We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Congresbury Bristol
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Had a short break with friends, to do some walking in the local area. Very pleased with the hotel, which may have been difficult to find without Sat. Nav.!! Not the most extensive I have seen, but the food was delicious, and the staff very pleasant. Didnt have time to use the gym and pool, but had a look and appeared spotless and new. Would definately recommend this hotel, and the area around if you like walking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCongresbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    138
    80
    35
    28
See reviews for
80
164
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed for one night on a Groupon deal and had a great time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We booked two rooms - one for my husband and myself and one for my son and his friend. We were told on arrival we had the bridal suite and I was concerned it might be chintzy with a four poster bed but instead it was a nice plainly furnished stylish room. The only problem was it was too warm, despite the fact that the weather wasn't particularly hot, so we spent the night with the windows wide open which meant we couldn't close the curtains. The food was good and the bar area is ok but slightly dated. Could someone explain why there's a Renoir print on the bar wall in two halves?! The spa / swimming pool / gym area looks newly renovated and is lovely with comfortable seating and a cafe - the children loved the smoothies. It would be good to have a water fountain in or around the gym but the cafe staff are happy to provide tap water. Overall we had fantastic value for money and would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BECCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed here on business and was surprised that a Best Western would be so run down.

It has a 1970s feel in decor, rooms and dining. The menu was very limited with only 3 starters of soup, prawn cocktail and melon! Melon starter went out with the Bay City Rollers, unless it's back in vogue.

On the positive side - the steak was tasty and the service was quick and attentive.

Forget the TV - there is very limited reception, so most channels are snowy and some are unavailable.

The shower was a puzzle to use - it was either cold or boiling and the controller seemed to have nothing to do with the shower. I turned it left and right, one notch, two notches, etc and nothing happened. I heard some people discussing the fun and games with controlling the shower, so it was not me being thick.

Overall disappointing - good for a trip down memory lane for that 70s experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed on groupon deal. Lovely spacious room, whole hotel spotlessly clean. Spa was nice, though pool is on the small side. Inevitably small choice on evening menu given groupon deal - but a decent range all well presented and delicious. We were well looked after by the friendly chief waitress and her assistants. Breakfast offer full range - we had to order what we wanted, all lovely and hot with a very wide range to choose from. Excellent value for money - certainly much better than many hotels that I've stayed in large cities on "special deals". Really nice to get away and would happily return even though its only 20 miles away from home. Only slight downside breakfast finishes early 9am - rather early on a break!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We really enjoyed our two night stay here. The hotel was well run. Our room was a good size, clean and modern. We were able to bring our dog. First night was on the groupon deal the 2nd we paid for at normal rate.

The bar had lots of choice of drinks and plenty of seating. The hotel restaurant had a very limited choice of meals but the food was excellent. But they were helpful & accommodating to me as a vegetarian who cannot currently eat certain cheeses due to pregnancy. The second night we ate a restaurant in the local town which is also owned by the hotel, this place had a lot more choice of dishes on their menu, it was delicious food too and we were able to just charge our meal to our hotel tab.

The spa was really nice, really modern we spent a few hours relaxing here. I would recommend you call in advance of your stay to book a treatment as it was busy.

During the daytime we explored the region by car, stopping at some quiet beaches and amazing castles. There was not much to do in way of sight-seeing near the hotel though.

We had a lovely time here for our wedding anniversary and I would recommend it for those seeking a realxing & quiet getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Lovely, friendly hotel. Spa was lovely - recenly stayed at St Davids in Cardiff Bay and actually preferred the spa here - much cleaner!! Staff helped out with directions to the local shops as my partner forgot to bring a change of clothes!! Enjoyed the entertainment in the bar in the evening. Disappointed with the meal (limited choice because on Groupon deal) but the rest of the stay made up for that. Room was spacious with a comfy bed - had a brilliant nights sleep. Would definitely go back :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyandAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. We stayed in a twin room in 'the new wing' - room 48. Lovely big room with everything you need. Very clean.
Hotel - it's set in 2 halves really - the older bit & the new wing. There are renovations going on but we didn't hear anything at all. The older bit has some qwirky decor.
Spa - we didn't use it but it looked good. The hotel seemed to be full of people on the Groupon offer & they all went to the spa to avoid the poor weather. Pool looked good but not too big.
Staff - they were all really friendly & made everyone feel welcome. A lot of banter and teasing going on between them all so that was very nice & very natural.
Food - all Gropuon people were put in a large room with loads of lighting & no atmosphere. Only 3 choices of coures but they were tasty enough.. It was value for money but I wouldn't have paid for it in a restaurant. Before you say it - yes it was to be expected!!
Overall it was a good hotel & we would stay again to be able to go to the beaches & country parks and to enjoy the beautiful scenery around the area

Room Tip: The new wing was lovely but others said the older part was lovely too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
1.8 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
2.0 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
9.8 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
Address: Aelybryn, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Llanelli
Llanelli Best Western
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing