We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in Llanelli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort in Llanelli”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent two nights here on a short away break with my husband. The room was extremely comfortable with a reasonable view and the bathroom was spotless. As usual in most hotel bedrooms, the lighting was dimmer than I prefer.
The restaurant menu was adequate but could have been improved (even one variable "daily" main course gives the impression that the food is being carefully considered). We were not offered bread rolls at dinner, only paper napkins were provided and only one type of wine glass was set on the table. Coffee at breakfast was poured by the cup from the nearby hot plate instead of being brought to the table in a personal pot. Restaurant staff varied in experience but all tried hard.
The desk staff were most helpful.
We enjoyed our stay (but could have done without the decorated Christmas Tree in the entrance!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornithologist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    144
    84
    35
    30
See reviews for
84
171
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

went for a spa break at this hotel and had a wonderfully time the staff couldnt do enough for us,.... the food was excellent andtheroom were spotless and comfortable.... also room service was prompt and very reasonable ... we booked thro lastminute.com and at the discounted offer we had it was amazing value for money... we arrived laste for breakfast on our last day and expecting to be refused the chef said if we did nt mind waiting they cooked as breakfast you wouldnt have got that in a 5star so 100 % for catering for theit customers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had one night in the Diplomat arrived late so did nt use the leisure facilities, the room was lovely, clean and well apppointed. Had dinner in the restaurant food was ok but not stunning. The best asset this hotel has is the staff, they were lovely welcoming and friendly. Overall nice night away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited for a spa day package which included 2 course meal and wine. The customer service was excellent and overall experience in the spa was very good . The gym was well equipped but I was too lazy to use it...
As we visited on a Sunday the meal was a carvery sunday lunch, which was very good - and again,excellent service.
Overall -pleasantly surprised and would definitely recommend for a spa day

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazydaysWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A 5 night stay was booked in advance for a disabled man & his carer. Prior to the booking, we had informed the hotel that the disabled man had an incontinence problem (night only). They assured us that it would not be a problem. However, after 3 nights the manager charged the disabled man's account £315 for mattresses which he claimed had been thrown away. At no point did the manager inform the account holder that he was charging his account. It was proven to be a lie re: the mattresses so he refunded the money which he had charged. On the day before the last day he then told the carer that he was charging £315 for extra laundry + one mattress. Once again, the carer proved that the mattress was as good as it was on arrival. The manager then dropped the charges to £199 for laundry. If the carer had not argued his case, he would have been charged an extra £630 on top of what he had already paid for their rooms. This completely spoiled this man's trip with his family & friends. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilltaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
undy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A group of ladies from Monmouthshire visited for an overnight stay. Rooms great and really clean,

However the service at the bar and in the restaurant was truly appalling. I waited for 20 minutes at the bar to be served with one drink. The service in the restaurant was even worse. Our orders for a meal was taken. About 45 minutes later we were asked to go to our table and then had to wait another 10 minutes for the starters to arrive and were very small portions. The main courses when they arrived were meagre to say the least and the vegetables came in dribs and drabs. In fact, one portion of chips arrived just before the meal ended. The dessert was so small it was lost in the middle of the plate and the price of £4.50 was ridiculous.

One poor lady on her own got fed and just told the staff that she was leaving without eating.!!!!
Says everything, does it not

Room Tip: Certainly stay at the hotel for a comfortable stay but eat elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is slightly dated, but otherwise OK and very good in places, my boss was recommended the hotel and was pleased that the rate was negoiated down to £65 per night due to number of guests and this was honoured even when one person from the company visited that week visited instead of 6 or 7. We (as a company) visited from May 2012 to July 31st 2012.

We found the hotel improved from our first visits in May and that the food inparticular improved.

On the positive sides the Staff are friendly and the beds are very comfortable - some of the rooms are more basic but very functional.

The Spa and gym which is free to use by hotel guests is fantastic and I can not recommend highly enough visiting this part of the hotel. Beauty treatments (such as a massage) can be booked but are chargable although are well worth the money.

Room Tip: Where possible aim for the coach house, had room 59 and 60 or rooms to the left of the hotel as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.7 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
851 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
125 reviews
10.4 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
178 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Address: Felinfoel, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Llanelli
Llanelli Best Western
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing