We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a charming city”
Review of Garni B&B La Rua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garni B&B La Rua
Ranked #1 of 15 Pescocostanzo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel in a charming city”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The La Rua was a delightful hotel to stay in while in Pescocostanzo. Luigi, Guiseppe, and Elisa are wonderful hosts and the rooms are in excellent condition. You are about a one-minute walk from the plaza and the recommended restaurants are fantastic. Customer service is much more than a marketing theme at La Rua, and we felt welcome there. The breakfast and coffee brough to us by Elisa were excellent. Once you find the hotel on the tiny litle street you park the car and walk everywhere during your stay. We highly recommend the La Rua.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinseyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
153
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our favorite place on our whole trip to Italy. The B&B is run family style and we loved meeting Luigi, Guiseppe and Elisa. They were very warm and welcoming as well as helpful with suggestions for places to visit in the National Park and for dinner suggestions. They don't speak much English but it never interfered with having a conversation! Our rooms were clean and comfortable with great views. The breakfast each morning was basic but good. We did manage to drive there but actually finding it took a little doing. When we got close Luigi came out to help with parking. The town is beautiful and feels like "real Italy". We'll definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed at La Rua for a few days in February when I went skiing at Roccaraso, based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews, and I was not disappointed! As I was traveling alone, I particularly appreciated the warm welcome and hospitality that Luigi, Giuseppe and Elisa extended to me. There was so much snow in town that they came and picked me up from where I parked my car so that I didn't have to drive through the tiny snow-covered streets. I stayed in two different rooms; both were fairly simple but immaculately clean. Plenty of closet space and hangers! The reception area was cozy and had a fire going all day. Elisa had a fresh baked treat every morning at breakfast. I would have liked to stay longer but they were fully booked!, always a good sign! I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Room on top floor did not get wi-fi signal and it was a tiny bit chilly. The other rooms on lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

La Rua is a small, family-run inn in tiny Pescocostanzo. Our room was spacious, immaculate and comfortable with gorgeous views of the town and the valley below. Best of all were the hospitality and friendliness of Luigi, Giuseppe and Elisa. They gave us wonderful suggestions of places to visit in the nearby Abruzzan countryside and showed us the best routes to take to the most interesting areas in the national and regional parks that Pescocostanzo borders. When we had a problem with our debit card, Luigi made several phone calls to the card company and ATM provider to help us figure out what was going on and what we could do about it. Giuseppe pulled out his computer and helped me find the right Italian vocabulary for talking to the local bank. They went above and beyond to help us with this problem which was way above my Italian!

Pescocostanzo is a beautiful village with friendly people, a lace museum, a history of local art and gorgeous architecture. A ski resort in the winter, it was peaceful and lovely in late April. It has the advantage of bordering the Majellan and Abruzzan national parks, regional parks and lakes, all of which offer opportunities to hike and commune with nature. I hope we have the opportunity to return to Pescocostanzo and La Rua.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walklans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stunning place for a great rest, lovely countryside and a beautiful village. Just loved it here. You have to sit in front of the fireplace in the lobby. Time went just too quickly on this trip. Have to come back and chill out even more.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Excellent B&B, old mountain fashioned style but comfortable. The room (n.44), with a lovely view over the valley, is very clean and tidy and stocked with towels, free view tv, hair dryer, informative book about guest house and the main restaurants of the town, shower gel. The bed is comfortable and we enjoyed a restful night sleep without any disturbances. The guest lounge with an open fire is a nice touch to cheer up after a whole day on the ski slopes. Wi-fi is both in the lounge and in the room.
The location is perfect - town on the doorstep and countryside in two minutes.
The breakfast is worth particular note for quality. It was very pleased with the variety and freshness of the home made cakes, biscuits and jams. Simply put, an outstanding breakfast!!
Anyway what is more impressive than anything else is the friendliness of the owners - good cooks too. We received a warm and enthusiastic welcome. Every effort was made to ensure that we had a pleasant stay, starting from the willing to help bring luggage from the car park. They are friendly and most accommodating, giving us much very useful information and recommendations about the area. It is a very homely place to stay with a great respect for your privacy as well.
This is a beautiful house...perfect hosts...definitely worth every cent although we did not find it was too expensive.
A very pleasant stay, indeed!! We shall return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adriana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night only and it was all you could hope for in a hotel. We were welcomed with a warm handshake and sent off the following morning with a generous breakfast and helpful information. The town is tiny and lovely. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pescocostanzo
0.1 mi away
Le Torri Hotel
Le Torri Hotel
#3 of 5 in Pescocostanzo
59 reviews
3.2 mi away
Garni Il Riccio
Garni Il Riccio
#1 of 25 in Roccaraso
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vallefura
Hotel Vallefura
#1 of 5 in Pescocostanzo
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Gatto Bianco
Il Gatto Bianco
#2 of 5 in Pescocostanzo
84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cipriani Park Hotel
Cipriani Park Hotel
#1 of 6 in Rivisondoli
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garni Lo Chalet
Garni Lo Chalet
#8 of 15 in Pescocostanzo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni B&B La Rua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni B&B La Rua

Property: Garni B&B La Rua
Address: Via Rua Mozza 1/3, 67033, Pescocostanzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Pescocostanzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Pescocostanzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Rua" An oasis in a corner of paradise More so than ever before we are seeking a place to regenerate our souls, either with little distraction from the outside world as we get back to unspoilt nature or with our hearts pumping on ski slopes blessed with a abundant snow. La Rua, in the heart of Pescocostanzo, is that oasis in a corner of paradise in Italy's central Abruzzo region. La Rua is placed a few steps from Pescocostanzo's picture-perfect Piazza Municipio. It is the ideal place for guests seeking a hotel with all the modern comforts inside an ancient stone building with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Internet WI-fi free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garni B&B La Rua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piccolo Albergo La Rua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing