We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lutry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Le Rivage occupies a first class location on the shore of Lake Geneva and within close proximity to Lausanne. Much quieter and less commercial than Montreux or Vevey, Lutry is an excellent and very convenient location only 8 minutes by train from the lovely city of Lausanne. The hotel was very Pleasant the staff and service excellent and we very much enjoyed our stay in a pleasant room with a balcony overlooking the lake and across to France.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysider48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 198 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Situated on Lake Geneva, in the quaint village of Lutry, this small hotel has warm friendly service, spacious well appointed rooms, with magnificent views of the lake and distant mountains. All this within a few minute by car from Lausanne. I highly recommend this lovely hotel for anyone visiting the Lausanne area.

Room Tip: Try to book a room facing the Lake. I especially liked the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobHart308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed four nights in late August 2013 with my partner, paying approx. £136 per night for a standard room.

On the positive side, the hotel has a great location, overlooking the lake, in the pretty village of Lutry. Great for lakeside walks! And the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard.

On the negative side:
a) the usual Swiss hospitality was completely lacking, without any warmth or charm. We did not feel welcome.
b) the standard rooms are very small in size, without any proper place to put clothes - we had to live out of our suitcases
c) room 222 backed onto a courtyard, with a noisy wind turbine/ pump going on and off throughout the night, and we were subjected to occasional unpleasant smells of stale cooking oil
d) the Housekeeping was not up the usual high Swiss standards
e) the room maintenance is poor; out telephone did not work and took 2 days to fix; one of the bedside lights did not work; the bathroom sink was partially blocked; and internet access from this room was too slow to be useful.
f) the hotel has no car park, so it is very inconvenient for people travelling by car; there is a small unloading area, but otherwise you have to leave your car on the street (blue zone limited to a single hour) or a car park 5 mins away costing 0.80 Swiss Francs an hour
g) we did not have breakfast in the restaurant because we found a local café that provided a good breakfast at half the price; we had two meals in the restaurant: evening dinner for two, when the food was good and beautifully presented, with great service; then later we had lunch with extended family; this was less good - the food was disappointing and the service lacking - we had to pour our own wine

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the lake are the best (much larger than standard rooms, and with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped overnight in this lake-front hotel; traditional building, yet renovated and with all the modern facilities; our room was very large, the bathroom also extra large, incredible view on the lake, balcony, TV, and all the rest of it; excellent breakfast, and excellent restaurant where we had dinner; I'd recommend it any time; we paid 220 CHF for the room with breakfast, later we found out that if we had booked via internet we could have probably got the room for 180 CHF; even so, it was good value for money!

Room Tip: get a room with balcony and view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pietro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Le Rivage in Lutry. Just 30 minutes from Geneva Airport, Lutry is a lovely small village set on the banks of Lac Lemon (Lake Geneva to you and I!).

Hotel Le Rivage is a perfect boutique style hotel right opposite the lake - traditionally designed from the exterior, the rooms are really well designed with fantastic bathrooms. Ask for a Lake view room and you can wake up to the sound of yacht masts clanking - perfect restful stay. A double room is normally around £170+ - however, go through the 'Tripadvisor' bookings system and the later in the day, the greater the discount - we paid £125 instead!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view room - its a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at Le Rivage 5 years ago and it was terrific. But on a recent stay in July, the hotel had seriously declined. Front desk was disorganized with bits of paper everywhere. I asked for a wake-up call knowing I wouldn't get it. Pillows were huge, hard-foam filled. Asked for a soft pillow and was brusquely told "these are what's available in this hotel". Brown-carpeted hallways dark, with unvacuumed crumbs, and strong nauseating floral scent. Bathroom towels and toiletries not freshened or replaced 2nd night (small bar of soap gone). One expects so much more from a Swiss hotel. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieTornado30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

They wer eno more hotels free in Lausanne and we were offered that hotel at Lutry."it is a nice and small old village along the lake shore. Intimacy vilalge I ouwld say with a lot of charms.
A nice little room. View on the lake and on the mountains. But perfectly cosy. Well refurnished and new. Bathroom wtih shower is what we need. The restaurant was a surprise and nice plates presented. The waiter professional but friendly as example went on terrace at the end for a cigarette.... well took the decision himself to bring the dessert and coffee to us. Exactly what we expect from a professional place. If we had to find a problem?.... hummmm well if you are not used to the church bell ringing all night oyu could get tired of it.. .but it gives a sense of rural charm ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Confmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutry
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lavaux
Hotel Lavaux
#1 of 3 in Cully
267 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina
4.5 mi away
Le Baron Tavernier
Le Baron Tavernier
#1 of 2 in Chexbres
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
1.7 mi away
Auberge de la Gare
Auberge de la Gare
#1 of 1 in Grandvaux
172 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auberge Du Raisin
Auberge Du Raisin
#2 of 3 in Cully
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage

Address: Rue du Rivage 1, Lutry 1095, Switzerland (Formerly Hôtel Le Rivage)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lutry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lutry
Price Range: $119 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
32 Beautiful rooms next to Geneva Lake with the "Vieux Port" of Lutry. The "Place to Be" to relax and to share a nice time with friend, family, or for your professional meeting. Only 10 minutes from Ouchy-Lausanne by car. Museum Charlie Chaplins, Olympique. Aquatis, Chillon Castel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Le Rivage Hotel Lutry
Hotel Le Rivage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing