We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it, but prepare for mosquitos and diarrhea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Padre
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it, but prepare for mosquitos and diarrhea”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a place for travelers on a super-tight budget willing to put up with some discomfort in exchange for a gorgeous beach, quiet resort and friendly staff. Not the place for people who want to party.

Beach: Gorgeous white sand, turquoise water. Long enough for decent walks. Snorkeling off the beach is minimal but for 12 pesos, you can take a short boat ride from the beach to a beautiful reef with lots of fish. The beach is good for little kids...shallow water.

Location: Middle of nowhere. Two-hour bus ride from Holguin Airport. Great sight-seeing on this bus ride! You can arrange an excursion to Puerto Padre (45 minute bus/taxi ride). Some shopping and mingling with the locals--fun!

Snack bar at the beach: Comfy lounge chairs in this open-air, breezy bar right on the beach. Never a line-up for drinks and the pizza and fries were good, when available. Great ambiance here and wonderful staff. We never waited to get drinks and we didn't tip per drink.

Buffet: We were there in early December and the resort was half full. As a result, half the restaurant was closed and the buffet was kind of sparse. It perked up on the weekend when more people arrived. If you like a more energetic vibe or bigger selection of food, don't go Nov to third week of December.
There was always a pasta bar and fresh rolls and bread, beef stews, pork, chicken dishes depending on the night. Omelet bar in the morning was terrific. Papaya, oranges and other fruit always available. Cereals and juices.

Bars/ drinks: A couple of the bars are 24-hour. We never waited for service. Amazing cappucino and espressos at all the bars. Staff were pleasant and attentive.

Pool: Very clean. It's a salt-water pool so you will see the scattered tiny crab joining you for a swim :)

Rooms: The best we've had in Cuba so far (4th time). Clean, spacious bathroom, closet space, in-room safe ($15 extra per week), room cards always worked. The room was cleaned by noon every day. Comfy beds. TV had CNN and other channels. AC worked perfect.

Turbo mosquitos: The resort backs onto a swamp and in the early morning, and as soon as the sun got low, out came the armies of mosquitoes. We had to take cover in our room until just before dinner at 6:30. They fogged every night at 6:00 pm but then you'd have the diesel fumes so we stayed in our room til dinner. Not the place if you like outdoor cocktail hour. Never seen so many mosquitoes at a resort in Cuba. Long pants and socks helped.

Diarrhea and questionable sewage system: Out of eight of us, six got major diarrhea that still isn't gone after a week at home. The staff tell you to drink only bottled water at this resort, which we did. In our bathroom we sometimes smelled sewage, and in one of our rooms the toilet backed up. Not sure what's in that swamp next to the resort, but it smelled like raw sewage too, when you got near enough. There's an inlet from the beach to the swamp so the tide maybe carried some contaminants out to the swimming area.

Resort gift shop: Lots of inexpensive souvenirs, snacks, cookies, rum for $1.95(!), swimsuits, pampers, sunscreen, shampoo and the like. Good if you forget/ run out of stuff.

Internet: You pay for a few hours on a card and can use a computer set up in a little office. Very slow connection but adequate to check emails now and then.

Overall, the hot sunny weather, friendly staff and gorgeous beach made up for these hitches. We have good memories of our stay and took this stuff in stride.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Paduko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    416
    237
    107
    74
See reviews for
270
399
83
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a few issues with the room we were in on our arrival but the manager took great care of us. Issue was taken care of promtly. The food, despite hearing it wouldnt be overly good, was definstely decent for a 3.5 star. Lots of selection and variety. Not an over abundance of fruit and veg but it was always fresh. The resort when we went was fairly quite when we went but still fair smount of activities going on. The entire staff from house keeping to maintanence to server, all are very friendly. The staff make you feel very welcome and at home.
Its a long bus ride to get there but the resort is amazing, secluded, and well worth the trip. Stop by the pool bar say high to Tony, Illyana at the front desk, and Rene your tour rep. They made our trip extremely memorable. I highly recommend this resort and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank erinwil3746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Covarrubias is my PARADISE. White powder sand, beautiful walks along a pristine beach. Away from the crowds on it's own where one can let the pressures of our everyday lives just drain away into the ocean and disappear in to the azure blue skies.
If you want luxury, then don't look here. If you want to just plain relax with or without children it is fabulous here.
Everyone on the resort is like family and if you want them nearby, then they will be there, or if you want solitude they will make sure that you get it. Everyone has their preference and it is here.
Sandy didn't touch this place and it is perfect.

Room Tip: rooms by the ocean give you the "I am free" feeling to let your tension drain away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jakub T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

First of all, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Worse, besides the hotel there's a swamp with thousands of crabs and mosquitos. Imagine at night. But the beach and the staff were great. Do not swim in the pool..... Go to visit the town of Puerto Padre...Impressive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SergioMoraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The 2 and half bus ride to get there is like a great bus tour to discover the surroundings.
The place is beautifull, the beach has a savage feel. Great for scuba diving. It was amasingly quiet and by the night the disco ( far away from bedrooms) was opened for us even if most of the time we where only 10 crazy dancers wanting to have fun anyways.
We went there at the end of may, and we got surprise to be a small groupe of 46 people, for an hotel that can support 600...
So we felt like we where in our private beach house with guest...total blast!

Food: Don't expect planty of choices-3 stars- (and i say that for that odd breed of traverlers who just want the same food they have at home!)
There is only one restaurant buffet and i found the meals to be good. Pork meat is just delicious an grilled fish super fresh.
The snaks are basically ham and cheese sandwiches...
For breakfast you have someone that cooks your eggs the way you want. Yogourt, fresh fruits etc...
The only downfall was the obvious expectation of tips of some of the staff, but not all of them...
And a feeling of blazed employees.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank spootnik 0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

As a cuban american that went to Cuba for the first time in May 2012, I must say my visit to Covarrubias as excellent. The place is beautiful, the food is great but must of all the pleople that work there are the best....Buen trabajo muchachos.....Im planning to go back to Cuba in Feb 2013 and for sure Covarrubias is part of my trip....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maribel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tecumseth, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went to Covarrubias in Jan 2007. Travelled with 2 children, 9 years old and 8 month old. Dunia from the kids club was excellent. The beach was the most beautiful beach I've ever seen. The staff were great. The rooms were huge. The only downfall was the 2 and a half bus ride. Covarrubias was far from everything , almost like a deserted island. Will definetely go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank helena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Padre
28.9 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,454 reviews
46.5 mi away
Islazul Villa Don Lino
Islazul Villa Don Lino
#4 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
573 reviews
55.8 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.2 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,638 reviews
50.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
#2 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4,340 reviews
53.5 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Covarrubias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Covarrubias Hotel

Property: Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Address: Playa Covarrubias, Puerto Padre 77200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Las Tunas Province > Puerto Padre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Padre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Covarrubias Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisas Covarrubias is a cozy and intimate beachfront resort located on a long, secluded beach of the same name on the north coast of the province of Las Tunas in Cuba. The soft powdery sand combined with shades of turquoise and blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean and surrounded by a coral reef makes Covarrubias beach one of the most impressive beaches in Cuba. Ideal place for diving, located in zone of impressive marine fauna. It has in all its areas of service internet connection wifi. Its rooms are characterized by a high standard of size, very comfortable that will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisas Covarrubias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covarrubias Hotel Puerto Padre
Resort All Inclusive Covarrubias
Brisas Covarrubias Hotel Cuba/Puerto Padre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing