We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
UY Proa Sur Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Yeruti(La Paloma)
$650
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
$126
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portobello(La Paloma)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Tuna(La Paloma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Garzon Lodge(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
41
109
57
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
109
57
9
5
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 221 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The building itself has great potential but the hotel turned out to be way too shabby for the price we paid. We were looking for a comfortable hotel and found instead almost inexistent wi-fi connection, tv not working, no hairdryer in the room (???), malfunctioning sauna etc. I also noticed that the room was not very clean and in the bathroom one of the plugs was torn off the wall.
The staff was friendly but way too relaxed and inexperienced. After 20' wait I had to go and collect myself the hairdryer from the lobby and there was no single word of excuses from them. It seemed that the staff was there by chance.
Not at all a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Parking is outside; No roof. We have requested to restart wifi 3 times, air conditioner was not working in the first room, so we requested another room. Swimming pool is smaller than shown in the picture...
Hotel is pretty new, but maintenance and cleaning is not its best point.
There is solar water heater... So the hotel is GREEN... But sometimes hot water pressure is not good.
Receptionists are not nice at all... It is low season, the hotel is empty. We arrived 2 hours before check-in time and she requested to come back at 3 o'clock. They have everything to be a good four star hotel...however they need to improve maintenance, cleaning and the reception to make it a nice and neat place.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank thedreamerMontevideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The room and the property were clean and functional. The bed was large and comfortable, but the rest of the room was quite small, little more than enough floor space to put your feet down after getting out of bed. The wi-fi signal was very weak in the room, although wi-fi worked well in the large sitting area in the lobby. The breakfast was good quality, but the selections were limited.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retrofuturistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was almost like returning home when we checked into Proa Sur in La Paloma - again during the off-season. On this visit we had time to enjoy the heated indoor pool and the sauna, so our stay was even more special. And breakfast was as good as we had remembered. The multi-grain "media lunas" are excellent, and as a tea drinker I appreciated the warmed tea pot filled with boiling water! The orange juice was freshly squeezed! Our room was spacious enough and the bathroom modern and clean. Again, we enjoyed the view of the lighthouse from our window and rested well. Parking at the rear of the hotel is safe. You can say "hello" and give a pet (and maybe a little piece of the ham from the breakfast buffet) to the owner's dog who sleeps in the parking lot.

Room Tip: If you would like a view of the lighthouse from your room, ask for something facing the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having traveled extensively in Uruguay, I've had a lot of experience with hotel breakfasts. Proa Sur in La Paloma stands out for their special croissants: two in particular, the multi-grain and a special sweet one. Try both if you decide to stay here. The hotel's location right near the lighthouse is charming, and even though we had a room with a lighthouse view, and even though the lighthouse light was on all night, our sleep was not disturbed because the light was steady - not revolving. We simply closed our heavy curtains and the light was completely shut out. We had our beautiful view and a good night's sleep. The staff was polite. Although the room was not a large one, it was large enough. Bathroom was a bit small too, but all very modern, clean, and attractive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews