We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing retreat!”
Review of Chateau La Mothaye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau La Mothaye
Ranked #1 of 3 Brion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Chateau La Mothaye, we stayed in the family room on the top floor, the room was amazing, very spacious and decorated to a high standard. The children had their own room, which makes a refreshing change to your normal family hotel rooms.

The surrounding forest and countryside is lovely, and we spent hours of fun exploring with the children looking for wildlife, we managed to spot Pheasants, Bats, Hares and a Deer, which the children were delighted with.

Erik and Rochelle, were very welcoming, they recommended some great chateaus for us to visit with the children and even ordered take out for us!

We were very lucky with the weather so were able to sit out an evening and eat dinner outside for a couple of nights and when the weather was not as good, Rochelle and Erik were more than happy for us to sit in the dining room and eat our own food even though it is a Bed & Breakfast.

I would definitely recommend the Chateau, we have already sent the link to our friends, with a view of returning soon, I am also looking forward to the self contained gites to be completed in the next few years as this will enable us to stay longer.

Can't wait to return! Thank you guys!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the family room in Chateau La Monthaye. We had a wonderfull stay there. The castle is splendid and Eric & Rochelle will do all the best for their guests to have all they need. The breakfast was very good but may be there can be some more local products from France like French cheese, paté ... To have a swim after visiting the castles of the Loire was very welcom. Eric also gave good tips for restaurants and nice visits in the surrounding. I'm sure we will go back to this beautifull place! Thanks for our nice stay;

Room Tip: Very big family room with two rooms, bathroom and sitting area on the 2nd floor. Not too hot in summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 450Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Myself and 3 other Female friends arrived at La Mothaye greeted by Erik with a friendly smile. We were so taken aback by the beauty of the whole place I think we didn't stop asking Erik questions. We stayed in the Giffard Chambre at the top of the house which was beautiful. Then straight downstairs to a cold glass of wine as a warm welcome from Erik to the Chateau. Erik was so informative about what we could do in the local and further afield area - it was brilliant. Breakfast was very hearty and very fresh - setting us up for the day. Erik was even kind enough to chill our own wine for us for us to have after a long day out visiting the area, no quibble that we were not drinking the wine that he could sell us. As all the other reviews its a beautiful beautiful place and well worth a visit. We didn't get to use the Swimming Pool as it was late in the day when we arrived back every night but it looked fab. Thank you so much to La Mothaye we had a wonderful stay and would hesitate to recommend and return ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at this spectacular peaceful retreat couldn't have be more perfect. We felt so comfortable, as though it was our grand home, and at the same time pampered as if in a 5* hotel. I stayed with my two children and after four nights we felt we should have booked for longer. La Mothaye's owners are effortlessly gracious. Due to spot-on recommendations from our hosts, we had wonderful local meals and enjoyed the area's abundant sightseeing activities. While it isn't in the heart of castle-hopping, it is located centrally to move about the Loire region easily in all directions. In keeping with Rochelle and Erik's ability to cover every detail, our breakfast was absolutely memorable. We found their chateau spotlessly clean and charmingly decorated. Relaxing in the sun-soaked pool after a long day became the highlight of our day. We want to extend our thanks to the Van Dyke family, for making us feel so welcomed and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyinnycchristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Le Château La Mothaye was our second place to stay this holiday,and it was really Fantastic!
Rochelle and Eric (and their 3 kids) are the perfect host-family,and they know the perfect visits in neighborhood !
The quietness of the domain and the beautiful rooms made it perfect for us!
we will come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

As we drove up the delightful drive, we knew that we had picked the perfect place to stay ! Erik and Rochelle, were outstanding hosts and made us feel instantly at home. Our room was beautiful, capturing the charm of La Mothaye, but with mod cons ! My daughter said that she felt like a Princess staying at La Mothaye, and so did I ! Especially when served breakfast, Erik bakes the perfect bread ! Relax by the pool, take a walk around the grounds or chill out in the lounge. Whether you are staying for a week or a few nights, you wont be disappointed ! We have already booked for 2013 !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for five nights in August with our two young children and really enjoyed our time in this beautiful chateau. Erik and Rochelle were superb hosts and went out of their way to ensure we were happy and comfortable. The chateau is beautifully furnished and decorated and the grounds are amazing and it's a lovely place to relax in or use a base to explore the area. We will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancynoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau La Mothaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Mothaye

Address: Lieu Dit la Mothaye, 49250 Brion, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Brion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brion
Price Range: $133 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Chateau in the Loire Valley. See the famous Loire Chateaux, discover the Loire, relax at the B&B, or more all from chateau La Mothaye in Brion, Loire valley, France. Chambre d'Hotes La Mothaye is an early 19th-century chateau which has been sympathetically restored and is now a beautiful Bed & Breakfast. It is a family-run business offering a superb venue for family holidays, a romantic getaway for two or a golfing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau La Mothaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing