We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Exe Gran Hotel Solucar
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good value for money”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights IN this hotel to go to Isla magica. Its very Good price for money, about 20km from Sevilha with a Nice pool and a very Good brekfest.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiagusgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    99
    101
    31
    29
See reviews for
112
100
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

This hotel is what I would call a "tourtel" - one you wouldn't really pick, but would stay at on a tour. Indeed, there were lots of tour groups here. We stayed here twice, our first night in Seville to "crash" and for two nights on the end of our stay. You definitely need a car, but I think that the majority of Spain travelers rent cars anyway. By car, it's 17 km or 15 minutes to the city center, which is nice to be away from.

The real let downs here were cleanliness, the tiles in our room were filthy, beyond belief. Bathroom was clean, and modern. Hallways carpets all torn, stained, and all around horrid. A replacement of the hallways carpet would make a vast improvement!

Beds rather comfortable. Local area sparse, residential area. The tapas bar across the road is amazing. We ate there every night. Amazingly good.

Oh and the air conditioner didn't work either time. Very annoying on the hot days.

Overall, the cleanliness and

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicelikesdinosaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We recently toured the Andalucian region and choose this hotel for our stay close to Seville.
The hotel is clean and front line staff spoke adequate English.
We had problems with the room being too hot (in spring time) as the airconditioners were only blowing warm air. This obviously made our room a little unbearable and we had to open windows to try and regular the room temperature.
Breakfast was extremely disappointing and can be well improved on by the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanlucar la Mayor hotels

UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Arrived around 3.45 in the afternoon to be told pre-booked room had not been cleaned so was asked to wait, found this a bit hard to understand as the hotel looked empty and deserted. Found staff to be very helpful and friendly Room was clean and bathroom very good. bed large but not very comfortable with very long thin pillows and something rattling on the roof all night in the wind. Hotel looked very sad with paint peeling in the public areas, the pool was empty and full of leaves. Breakfast was perhaps the worst I have ever been offered in a hotel we were offered a choice of pastries that looked 3 days old, cold meat that looked very dodgy but in 2 stainless food warmer lurked the most sickly looking pale pink ham and scrambled eggs that had a green slimy tinge to them. The other had hot dog sausages or stewed mushrooms. If you can get a cheap deal and don't have and breakfast then good for a stopover outside Seville.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerhunter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane-Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

After locating the hotel (directions not at all well explained on internet) we checked in for 3 nights. The main reason for selecting this hotel was the free parking and easy access to Seville via the bus stop right outside the door (very easy).

Our room on the first floor was very big with plenty of space to spread out (not the two story configuration that others have mentioned in their reviews). Typical Spanish twin beds pushed together, tiled floors, decent bathroom, mini bar and safe and some basic English language news channels.

The soundproofing was terrible. We could hear every chair scrape, bed jiggle and footstep of the people in the room above. This comes of having tiled floors, no rugs and very, very bad soundproofing. It is an odd hotel as it is quite big with a very impressive foyer but the hallways and rooms are faded and worn. My guess was that it catered to groups and this was confirmed on the third night when we saw a tour bus in the car park.

It's fine for a night but if you are staying a few night, I would recommend somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We were expecting a budget hotel and got an expensive hotel experience. My husband and I usually travel budget so this was a nice surprise. The rooms are huge. Two stories with bedroom and bath upstairs and livingroom downstairs. The front desk staff was so helpful. They were kind enough to make a couple of calls to try to get us a reservation for the national park Donana. They speak english and german. The hotel specializes in group tours. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel that takes you directly to Seville. about 35 minutes. $1.30 Euro. Free parking at hotel and no fighting the traffic in the city.(Driving is a mess in the city) The breakfast buffet was standard with eggs, various meats, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and a coffee machine that makes capuccinos etc. Decent for the price. $8-10 Euro. There are a couple of restaurants (We saw Chinese and Mexican!)within walking distance. GPS took us right to the hotel. Seems easy from the Autovia. After staying in cramped Pensiones this was great. We stayed an extra night. Also, get reservations to go to the national Park Donana before arrival. We didn't get into a tour but took a fabulous 2 hour horseback ride through the park and onto the beach at sunset. highly recommend it! Go to/contact the tourist info center in Matalascanas and they will book your ride. the park is just a desert but the ride on the beach was amazing. (they don't speak english at the stable. We were lucky to have a woman as a guide who spoke some english. she works there only 6 weeks Sept./Oct.) enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I traveled to Spain over Semana Santa with my teenage nephew. We had planned to spend 2 nights in Seville and booked the Solucar, expecting a 4 star experience. What we got was a 2 star experience. Upon check in, we discovered that our "room" was actually a 2 story suite which a regular bed and a roll-away cot downstairs. Upstairs there were two twin beds pushed together to make a double. The bathroom was also located on the 2nd floor. It was the nicest part of the suite. The furniture and bedding were worn and outdated and seemed sort of shoved into the room without any real plan or design. Worst of all, it was over 80 degrees fahrenheit (26 celcius) in the room. We attempted to run the air conditioning, only to discover that it didn't work. One of the telephones in the room didn't work at all. When I contacted the front desk, it took three tries and 5-10 minutes to get them to answer the phone. When they finally answered, they replied that they don't run air conditioning until after easter and we would simply have to open the windows. Opening the windows did manage to cool the downstairs, but NOT the upstairs or the bathroom, which remained at 80+ degrees. In addition, the windows were not equipped with screens and it was impossible to open the windows without also completely opening the curtains, leaving you with absolutely no privacy in the room.

After breakfast the next morning, we checked out early and moved on to our next destination. The breakfast was the only pleasant part of our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanlucar la Mayor
1.8 mi away
Abades Benacazon
Abades Benacazon
#1 of 1 in Benacazon
269 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Vertice Sevilla Aljarafe
12.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#88 of 175 in Seville
2,187 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel TRH Alcora
Hotel TRH Alcora
#1 of 1 in San Juan De Aznalfarache
800 reviews
11.7 mi away
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Gran Hotel Solucar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Gran Hotel Solucar

Property: Exe Gran Hotel Solucar
Address: Carretera Sevilla Huelva a-472 s/n, 41800 Sanlucar la Mayor, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Sanlucar la Mayor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sanlucar la Mayor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Gran Hotel Solucar 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exe Gran Hotel Solucar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Seville
Exe Gran Hotel Solucar Province Of Seville, Spain - Sanlucar La Mayor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing