 year old granddaughter around to the family garden to feed the chickens which she adored. There is so much to do both rain or shine. The girls loved the Black Mountains where they can run around with the sheep and climb the monutains. It is great for a picnic on the right day, make sure you take waterproofs and good shoes, the weather can change very quickly. Cefan Sedan and Pembrey Park are a must, the beach beats every other beach I have visited in the UK and Europe, the sand is soft and clean and great for sand castles and kite flying. The beach has been protected from the Kiss me quick type shops so it works out a lovely cheap day as long as you take your bucket spade and picnic baskets.
The Blue lagoon is a great swimming pool outside of Carmarthen, with wave machines and water flumes great fun for the kids and lovely warm water which was great for the baby who was happy to play for 2 hours in the water.
Folly farm was also great fun, with lots of animals, and old time fair and lots of interactive learning zones, both girls had a great time. There is plenty indoors as well so if it does rain you can get undercover.
We are definitely looking to rebook and think we have found our perfect base for our future holidays with our granddaughter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Morning visits to the stables and the warm welcome
Liked least: going home :-(
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
Thank you for the excellent review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidstac...
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely welcome by the hosts who showed us around and invited us into the main house for a cup of tea and cake.

The accommodation in the cottage is excellent with a large lounge / dining area and a well fitted kitchen. The upstairs has two large bedrooms and a very nice bathroom.

The outside area is fantastic and there is plenty to see in the area. First there is Pembrey Country Park which is about 10 mins drive. It has an award winning sandy beach, dry ski slope, toboggan ride, crazy golf & pitch and putt, train rides and adventure play area. It really has something for all ages. Then there is Kidwelly Castle which is approx 15 mins away. This is a tremendous Norman castle and well worth a visit.
If you like golf, there are three course close by. Machynys, Ashburnham and Glyn Abbey are all very well maintained and a good test for all handicapers and all are about 10 mins away.
For food, there is anumber of takeaways in Llanelli and the local pub The Stag is within walking distance and serves lovely food.
An all round great time was had and we will certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
Always a pleasure to welcome you back to Gelli Hir - hopefully see you soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewed May 28, 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: occasionally the weather let us down!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AntoineB1...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Gelli Hir
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing