We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms ,good food”
Review of The Thomas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Thomas Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Llanelli B&B and Inns
wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice rooms ,good food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Paid £80 for a family room with breakfast
great room clean and the hotel has free wifi
food was really good
only grumble that room 9 was a little noisy as its right on the front and not double glazed
apart from that a great stop over for the ashburnham junior open that was on at the local golf club a few miles away
thanks staff

Room Tip: right in the town so brilliant location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfish40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your response following your stay at the Thomas Arms Hotel, we are really pleased to see that you had a good time with us.
We hope that should you visit Llanelli in the future you will stay again where we will be pleased to welcome you back.
Regards
Christine Langley Evans
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    66
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
65
66
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tired looking building on outside but very modern, comfortable decor inside. Staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Lovely big room and bathroom. Very comfy bed and pillows. Average breakfast served by very nice lady - who was also vacuuming when we came down to breakfast!
Parking is available but is quite tight.
Avoid room 6 - its next to the boiler room which fires up for a few seconds every 5 minutes throughout the night - I am a very light sleeper and as such didn't sleep! From about 5.30 it is almost constant. The room was very warm but with the window open the noise was even louder. I did speak to the housekeeper who served us breakfast but though she smiled and apologised she clearly wasn't in a position to deal with complaints.
We did try to book again for the following week and mentioned again about the problems with room 6, requesting a different room, but this was the only room available so we went elsewhere.
If you can get a different room, then this is a very nice and good valus place to stray.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hells59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.Iam pleased that you where happy with the majority of things. Six months ago we installed a brand new boiler system to cope with the extra demand from accomodation to provide sufficient heating and water and up to this date we have only recently received 1 complaint which was last week. we where unaware of any disturbance made to any other guests before this time.Now we have been informed we will endeavour to contact the engineers to seek a suitable solution.The room will be put off sale from today to ensure we do not disturb any other guests.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night having been to the races at Ffos Las which by the way is worth a visit
Our stay way not one to remember, made worse by a couple of things which you don't expect to come across when you're paying £65 to stay in a pretty quiet location in all honesty
First thing was we were woken at 5am by the boiler coming on which was conveniently situated next to our room (no 6)
Having booked a couple of months in advance I would of expected better
No one on site in the morning to complain to other than a cleaner who doubled up as a waitress!
This really is unacceptable especially as this establishment promotes itself as a hotel, it's not by the way, it's basically a pub with a few rooms
I wonder what little extras my breakfast came with via the hoover and mop!
Would never go back
My advice, stay away from this pub chain as there are much better places to stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langley32, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are really disappointed to see ypur comments as you can see from our other reviews we have excellent feedback from our other guests.One point I would like to assure you is that we do not have cleaners as such we have housekeepers who are highly trained and undertake all neccesary qualifications for their jobs no heavy duty cleaning takes place until breakfast is well over.Our modern kitchens have wash hand basins and all staff use them.There would be no chance of any cross contamination, we also are one of a rare few in our area who have a 5 star environmental food hygiene award this is only rewarded to premises who they deem are highly experienced operators and have extremely high standard's
Every guest room is supplied with a list of contact numbers for which you can contact the manager directly 24 hours a day should you feel you cannot talk to the housekeeping team although there is a manager on duty from 9.30am daily until 11.30pm and 12.30 am at weekends
All room's have been extensively refurbished and reflect a fair price that includes a welcome tray and an extensive breakfast. The Thomas Arms dates back to 1830.and the name goes back to then we do not advertise any hotel services in any of our descriptions but what we do provide is a comfortable family friendly environment with great food and service for which most of our reviews reflect. There may be better places to stay in the area for a much higher cost our cost , We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I hadn't realized this was part of a chain of 'Brains' hotels when I booked and was a little disappointed that it was a modern and somewhat characterless place rather than a traditional inn. My first observation was that the parking was very limited and made more so by some selfish and/or inept parkers, with some cars taking up one and a half spaces.
However the room was a good size, clean with a modern flat-screen TV and a good size bathroom with a reasonable shower pressure. The sound insulation in the room was not good and I could clearly hear the person in the room above me moving around and talking etc. Also the noise from the road was very intrusive even with the windows shut - likely to be very bad in the summer with the windows open - and I was woken at 3 in the morning by a drunken buffoon outside in the street.
Staff were nice and friendly. Dinner was OK but not great, but inexpensive and generally in keeping with the quality of hotel ‘chain’ meals. Ditto for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeLaLe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for the review of our premises.
As stated in the hotel description is does say we are just outside of the town centre which indicates we are on a main road. It does not seem to bother most guests as to the majority of guests traffic is a way of life but I would like to assure guests our windows are double glazed for comfort.
Regarding our food, locally we are renowned for great food we have recently won Best Family Dining award by the largest independant newspaper in our area The Evening Post.We also have a five star food hygiene award.Although we are part of a group of hotels we do cook and prepare the whole of our food menu from Homemade Lasagne and Chill made with Celtic Pride Beef to succulent sirloin and Rump Steaks all accompanied by freshly prepared vegetables and salads and a whole lot more as well.We are proud to say our food represents great value for money and have offers throughout the week like Curry club, home cooked authentic curry and a drink for £6.75, every Tuesday 25% off all grills and 2 meals for £10.99 these offers might be part and parcel of a chain but I would like to assure you that all the food is cooked on site by our trained chefs.
All our rooms have had a full refurbishment and include a welcome tea tray and a full cooked Welsh breakfast for which we have received a high score on Trip Advisor and great reviews which we are really proud of, the breakfast consist of Fresh Fruit and Welsh Youghurt, a range of cereals and juices, tea and coffee followed by Welsh breakfast cooked to order with hot toast.
If you didnt look to closely you would not know that we are in a chain, the hotel dates back from 1830 and retains a lot of its original features but with a modern twist for modern day living and cleaning.
Thank you for visiting the hotel and your feedback we do value all guest feedback.
Regards
Christine Langley Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting friends in Llanelli. The Thomas Arms is a good all round pub. The welcome we got at check in was great, our room was big enough and quite comfortable. We ate in the hotel with our friends that evening and the meal was very nice. The breakfast the next morning was first class. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hello and Thank you for your very kind recent review of our hotel, we are really pleased to see that your review was mostly positive.Just to explain the sauce bottles a little, we find that this way of dispensing sauce is more hygienic than open pots that in most places go around all the tables, there is no covering or protection for the contents and they often become messy, they often produce lots of waste too and the squeezy bottles store neatly in a refrigerator once opened and as Heinz is a premium brand they are classed as a well known classic brand that guests love and trust, we find the small little packets of sauce are fiddly to open, you often need to open several to get the right amount of sauce required and are difficult to stock rotate in a open container, these are the main reasons for the changes, I would like to assure you we will feedback all your kind comments to our catering team.
Thank you once again for your kind comments
Christine and Davd Langley Evans
Genaral Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night as a couple. Rooms are fresh, clean and cosy. Mattress is comfy with great pillows and duvet. Breakfast is excellent and really sets you up for the day ahead. Would have liked a little later checkout on a Sunday as we had to be out by 10:30. But we didnt ask so dont know how it would have been received anyway. Great Town Hotel. Wopuld happily use again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smeeajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we are really pleased you have nejoyed your stay at the hotel and would like tothank you for your very kind honest review of the property
Regards
Christine Langley Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for one night only as we were visiting relatives for a birthday party, room very spacious, modern and clean, the only downside was the noise of the traffic outside. Staff excellent and very helpful. We ate at the hotel and it was typical for pub grub! with the surroundings being newly decorated I would of expected NOT to have had a squeezie bottle of sauce with the meal a little bit more thought would of gone a long way. Just a small sachet or a small pot would look better. Breakfast was included in the price and was ample one suggestion would to have a toast rack as toast on top of each other makes it soggy,,,,Overall a Good Night. Thank you. WOULD DEFINATEY COME BACK.

Room Tip: Hotel on a corner plot so you have to take a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatterbox01873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langleyevans, Manager at The Thomas Arms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel we are really glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us we hope to see you soon.
Regards
Christine Langley Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanelli
0.4 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Central
0.8 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
103 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
125 reviews
2.0 mi away
Llwyn Hall Country House
Llwyn Hall Country House
#2 of 11 in Llanelli
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thomas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thomas Arms

Property: The Thomas Arms
Address: Thomas Street, Llanelli SA15 3JF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Llanelli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thomas Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional Inn in South West Wales with 10 ensuite updated comfortable guest rooms that are well appointed and ideally located close to the town centre and the New Ffwrnes Theatre and East gate development.Also close by the renowned Millenium coastal path and within easy access of the beautiful Gower Penisular which was the first area recognised as natural outstanding beauty and noted to have one of the top three beaches in the world.Also Pembrey motor sports centre,Ffos Las racecourse, numerous prestigious Golf clubs and due to open soon Llanelli House a unique historic property dating back to Jacobean period.We offer a friendly service to all guests ensuring their stay has a home from home feel and atmosphere.We offer a wide selection of traditional British cooking, Chefs Welsh specials all cooked to order served in either the bar area or comfortable lounge area,we serve food all day every day.On Sundays we offer a traditionally served Sunday lunch with a choice of Home Roasted meats and fresh market vegetables served to your table, along with our full menu.We also offer extensive function facilities catering for Weddings and all celebrations for up to 200 guests with private facilities with disabled access.We are proud to be a unique venue in our area and ensure we go the extra mile so that guests return time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Thomas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thomas Arms Llanelli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing