We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a jewel of a restaurant”
Review of Il Setaccio

Il Setaccio
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 1, 2015

My husband and I ate at Il Setaccio this past fall. It was the Italian dining experience that people dream of: a tiny restaurant, the husband in the front room, the wife in the kitchen - which was separated from the dining room by a curtain. The menu was limited and that, for us, was great because we knew that everything was a well-tested house specialty and made to order. We had the ravioli (which were the best we had ever had anywhere - so light and delicate, almost like little puffs) and the gnocchi which were equally delicious. We started with house-made pickles and finished with tart. The chef came out to greet us and was kind enough to listen to our bad Italian when we complemented her on her wonderful food. Silvano, the husband in the dining room, was a wonderful host, sweet, attentive, and appreciative of our business. The wines and after-dinner drinks were local and delicious. We had such a wonderful time that we returned for a second dinner, equally good. We return to Pescocostanza every 3 years to visit family and will definitely return to wonderful Il Setaccio. Thank you to the Di Geronimos for two memorable evenings.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 60750Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2014

Very nice comfort food. The ravioli was the best and the grilled sausage was just the right compliment to the meal. It feels like eating at your Grandmother's house!

Date of visit: September 2014
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

What a great experience! The owner came over and told us the four options - polenta, ravioli, tagliatelle, or gnocchi. We had the polenta and ravioli on his recommendation and the recommendations of the locals outside the restaurant. The ravioli was homemade and amazing, filled with ricotta cheese and topped with delicious porcini mushrooms. The polenta was creamy and delicious and topped with an excellent tomato sauce. We were daunted by the offer of a second course because we were so full, but we asked about vegetables and had chicory - a very good decision - it was perfect, nutty, and delicious. All of this and a quart of wine came to a very reasonable 36 euros. We loved the experience and recommend it!

Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice local food and wine in a great cosy atmosphere. Enjoyed the food a lot and service was friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterB162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The husband came out and told us what menu items were available that evening, freshly prepared by his wife. I believe we ordered them all and thoroughly enjoyed this outstanding example of fresh, homemade Italian cuisine. The price was very reasonable and the overall experience was excellent.

Date of visit: September 2012
Thank kinseyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Setaccio also viewed

Pescocostanzo, Province of L'Aquila
Pescocostanzo, Province of L'Aquila
 
Rivisondoli, Province of L'Aquila
Pescocostanzo, Province of L'Aquila
 
Rivisondoli, Province of L'Aquila
Pescocostanzo, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to Il Setaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing