We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a break away - much much better than anticipated!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llanelli
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed on groupon deal. Lovely spacious room, whole hotel spotlessly clean. Spa was nice, though pool is on the small side. Inevitably small choice on evening menu given groupon deal - but a decent range all well presented and delicious. We were well looked after by the friendly chief waitress and her assistants. Breakfast offer full range - we had to order what we wanted, all lovely and hot with a very wide range to choose from. Excellent value for money - certainly much better than many hotels that I've stayed in large cities on "special deals". Really nice to get away and would happily return even though its only 20 miles away from home. Only slight downside breakfast finishes early 9am - rather early on a break!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 490 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

We really enjoyed our two night stay here. The hotel was well run. Our room was a good size, clean and modern. We were able to bring our dog. First night was on the groupon deal the 2nd we paid for at normal rate.

The bar had lots of choice of drinks and plenty of seating. The hotel restaurant had a very limited choice of meals but the food was excellent. But they were helpful & accommodating to me as a vegetarian who cannot currently eat certain cheeses due to pregnancy. The second night we ate a restaurant in the local town which is also owned by the hotel, this place had a lot more choice of dishes on their menu, it was delicious food too and we were able to just charge our meal to our hotel tab.

The spa was really nice, really modern we spent a few hours relaxing here. I would recommend you call in advance of your stay to book a treatment as it was busy.

During the daytime we explored the region by car, stopping at some quiet beaches and amazing castles. There was not much to do in way of sight-seeing near the hotel though.

We had a lovely time here for our wedding anniversary and I would recommend it for those seeking a realxing & quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Lovely, friendly hotel. Spa was lovely - recenly stayed at St Davids in Cardiff Bay and actually preferred the spa here - much cleaner!! Staff helped out with directions to the local shops as my partner forgot to bring a change of clothes!! Enjoyed the entertainment in the bar in the evening. Disappointed with the meal (limited choice because on Groupon deal) but the rest of the stay made up for that. Room was spacious with a comfy bed - had a brilliant nights sleep. Would definitely go back :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EmilyandAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. We stayed in a twin room in 'the new wing' - room 48. Lovely big room with everything you need. Very clean.
Hotel - it's set in 2 halves really - the older bit & the new wing. There are renovations going on but we didn't hear anything at all. The older bit has some qwirky decor.
Spa - we didn't use it but it looked good. The hotel seemed to be full of people on the Groupon offer & they all went to the spa to avoid the poor weather. Pool looked good but not too big.
Staff - they were all really friendly & made everyone feel welcome. A lot of banter and teasing going on between them all so that was very nice & very natural.
Food - all Gropuon people were put in a large room with loads of lighting & no atmosphere. Only 3 choices of coures but they were tasty enough.. It was value for money but I wouldn't have paid for it in a restaurant. Before you say it - yes it was to be expected!!
Overall it was a good hotel & we would stay again to be able to go to the beaches & country parks and to enjoy the beautiful scenery around the area

Room Tip: The new wing was lovely but others said the older part was lovely too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here with friends using our groupon vouchers, we were very pleased with our purchase. The quality of the hotel, as well as the service it provided were all good. We have stayed in many nice hotels and would be quite happy to use this hotel again. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the rooms spacious clean and comfortable. My only gripe would be the shower was a bit of a let down, not much water pressure. But a very relaxing and enjoyable stay with good food and great company.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

What can we say but a fantastic hotel, we were put in the Coach House which is separate from the hotel, a lovely comfortable, clean room and very quiet. Staff extremely friendly and helpful and although a limited choice of food on the Groupon deal it was of an excellent quality, breakfast really good though. Spa facilities really lovely we did not want to leave. Will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura555_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed for 1 night with a Groupon offer.
Warm welcome at reception and all staff we came across were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious,well furnished, comfortable and spotlessly clean Spa facilities beautiful. Evening 2 course meal included in the Groupon offer had very limited choice, 3/4 staretrs, only 3 mailn, vegi lasagne, chicken and a very small fillet of Sea Bass. Veg that came- well we had 5 small new pots, some carrots,cabbage and a very few green beans between the 2 of us, BUT, the quality and taste were great .
We were at the end of service for breakfast but they made fresh scrambled eggs for my husband and came around asking if we wanted anything else.
We both agreed that we would visit again with or without a special offer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janecad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.6 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
877 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
471 reviews
10.4 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
189 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa

Address: Felinfoel, Llanelli SA15 3PJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Llanelli
Price Range: $116 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Llanelli
Llanelli Best Western
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing