We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plage magnifique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brisas Covarrubias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Padre
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Plage magnifique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Me and members of my family stayed at hotel Brisas Covarrubias during the Christmas holidays. In all, twelve happy vacationers. No major complaints.

True, there wasn’t any running water sometimes and hot water was rationed other times. Hurricane Ike caused a lot of damage in 2008 et you can see still the results inside the rooms (mildew odors, doors askew or broken, etc.). The food they serve is quite ordinary. But in spite of these small inconveniences, I would go back there anytime. The hotel is secluded, and surrounded by lush vegetation. Perfect for relaxing, and enjoying the sea. You can take long walks on the beach. The sand is white, and the water is clear and turquoise. There are a lot of leisure activities offered: kayaking, catamaran sailing, apnea diving, etc.

During our stay, there were few tourists, so things were quiet, and we took advantage of the numerous services offered by the hotel with no waiting time. Shows in the evenings were for the most part entertaining. The club on the beach is a good place to loosen up come night.

The bar near the reception office is in my opinion were they mix the best drinks. They even serve them in real glasses sometimes. I recommend the piña colada. Delicious.

For Christmas supper, my dear uncles had the good idea to dine at Puerto Padre, the nearest town, a 30 minute ride. We ate at a place called Villa Odalis - Calle Cuba # 29, Puerto Padre, Las Tunas, mobile phone: 52841719 – the first privately owned restaurant in town, and its managed by a woman. The service was irreproachable and the food more than excellent. This restaurant is not part of the regular tourist circuit. It’s well worth the detour.
Making arrangements for getting there was however something. It took three days for the two hotel guides, Yvan and Luis, to arrange transportation to get us there. So it took some patience and determination. Of course, the hotel bus they booked to get us there “conveniently” broke down just before boarding. So we got three taxis to bring us there and back. No problema!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Calypsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    400
    231
    106
    73
See reviews for
266
377
80
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

After having read the reviews here, I was not expecting a lot from this resort. I was pleasantly surprised! Yes there is a 2 hour drive from the Holguin airport along bumpy roads but once you arrive you forget all about it!

We arrived at the resort just shy of midnight and there was sufficient staff to serve everyone efficiently and staff to bring everyone's bags to their rooms. The pool bar is open 24/7 so we could have a quick snack and drink before settling in.

The room - it was large, and clean. Dated yes but really does it matter? Beds were comfortable and clean. There is a small fridge and a room safe.

The beach - it was second to none! With such a secluded, small resort, it was quiet, clean, lots of chairs, lots to do - hobie cats, pedal boats, snorkeling and fishing. Shallow waters go on forever. Sand was beautiful and you could walk along the beach for quite a way. One of the best beaches I have seen!

The food - nothing to write home about but you will not starve. There is a chef out at a grill preparing food to order along with other items in the buffet for each meal. Bring your own peanut butter!

The staff - these are the people who will make or break your vacation! They were all - ALL - wonderful! Friendly, accommodating, helpful! Most of them speak English, French and Spanish. Everyone you passed smiled and said hello or good morning! Please bear in mind that these people get paid very little so they really do rely upon tips! A few Pesos is not going to hurt you and I but it helps them immensely! And yes, bring them toiletries, gently used t- shirts, toys for their children! One member of the staff said they shop for food once a month and clothes once a year! They are lovely, proud people! Treat them with respect!

The guests - the people were not the party hard - get hammered by noon crowd for the most part! There was a genuine sense of commradarie amongst the guests! Most were very friendly!

The water situation - this was an issue. Water is trucked in a few times a day so there were times when you had no water. Not great in the lobby and bar washrooms when you cannot flush the toilet or wash your hands - bring hand sanitizer!

Mosquitos - yup you have Mosquitos and sand fleas! You are in a tropical country, what do you expect? Bring some mosquito repellant.

By all means get a massage...or two! For 16 Pesos for an hour you can't beat it!

All in all I was not disappointed with this resort! The Inconvience of having no water aside it was an enjoyable, and most importantly, a relaxing week. I would go back again if I was looking for a week of R & R.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Scorchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovaManagement, Director of Sales at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

As usually and after reading the reviews in the tripadvisor about our resort (either good or bad) we want to thank you and all those who post their impressions for your support since we know many people look into this page to get ready for vacation time. As we have stated before we know for sure there is still so much to work on and with your opinions we will focus our everyday efforts to fulfill our clients expectations as much as we can.
Once again thank you very much. We will continue working in the water issue that has been affecting our area for some years now as we know for sure we have to give it a great priority.

All our best regards and we hope to see you back in the future.

Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were a bit nervous to book our trip based on the price, but it was amazing! The beach was absolutely beautiful, 50 miles of undisturbed beach. There was plenty of activities - catamaran, kayak, snorkeling. It was a quiet resort, with only around 200 people, so if you are looking for a party vacation, this is not the destination. However, if you are looking for somewhere to go that is peaceful and clean, this is the place.

Some people at the resort had problems with their water not being hot. I found the water was a bit cold in the morning, but by the afternoon it was very hot. My suggestion is to shower before dinner, and spend the day in the ocean. The ocean was clean and warm. Walk out about 50 feet and you can snorkel and look at coral. It was great.

The food was good. I don't know what people are talking about, but I never went hungry. Everyday there was fresh fruit and the bread was amazing. The buffet was good, sometimes i'd avoid the meat section, only because I wasn't sure what it was. My partner ate almost everything and never had one complaint. The desserts were ok, but i'm not a huge fan of desserts. Although the vanilla and coconut ice cream was delicious. The a la carte restaurant was very good and the burgers and fries from the bar were very tasty!

I met a lot of really nice people on this trip, some that had been to the resort many times (including an elderly couple who had been 15 times in the past 13 yrs!) We met one couple that goes for a month each year. The resort has a store with toiletries, so I probably would have left shampoo and body wash at home, because it was fairly cheap. The store also sold lots of different liquor and cigars at a very reasonable price. Make sure to bring your own playing cards, they do not have any at the resort.

The entertainment was ok. Everyday they had "crazy games" at 4 pm, which was bingo and some other little games. Every winner got a bottle of rum. At night, the entertainment - dancing, music, etc., started at around 9 and went to 11. There is a disco at the resort which was good as well.

The bus ride to the resort was 21/2 hrs. At first I was not looking forward to it, but turns out to be a great way to see the 'real' cuba. What an eye opener.

The staff were very friendly and our room was clean and tidy. Our hola sun rep was quite the character, very friendly. He spoke french and english. I was suprised how many people spoke french at the resort. Its very helpful if you speak french or know french, as some of the staff had a hard time with english. We had no problems with the room. We faced the pool but did not have an ocean view. It would have been nice to have an ocean view, but we were close to the bar/food and the ocean as we were right in the middle, rm 4226.

I'd definitely return to Brisas for another week. I was sad when I had to leave, but it gives me something to look forward to in the future. I've only been to cuba three times in total, staying at a 3 star and a 5, but this was by far the best experience!

Room Tip: rooms facing ocean quieter, not as much noise from the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank computron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovaManagement, Director of Sales at Brisas Covarrubias Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Guests,
First of all thanks for your review on the trip advisor page which we appreciate so much as this is s wonderful way to keep our clients updated about our services.
We know for sure we have still work to do in order to become better everyday but because of all the support and opinions we receive from our clients (good and bad) we know we can double our efforts and try to work better for our clients satisfactions.
Again thank and we invite you to come back again.
Hope to see you next year!!!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The title says it all! We have just arrived home after enjoying another great vacation in Brisas Covarrubias. I wont reiterate what the last reviewer says most about the hotel and a past review that I added after the hurricane.
We were there twice last year, one for the Anniversary of the hotel on November 18th and I must say the staff went "overboard" to make our visit something to remember. Following that we had already reserved the first week in December, so again we enjoyed a most memorable vacation.
To go to Cova is like visiting family for us. I could mention numerous staff members, but then that would not be fair because everyone deserves a pat on the back because of they treat you as if you were someone special - never forgetting your face and greeting with that friendly smile. If you are in need of help, and there have been many occaisions during our visits, always someone is there, not seeking tips or any special treatment.
So if you are thinking of Cova, try it. You are not going to find counters with abundant food choices, but the food is simple and flavourful. As others have suggested, you may want to take along some sauces etc.,
The road to the hotel has been greatly improved, but once you are there, it is well-worth the journey.
If you are looking for lots of stores, you are only going to find one on the resort which seems to be well-stocked. Other than that you will have to return to the little town of Puerto Padre some 45 mins from the resort. When tourists need to visit the town, sometimes a bus trip is organized dependant on the amout of tourists.
Yes, there are mosquitos and you can take your sprays or creams, but now the store is stocking a product that seems very good and cheap.
The rooms on the ocean are lovely,and at no time last year did we experience lack of hot water, only twice when a repair had to be made and then it was only off for no more than an hour.
Other than that, what more can I say, only we will be returning at the end of the year, we miss the dance classes (and if you are the only participant and in the older age group, you will be invited to join in the fun)so by the end of the vacation everyone will know your name.
Many thanks to the staff of Cova, we will see you at the end of the year!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank margarita12136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hi,

Just to let you know that you cannot read the bad comments and not think if you are doing the right decision with an handicap child or adult...Neethless to say this resort is AMAZING....the staff, from Security to Banker to the doctors or nurse they were the best people I have ever met...
My son went on to the daulphin he had a blast he still talks about it. The room super huger and clean, the food was out of this world. And I cant forget my Hola Sun rep Ivan, he is out of this world,

People if you have not been to Brisas Covarrubias yet please book now..

Nathalie and Maxim room 6226

Room Tip: 6226 right on the beach and behind the beach bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nathalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villafranca di Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The staff at this resort were extremely nice and helpful, they all made our trip unbelievable and unforgettable. This was our third time in Cuba (have been to Varadero and Cayo Coco) but this area was so secluded, with the most spectacular beach ever, we highly recommend it. It is a very relaxing place and we'd definitely return. Don't listen to people who complain about the food, or the lack of water... you're there for the beach, for the unbelievable Cuban culture and the music... enjoy the simple things that it has to offer, if you complain you'll never appreciate it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Salsaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Bus trip, not so bad, it is was about 2H15 minutes both way.

Beach: if perfect, (the only advantage of this resort)
The nice turquoise water of your dreams...
Easy access to coral for snorkeling, even with young kids (between 6 & 10 years old)
Able to view easily nice varieties of fish species.
....don't be to early though....mosquito are there until 9h30-10h00...and they are a ton's.
Kid got bites everywhere, bring after bite and off.

Water problems NOT Fixed:
We were there 7 days from dec.24 thru 31st 2011, miss water 3 day in a row!
Always arround 15h00 and up to 18h00-18h30 when your back full of sand and sun screen.
No hot water at all on 7 days! Got cold shower for eveyone every day.

Food is ok but always just warm.
Be at the buffet first thing, they have closed earlyer on two occasion!

Really small bed, we were four and we got three ¾ beds...you will be really close for the time being.
Poor Service in the room, broom only....does not worth the tip you leave them.

Pool: is derty, they can't keep it clean, cigaret butch, plastic glasses, paper....but then again guest are responsible of this one!

Compaired to our other trip, this is over rated at 3½ star.

From Sherbrooke, QC

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Yvan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Padre hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Padre
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
917.3 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
933.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
318.9 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Covarrubias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Covarrubias Hotel

Property: Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Address: Playa Covarrubias, Puerto Padre 77200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Las Tunas Province > Puerto Padre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Padre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Covarrubias Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisas Covarrubias is a cozy and intimate beachfront resort located on a long stretch of secluded beach with the same name in the north coast of Las Tunas province in Cuba. The soft powdery sand combined with hues of turquoise and blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean and surrounded by a coral reef makes the beach at Covarrubias one of the most breathtaking beaches in Cuba. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Covarrubias Hotel Puerto Padre
Resort All Inclusive Covarrubias
Brisas Covarrubias Hotel Cuba/Puerto Padre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing