We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and delightful food”

Zanzibar Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Le Marin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

We are live aboard sailors based in Le Marin. This was our second visit and no less exceptional than our first! Highly recommend it for exceptional food in an upscale yet casual Caribbean ambiance. Food is well prepared and presented and delicious throughout. Ti Punch was uniquely presented here too.

Thank gmnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZANZIBARMARIN, Gérant at Zanzibar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2018

Thank you so much for your advise !
See you a next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 900 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

Tried this because of the reviews and was not disappointed. Beautiful fine dining establishment that accommodates families, yachties in shorts with backpacks, and well turned out couples dressed for a special meal (we are in category 2). Fine, elegant, yet unpretentious. The food and service are top flight (and priced accordingly). I fab the daily special which was dorade (Mahi-Mahi) which was two generous and perfectly Fripp filets on a potatoes au gratin pedistal. My wife had the pork tenderloin. Both were amazingly flavorful, tender and lovely. For an upscale dining experience, this is worth the money.

Thank BorregoSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZANZIBARMARIN, Gérant at Zanzibar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Thank you so much. We are glad you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

We had lunch At Zanzibar last Saturday. We really enjoyed the local cocktails and the food which was delicious and well presented. The atmosphere is pleasant with soft music and great views of the Marina if you are lucky enough to get the right table. I was not so lucky so when it came to dessert time and the restaurant had almost emptied, I asked to move to a table near the front to enjoy the sea view at the end of our meal.The waitress refused, saying she had to reset that table for the evening service. It was a bit of a disappointment at the end of an otherwise very enjoyable experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZANZIBARMARIN, Gérant at Zanzibar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Thank you so much Isabelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Reading some of the other reviews I was a little bit apprehensive when I booked a table for my husband and I. I must say we had a wonderful meal with appetizer of crab and a very well prepared steak for main course. the view is wonderful and staff were attentive. well worth a trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZANZIBARMARIN, Gérant at Zanzibar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Thank you Evelyn for your opinion. See you a next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

For the price charged this restaurant is really mediocre. My stuffed crab starter was very ordinary. A " caribbean bouillabaisse" was little more than an overcooked fish stew. However their piece de resistance was my wife's scallops with tagliatelle and squid ink. In fairness the scallops were excellent but the tagliatelle with squid ink had been substituted by spaghetti with pesto. When this was pointed out the first reaction was to claim this was correct. When we asked to see the menu the story changed and it was claimed that the whole of Martinique had run out of squid ink. No apologies, no offer to adjust the bill to reflect the clearly inferior dish. We left without considering dessert.

1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZANZIBARMARIN, Gérant at Zanzibar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Richard, we are every day of use 10 to 15 crabs stuffed by Brigitte, is about 600 a month, and it for 5 years. You are the 1st to find them very ordinary!!!
And it becomes "Horrible" to replace of the at present unavailable squid ink in Martinique by an excellent pesto house, developed with the basil and the fresh pine nuts of an upper cost price!
What an intolerance, what a misunderstanding of the constraints of the supplies islanders!
We are not in Paris, in London or in New York, we are happy to live simply in Martinique and work every day with passion for the pleasure of the largest number.
We serve more than 30000 meals a year, and in 5 years, you are the 17th to have this opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Restaurant also viewed

Sainte-Luce, Arrondissement of Le Marin
Le Marin, Arrondissement of Le Marin
 
Trois-Ilets, Arrondissement of Le Marin
Sainte-Luce, Arrondissement of Le Marin
 
Le Marin, Arrondissement of Le Marin
Sainte-Luce, Arrondissement of Le Marin
 

Been to Zanzibar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing