We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau des Thermes
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This is an excellent spa hotel with large and well designed rooms. The dinner menu is limited, but the food is generally good. The hotel does not have a gym, which is a big drawback.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelwinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    94
    48
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
203
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

On a sightseeing tour around the Ardennes, we stayed one night in this hotel and found a gem! The Spa facilities are world-class, with heated outdoor and an indoor pool. The restaurant offers Table D'Hote in the very elegant dining room. Absolutely recommend the Table D'Hote dinner albeit the wine list was somewhat limited. Food and presentation excellent, service a little slow (maybe its a Belgian thing?), but otherwise a very good experience.

There are traditional rooms, and newer rooms. The newer rooms have everything, and certainly deserve the 4 stars they have received (including free internet access).

Set in acres of beautiful grounds, in Chateaufontaine, this Spa hotel offers a great relaxing getaway for shill-out, good food and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Very nice new hotel! Great spa and nice people. Ideal for a weekend. The restaurant is extremely good with a great wine card.
However, there are few little things that prevent this hotel from being an exceptional hotel, like a window that doesn't close properly, the banister in the swimming pool that is not fixed properly...but these are very small details.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrauniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Chateau des Thermes is first and foremost a spa with a hotel and meeting centre added to it.
This, however, does not detract from the hotel, in which we stayed for two nights in mid-March. We stayed in the Imperial Suite – complete with large tub with ‘musicotherapy’ and ‘chromotherapy’ – the latter of which we think relates to the changing coloured lights in the bath tub; novel!! The ‘musicotherapy’ came from speakers in the ceiling above the tub and we were convinced that it was just an extension speaker from the music in the elevator! There was no possibility to change the music, other than to switch it off! The additional rain shower was very good, though sadly it lacked a simple shelf to place shampoo and shower gel. The glass sinks were beautifully lit in blue and green from beneath and there was ample towel space. Two large chairs beside the bath tub made for a cosy chat and sharing of a glass of wine or two! The only other small niggle was the lack of any bath salts or oil that could be added to the bath for a truly relaxing soak!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return, though perhaps not during the weekend, when it was very busy. Indeed, we were unable to have any of the many spa treatments since these had all been booked up several weeks earlier.

We were able to use the spa centre, comprising an indoor and an outdoor pool, steam room and sauna, and these were delightful and enjoyable, and their use was included in our room rate.

We were aware that dinner was a 4 course set menu and initially this concerned us. But for any food snobs such as us, there was no need to be worried; the menu was absolutely excellent and the food exceptionally well prepared; and a very extensive (and inexpensive) wine list!! The service was also very good indeed, particularly the sommelier!
Breakfast comprised an extensive buffet, including champagne, although you have to get used to some of the guests being dressed in their bathrobes and spa slippers at breakfast.

Check in and out for the hotel is actually at the spa reception, and the staff were very charming and helpful, though if you arrive hungry at around 3 pm as we did, there is not much on offer to eat until dinner in the evening.

Chateau des Thermes is a great place to be pampered and given sufficient time to pre-arrange the wide choice of spa treatments, there is no need to go anywhere else during the entire stay. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaudfontaine
4.7 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
968 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Il Castellino
#1 of 1 in Chaudfontaine
11 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
519 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lafarques
Lafarques
#1 of 1 in Pepinster
95 reviews
12.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Thermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Thermes

Property: Chateau des Thermes
Address: Rue Hauster 9, Chaudfontaine 4051, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Chaudfontaine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chaudfontaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau des Thermes 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau des Thermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Thermes Hotel Chaudfontaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing