We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spa day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Ystalyfera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent spa day”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a voucher to have a spa day at this hotel for £59 for two including use of the gym, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, lunch for two with one bottle of wine and a half hour head and shoulder massage each. Wow! Superb vale for money. We could have had a night at the hotel at a discount rate of £50 with the booking. The hotel looks superb and it was very quiet when we arrived. Lunch was arranged and the food ordered on our arrival. We went into the hotel restaurant which was well laid out. The food was well cooked and well presented. The waiter was charming, as were all the staff in the spa. It's worth phoning the spa to check on deals and you may need to wait a while for availability. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annwyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    142
    81
    35
    28
See reviews for
82
168
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here Saturday night and can honestly say for a few nights or weekend to be near the coast for an affordable price it ticks all the boxes. Comfortable modern room, very nice gym and swimming pool area and a great alternative to stay if Swansea is fully booked as its only 20 minutes to the popular beaches of Langalnd Bay and Caswell bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlewis35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

From arrival to departure we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. No complaints. The staff were all efficient, friendly and charming. The room was beautifully presented and super clean. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. A bonus was the live entertainment. I would recommend this hotel very highly. The best Best Western we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is an excellent choir for anyone visiting this part of South Wales. We have just returned ( May 19 to 23) with a party of 39 and no one had any complaints. This is a 3 star hotelk, which compares very favourably with many 4 and 5 stars that we have visited. The hotel is clean, the rooms comfortable, the staff helpful and the food excellent. It tick all the boxes for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHM503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

To celebrate our wedding anniversary we managed to find a good DBB 2 night deal. Everything was great from the initial check-in by David, who was extremely helpful throughout the weekend. The food was exceptional and on both nights the head chef Alistair came out to see us to check that everything was to our satisfaction, which was a really nice touch. Ismanol (waiter) again couldn't do enough for us, including taking our order in the bar and letting us know when it was ready. As we were leaving dinner on the Saturday night, we found out that breakfast was only served til 9am, we asked him about room service and he kindly offered to arrange our breakfast order, there and then and delivered it to our room (£3 charge) the next morning. We stayed in room 51, which was very spacious with nice furniture, although one of the chairs was a little tired. The room was also quite hot at night, even with a window open and no aircon available.
Overall a fantastic experience with staff that really cared and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontycymmer, South Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Friends of ours had their wedding reception and evening party here.
They couldn't do enough for you. Very helpful with all your needs and requirements.
They also have leisure facilties.
Our room was looking out over yhe front of the hotel.
Lovely food for the wedding snd Sunday lunch was beautiful.
Would reccomend to any bride looking for a reception venue or places for their guest's to stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budweiserlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a one night dinner bed & breakfast deal which also included 2 massages via Living Social. We were allocated a very large family room which we assume was an upgrade - loads of space and very comfortable.

It was our weddding anniversary and we normally go away to one of our favourite Barcelo Hotels. We wondered how this would compare - well it matched it!!

We visitied the spa on both days and loved it - very small and compact and a nice relaxing area with plenty of rattan furniture to lounge or sit around. It was very quiet on both visits, but could get busier with more hotel guests.

Food in the evening was great with 3 courses from the a la carte menu. Our daughters had kids meals which were very generaous portions, but no doubt very nice as they neraly cleared their plates. Drinks were reasonable.

It was very quiet on our stay (a Friday night) but it could be much noiser if there is a wedding on. Normally they have some entertainment in the lounge but due to low numbers of guests there was nothing - which is no issue as we were happy to retire to our room.

Plenty of things to do in the local area - very nice park (Parc Howard) is less than half a mile up the road towards Llanelli which is nice for a stroll and has a lovely kids play area. Otherwise there is the coastal path which is ggod for walking or a gently bike ride. You also have the Gower only 30 mins drive away amongst others.

We would certainly keep an eye out for this deal again, as we will certainly book our return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.6 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
1.1 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
10.4 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Address: Felinfoel, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Llanelli
Llanelli Best Western
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing