We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Friendly Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Reviewed March 9, 2010

A great place to stay, wonderful room with views of the sea. Friendly staff and great service. Swimming pool really warm and relaxing. Great place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 488 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in August 2009. The location of the hotel is a bit awkward to find but easy to remember when you've driven in and out a few times. Reception was closed when we arrived which was a bit unusual as we hadn't arrived particularily late (around 7pm) however the barman had all our details and was efficient. Our room was nice and clean but a bit on the small side. We ate in the bar one night which was nice and the food was good if nothing special.
The leisure facilities are great. They are however open to non-residents so when we went to train in the gym, around 5pm it was very busy and we struggled to get on the treadmills. However there are bikes and x-trainers too so you dont have to wait too long. The morning after at 11am it was slightly better. The pool area is nice but the pool is too small to do any proper lengths.
Breakfast both mornings I thought was nice, my partner however pointed out some rotten fruit in the fruit bowl which was slightly off-putting. There was one breakfast waiter on shift who was very obliging and quick to serve us.
I wouldn't particularily recommend Llanelli for a holiday - there wasnt anything to do!!!! Admittedly the weather was terrible so we couldnt go on the beach etc..... but I recommend heading further down the coast to around Pembroke - much nicer scenery and more to do.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_animals66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Spent a weekend at this hotel on a special offer. Exceeded expectation. the room was very clean and fairly modern. looked recently renovated. the food in the restaraunt was superb. we were on a d,b&b rate. Had a good choice on the menu, and was very good. On the saturday there was live entertainment. 2 fellas with an electric organ and saxaphone. popular with the locals , who enjoyed a sing along.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corneliusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

rooms spotless reception staff very pleasant, stayed overnight for dinner dance which was excellent very good atmosphere, waiters and waitresses pleasant well dressed.
breakfast was well presented and good choice to pick from

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronbever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

The room was fairly average, with modern furniture and a modern bathroom. Like a previous reviewer, I dislike trying to sleep on a plastic mattress cover, the flimsy duvet was cheap and nasty, and the pillows were awful.
For a hotel allegedly number 1 in Llanelli, I couldn't understand why they still have the old fashioned tvs, with a limited number of stations and no teletext.
In-house wi-fi is free (other Hoteliers take note), but they give you a voucher at Reception which gives you an hours use, and apparently, if an hour or two is insufficient, you trek back to Reception for another voucher - this was a new one on me !
The bathroom towels were also hard and somewhat "washed-out".
On the plus side, it was a nice cooked breakfast and the staff were pleasant.
At £70 bed & breakfast off Laterooms, it was ok, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My partner and I decided to see the Llanelli Scarlets game and find somewhere to spend the weekend. We chanced on this hotel and found the staff a cut above the rest, helpful, courteous and attentive without being ‘in your face’. The spar had a good range of equipment with steam room, sauna, gym, swimming pool and hot tub. (the out-door hot tub was out of action as the trees are shedding there leafs) the Sunday Carvery has to be seen to be believed.
We were welcomed to the hotel by the owner and his wife and looked after like we were family, I would recommend this hotel and will be going back in the very near future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooky6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend this month, with a walking group. great base to return to at night - every comfort included in the price. Lovely room although unfortunately it was above the Saturday night music which was very loud and went on until 12.30 am. Very good meals, cooked breakfasts and excellent 3 course evening meals included in our DBandB price. Swimming pool, very small. did not use Jacuzzi. Would definately go back to this hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly and the manager came round to our table to check everything was as we wanted.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.6 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
10.4 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa

Address: Felinfoel, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range: $115 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Llanelli
Llanelli Best Western
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing