We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Friendly and Off the beaten Track”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zen Boutique Apart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 La Paloma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Owned and operated by an Australian couple this small hotel is on a small road across from a very long sandy beach. The rooms are large, have nice kitchen and large picture windows facing the street, a couple of houses, the dunes and the ocean. There is a parilla on each balcony and the hotel offers wood and kindling at no charge if you want to BBQ. Pay the extra few dollars and book a second floor suite. The bathrooms have either jacuzzi tubs or massage showers. Breakfast is included and served in your room. The place is relatively new and still very clean, open and airy. The owner was still working on the deck construction around a small swimming pool behind the hotel. Beach access is across the street. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grivola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 425 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

Tamara and Andres have made a nice modern style accommodation here on the west side just outside of La Paloma. Across the street from the beach (not directly on the beach, so if you must have a direct view of the ocean do the upper units – for us it didn’t matter) they have parking, great parillas (bbqs) with wood provided, kitchens in the units, ample room : couch (pull out bed) and seating area (table and 2 chairs) and small deck. A nice breakfast is included and is brought to you in the morning on a tray: coffee, tea, juice, yogurt/kefir style, media lunas (croissants), bread, cheese and ham. The pictures, descriptions etc on their site are accurate.

The best part of Zen (besides the stylish accommodations) is the owners: Andres (native-born Uruguayan) and Tamara (from Australia originally) – very open and generous people and eager to talk about Uruguay, the area (other small towns to see, where to get groceries, etc), why they chose La Paloma, their project there (pool planned and more…), the culture etc.

The days we were there (off season) were pretty cool, foggy and a bit of rain. Tamara was great in recommending to us to go to Cabo Polonio even though the weather was not optimal – the benefit – she pointed out, was that there were less people and you see it in a less touristy state. This was fine for us so we drove and took the trucks in and had a fine trip despite the weather. Andres helped us get our fire for the parilla going to cook our meat for dinner in a pretty hard wind.

We would have loved to have stayed longer to explore this area: the Rocha.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenLaPaloma, Owner at Zen Boutique Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Hi Normatea

Thanks for the lovely comments! Glad you enjoyed your stay. It was great fun having you both here, we were both very proud to see you using the BBQ - well done!

Thanks for the photos too - I love the way the breakfast photo came up, I´ll have to try and do something like that for our website.

Take care
Andrés, Tamara and the Zen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Zen hotel is an beautiful stone construction of European design character. The immaculate rooms are spacious, have their own stone BBQs & balcony that overlook the ocean. The ocean, just across a small road, is so close you hear the waves day & night and literally can watch whales from your room. We saw whales in the first 5 minutes. The hotel is just outside of the city center and easy walking distance or free bike ride to anything in town. They serve you free breakfast in your room and have all the comforts of home.

However, the best part of our 4 night stay was the owners and their staff. They are absolutely dedicated to helping your experience in La Paloma be all that it can. They patiently answered so many questions, helped arranged extra circular activities and services. Everyone always greets you with a smile, ready to help you with anything you may want or need.

When we return to La Paloma, we will only stay at the Zen for comfort and world class service!

Room Tip: All Rooms are great and all rooms face directly onto the ocean and beach from its own private balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mccann99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenLaPaloma, Owner at Zen Boutique Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Thanks guys! We had a lot of fun having you guys here. I still can´t believe you spotted the whales in the first five minutes! We look forward to seeing you again so we can show you how to make a Uruguayan Asado.
Happy travels!
Tamara, Andres and the Zen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I had a great get-away-from-it-all in late August at the Zen Boutique Hotel. The hotel is clean, the perfect size, wonderfully located near the beach and the owners were incredibly friendly and supportive of whatever your plans were. I saw lots of wild life close to the hotel, whales, penguins, seals and a plethora of birds.

Room Tip: All rooms had great views, it was in a very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJDuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenLaPaloma, Owner at Zen Boutique Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Hi PJDuffin
Thanks for taking the time to make a review! It was great having you here, and hopefully you´ll both be able to come back when you next need some r&r and a break from the city. I think that you´ll hold the record here for distance walked for quite awhile!
Hope to see you again
Kind Regards
Tamara, Andrés and the Zen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Found our new home away from home in La Paloma. Located on Playa Anaconda and just a few minutes from town, Zen is a brand new hotel with every amenity you could imagine. From your own personal parrilla, bikes, beach club complete with kayaks and surfboards and a staff that is always smiling and available. Great value - kid friendly but also could make a nice, romantic getaway without the kids. We enjoyed the included breakfast from our balcony overlooking the beach watching surfers and kite surfers. Great for relaxing & enjoying nature.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippMaxAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenLaPaloma, Owner at Zen Boutique Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

Hi TrippMaxAustin
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is really relaxing here - great place to get away and unwind. Glad you found your home away from home.
Look forard to seeing you next time.
Tamara & Andres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

It's certainly worth considering Zen hotel for a more comfortable beach side stay. Rooms are well furnished beyond what you would encounter in the best of hotels, staff (usually the owners) are flexible and keen to help and the surrounding area is a quiet sanctuary that will have you relaxed in no time. Some nice touches here include the complimentary breakfast delivered to your room whatever time you wish for it, the bikes and surf boards available for use and the great big asado/bbq all ready to go. A few points you should consider though.. 1. They do not accept credit cards - either when you are looking to book or when you arrive at the hotel. This would be understandable if prices were sub $50 a night but at a touch under $200 a night, the inconvenience of having to pay in cash is both unnecessary and just commercially silly. 2. You are 30-40 minutes walk from restaurants/bars/shops so prepare to use taxi/bike quite a bit. 3. Staying in the hotel is staying in a family run intimate set-up - This is, of course, preferable for most of us but for some who who prefer a more formal business like service they may feel a little claustrophobic. All in all.. a pleasant spot.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apres...Help...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenLaPaloma, Owner at Zen Boutique Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to do the review, glad you enjoyed your stay in La Paloma. It was great having you guys here - always nice to have some English speakers around.
Best of luck with everything.
Kindest Regards
Tamara, Andrés and the Zen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank GabrielaPaparamborda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paloma hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Yeruti
Hotel Yeruti
#2 of 5 in La Paloma
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
UY Proa Sur Hotel
UY Proa Sur Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Paloma
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Complejo Turistico Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cara Colomba
Cara Colomba
#6 of 44 in La Paloma
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Eduardas
Las Eduardas
#2 of 44 in La Paloma
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Viola
Hotel Viola
#6 of 20 in La Paloma
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Boutique Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Boutique Apart Hotel

Address: Calle Botavara | Playa Anaconda, La Paloma 27001, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Rocha Department > La Paloma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in La Paloma
Price Range: $87 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zen Boutique Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Zen Boutique Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing