We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel and restaurant”
Review of The Thomas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Thomas Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Llanelli B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed overnight on business and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The hotel was itself was spotless and well decorated. Bedrooms and bathrooms roomy. Lovely sheets and a warm soft quilt. The food deals were very good value and very tasty. Only small drawback is there is not a lot of parking for hotel residents when the restaurant is busy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Janed
Thanks for writing your review were so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself during your visit, thanks for telling the wider community we really appreciate your kind comments.
Thank you
Christine L Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    67
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
64
66
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monkton Prestwick
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed at the Thomas Arms Hotel Llanelli between 13th and 17th October 2013. Couldn't fault it.
The room was comfortable and clean. The bar staff and restaurant staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. The food was outstanding. A special reference must be made to the two housekeeping staff who cater for the residents in the morning at breakfast , they were so kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road as the road noise is apparent during peak hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi Peter,
Thank you for your really kind review, Iam so pleased to hear that you had a good time with us at the hotel and especially pleased that you took the time to tell us and the wider community about it.
Hope you will call with us in the future if so please introduce yourself to us.
Kind Regards
Christine L Evans
Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After travelling 3 and a half hours of travelling we stopped for a meal at the thomas arms. We hadn't booked a table but at the reception we were given a table of 2 in a quiet area. Our meals were delicious and we weren't left waiting long for them to arrive. We were made to feel most welcome by our server 'Rebecca' and nothing was too much trouble.
Lovely surroundings, excellent value for money and very pleasant staff members.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sausmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel really pleased to see that you enjoyed yourselves with us and hope you will call back for another visit if you are in the area again.I will also pass your coments on to all the staff, once again thank you.
Regards
Christine L Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Thomas Arms hotel, Which again we enjoyed.
We arrived and thought staff were very pleasant.
we booked at triple room which was very spacious,
we used this hotel as it was cheap and being bikers was ideal for the roads in wales.
This hotel caters for all types people familys ect.
will return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi Graham
Thank you for your kind review after your recent stay with us.Really glad to see that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us again.
The Welsh country side is a great ride for bikers especially up in the Beacons.
Best Wishes
Christine Langley Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandurah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

When we arrived at the Thomas Arms we were greeted warmly by the manager Christine, she made us a lovely cuppa and then we went to our room.
Christine had upgraded us to a king room and it was beautiful, had everything we needed, lovely and clean and had a modern theme.
We were a little worried about noise as the hotel is situated on a busy intersection. But the traffic dies down significantly in the evening and is of no concern through the night.
We ate in the restaurant every night during our stay and food and service were excellent.
All in all we'd definitely recommend the Thomas Arms and would stay again if the opportunity arose.
Martin & Karen Barnett Western Australia

Room Tip: Check if there's an upgrade available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Martin and Karen Thank you so much for your very kind review we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us it was our pleasure to look after you, have a safe trip back to Australia and really hoping youve had a great break in the UK, sending our very best wishes Christine David and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

upon arrival we were guided to our table by a very pleasant and amiable waiter,we were celebrating my sister-in-laws,60th birthday.we were a group of four sisters as well as my sister in law.we all ordered various foods from the menu,when i enquired as to how my meal of gammon,andjacket potatoe would be cooked,? i was told that the gammon would be grilled,i asked how other parts of the meal,ie. mushrooms,would be cooked,as i am on a diet, and i was told they would be boiled,but was dissappointed to find that they were indeed fried, i also was expecting a slice of grilled pineapple, which was not forthcoming,all in all we enjoyed our evening and food at the thomas arms,but a little dissapointed with my own meal.taking into account that i enqured about the cooking of certain items.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netty181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review of the hotel, glad that overall you where happy with the service and food you received.Disappointed the pineapple slice was missed, that could have been rectified within minutes with the waiter or on the table check back it could have been requested then.
I have addressed this with the kitchen team and Team leaders to check that everything is present when they take the meals out.
Thank you for your comments
Christine Langley Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at the Thomas arms in a matter of weeks and both times I have been very impressed.. The rooms (or at least the 2 I have stayed in) are very clean and well maintained/ newly renovated with very generous double/ queen beds..
The Staff (whos names unfortunately escape me) are very friendly and helpful including the breakfast staff and also the manager who was very accommodating when it came to needing a slightly later than permitted check out which was much appreciated...
All in all I would highly recommend the hotel if you need a base in the area for a couple nights and I personally fully intend to stay here again..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTwentyFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, General Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your really kind review of the business, we are so pleased everything has been to your satisfaction and for taking the time to tell the community.
Very Best Wishes we hope to see you soon.
Regards
Christine Langley Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.4 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
0.4 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
125 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Arms

Property: The Thomas Arms
Address: Thomas Street, Llanelli SA15 3JF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thomas Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional Inn in South West Wales with 10 ensuite updated comfortable guest rooms that are well appointed and ideally located close to the town centre and the New Ffwrnes Theatre and East gate development.Also close by the renowned Millenium coastal path and within easy access of the beautiful Gower Penisular which was the first area recognised as natural outstanding beauty and noted to have one of the top three beaches in the world.Also Pembrey motor sports centre,Ffos Las racecourse, numerous prestigious Golf clubs and due to open soon Llanelli House a unique historic property dating back to Jacobean period.We offer a friendly service to all guests ensuring their stay has a home from home feel and atmosphere.We offer a wide selection of traditional British cooking, Chefs Welsh specials all cooked to order served in either the bar area or comfortable lounge area,we serve food all day every day.On Sundays we offer a traditionally served Sunday lunch with a choice of Home Roasted meats and fresh market vegetables served to your table, along with our full menu.We also offer extensive function facilities catering for Weddings and all celebrations for up to 200 guests with private facilities with disabled access.We are proud to be a unique venue in our area and ensure we go the extra mile so that guests return time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Thomas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thomas Arms Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing