We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the Diplomat hotel and spa, because we were attending a wedding in the Stradey hotel up the road. We had booked six rooms there to stay the night after the wedding, but when we arrived they had no record of the booking or any rooms available, we were not happy with the situation and made our feelings clear,they phoned the Diplomat to see if they had vacancies and agreed to pay the taxi cost to and from the hotel,when we arrived at the Diplomat the staff were great and very helpful,the hotel was great everything was well presented and very clean and tidy,I must say it is one of the better hotels we have stayed in, although we didn't use the spa which was lovely, the hotel manager showed us around,he was great very helpful and spent time having a chat with us although he had a wedding going on at the hotel and it was very busy the rooms were very good and clean comfortable beds,breakfast was very good buffet style help your self, I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rober22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 490 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and had sunday lunch with family. Everything was very good from the bright public rooms (sunshine provided free of charge) to the comfortable bedrooms. The carvery was excellent and I was assured by my relatives (combined age 350) that the trifle was 'the best ever'.
The bar meals were varied and reasonable. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of continental things as well as the delicious and non greasy full cooked meal . Our twin room was an adequate size with comfortable seating. the beds were great and the room was quiet and peaceful in the day as well as the night. Service was excellent and friendly - even though we stretched them on occasions. the bathroom only had a bath but it was easy to stp in to for a shower as well as being deep enough for a proper bath. Altogether a good experience. The best in LLanelli!

Room Tip: our room overlooked the car ark but was still very quiet- the evening sun was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came here on a short break recently. The hotel is easy to find with flags at the gates to direct you up the drive and away from the main road, thus it is very quiet and in its own grounds. Our room was very impressive and large, and the bathroom had two hand basins, an unexpected surprise for a 3 star! Drinks in the bar before dinner were very pleasant and the atmosphere was relaxing and laid back (although the service was prompt!). Dinner was tasty and well presented, and the breakfast in the morning was very good although the sausages could have been tastier. One of the function rooms was set out for a wedding and very nicely so. In warmer weather you could imagine the main doors to the terrace being open and overlooking the gardens and Welsh countryside, a beautiful setting. All in all, a very nice stay and we are sorry that we didn't have the time to use the spa facilities, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 51 and sleep disturbed a little by what sounded like a hot water boiler, and every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissHedgehog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

On 2nd. March 2013 my Wife and I celebrated our Golden Wedding with a dinner party in the Diplomat Hotel. The ambience and setting of our table in the Concorde Suite was outstanding. The food was delicious and the service was perfect. Mr. and Mrs. Jenkins and their staff went out of their way to make the evening a great success and the whole hotel exudes a sense of occasion which cannot be bettered. I have no hesitation in recomending the Diplomat for your special night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

hotel is fab, lovely rooms, all immaculate. the decor in the rooms is fresh and modern. beds are really comfy. the bathroom was equipped with a bath and a shower, excellent.
the room had everything we needed. it was a large and spacious room.
breakfast was lovely, all cooked to order. choice of fruit and yoghurts, or cooked breakfast. more than what we needed really.
the spa is lovely, nice to be able to have outside views from within the spa.
lovely hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lots of large 3 star independent hotels are worn and tired, but not this one.

Staff friendly and helpful.
Hotel in good condition and clean.
Room/bathroom huge and modern.
Spa and gym very good.
Drink prices sensible.
Breakfast good with service great.


Special thanks to Nic for the lovely cocktails.

Room Tip: Room 58 is huge with leather chair and 3 seat sofa. Approx £6 for taxi to town centre/Parc Y Scarle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived to find the room we had been given had not been cleaned since valentines day (balloons,dirty glasses etc) and we were staying on feb 17th!! But once we informed reception they were very apologetic and the gentleman receptionist even came to the room to say sorry. The maids were not so forgiving as i told them of the problem one of them said "well you should'nt be checking in until 2pm anyway" even though we had asked for an early check in because we were going to the races. In the main hotel there were cobwebs hanging from virtually every light fitting which doesn't bode well for other cleanliness. We have stayed here on ,i think 5 occasions but don't think we will ever stay again as it's going downhill rapidly. If it wasn't for the bar/restaurant staff it would be a definite no. Special mention must go to nicky? as she was very friendly and made us lovely cocktails even though she wasn't sure how to do them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picture1Tredegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.6 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
877 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
471 reviews
10.4 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
189 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa

Address: Felinfoel, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range: $116 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Llanelli
Llanelli Best Western
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing