We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, on the beach, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hostel La Balconada
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Spent 4 days here with my husband in a dorm and would have stayed longer if there'd been time.

The cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in - I swear the shares bathrooms were cleaned 4 times a day.

It was a 10 step walk to the beach and a great restaurant, and a 10 minute stroll into town.

Staff were helpful and spoke great English which is always a bonus, and the set up of the communal areas were such that you couldn't help but get to know everyone staying there.

Powerful showers, strong wifi and a well stocked kitchen tick all rhe boxes too. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leerotbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

Loved this hostel from the moment we turned up and they paid for our taxi from the bus station. Staff are friendly and I've never seen such a clean hostel. The large, shared bathrooms were cleaned at least 3 times a day!!

Breakfast was all the fresh fruit you could eat along with fresh bread and jams and wifi was strong throughout the building.

Great communal areas both outside and upstairs and the kitchen was well equipped if a little small.

It's about 10 steps to the beach and a ten minute walk into town. The dorm was airy, clean and spacious with (helpful) individual lamps on each bunk.

Couldn't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damejules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

A nice hostel right on the beach (a sand dune prevents a sea viewbut it's basically still on the beach!)

Good vibe to the place and a nice lounge area upstairs. Our 4 person dorm was clean and nice enough.

The kitchen is full of flies but I noticed there are a lot of flies in the places we stayed everywhere in Uruguay! They definitely need one of those fly trap machines here though!

Staff really friendly and chilled out. They spoke good english and were helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Eat-Drink-Explore-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The staff are excellent. The atmosphire and socal scene is very good. The rooms are quite small with no AC or fans. Very hot..... The party starts around midnight and goes unitl about 4am. If you want quiet or sleep, this is not the place for you. If you want to meet others and have fun, go for it.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I am traveling with two other women and found this hostel to be a very refreshing change from the disappointing Che lagarta hostel in Montevideo and the other two hostels we had considered booking in la Paloma. The hostel has a very laid back atmosphere, excellent breakfast and spotless rooms. You are at the foot of a small dune leading to the white sand beach. The best restaurant in town is also perched on the dune steps away. We added an additional two nights here and had a friend staying at another dive hostel in the trees change to our accommodation. Santiago at the front desk was genuinely friendly and bent over backwards to accommodate our friend and add nights to our stay. I'm beginning to feel trip advisor is a much more accurate barometer of quality hostels than lonely planet!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vietbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The good was all the backpackers got together each night and had a huge BBQ and had a great time together. The bad....They are NOT on the beach as they say they are across the street and up a sand hill. Its not a big deal but it is also not on the beach as they say.
The DBL room that we had had bunk beds and you can touch the other wall from your bed. The room is about 10 x 5 feet. Hard to turn around no tables or hooks so your backpack is just on the floor. You do get a locker.
The kitchen has a few pots and pans and is full of flys.
But all that said we had a great time.
Not much of a town as well.Oh they did make a huge bon fire each night as well, Kind of nice.
Maybe a little ugly....1 yes 1 computer for everyone to share and it has a bad screen.NO WiFi

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I was looking for a chilled spot to hang out for a few days and I found it at this hostel in La Paloma.

Firstly they pay for your taxi from the bus station (not that it's so far to walk). It's located just a block from the beach and 10 minutes walk from the 'town centre'.

I had a 2 person dorm to myself for 4 nights so I suppose $15 wasn't so bad for a private room, I think it's a lot for a dorm but such is Uruguay. It's more expensive still in high season. The place was really empty due to it being low season. There was never more than 3 people staying here during the time I was there.

Maybe because of this lack of people it was incredibly relaxed. Felt like I was just hanging out at a friend's house. The staff/owners were all friendly as were the various hangers on who would come by to share a mate (tea) and chat.

A basic breakfast of fresh bread, fruit and coffee was provided.

The bathrooms weren't kept that clean but with only 2 or 3 people staying it didn't get that bad.

I can imagine the hostel and the town would be completely different in high season when it becomes packed with local, Argentine and Brazilian tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paloma hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Terrazas de Costa Azul
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palma de Mallorca
Hotel Palma de Mallorca
#1 of 5 in La Paloma
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yeruti
Hotel Yeruti
#2 of 5 in La Paloma
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Araza
Hostel Araza
#1 of 54 in La Paloma
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Cruz del Sur
Hostel Cruz del Sur
#8 of 54 in La Paloma
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
UY Proa Sur Hotel
UY Proa Sur Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Paloma
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hostel La Balconada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hostel La Balconada

Address: La Paloma, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Rocha Department > La Paloma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty Lodging in La Paloma
Price Range: $34 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Beach Hostel La Balconada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing