We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in Peaceful Surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pausania Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pausania Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tempio Pausania
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel in Peaceful Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel, just on the outskirts of Tempio Pausania, in countryside, in August. We stayed for 16 nights. The room was spacious, with a lovely shower room and complimentary toiletries in case you had forgotten your own. The beds were very comfortable. Both breakfast and evening meal offered plenty of choice, with usually a fish choice for the second course in the evening and always vegetarian options.
This hotel is special because it is family-run and the family obviously care deeply about their hotel and their clientele. All of the staff are friendly and welcoming.
We particularly enjoyed being away from the coastal bustle in the evenings but being able to drive to the beaches easily on the very quiet rural roads.

Room Tip: Ground floor doubles/twins overlooking the tennis court are spacious with a large shower room and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, let us thank you for describing our inn as "special because it is family-run and the family obviously care deeply about their hotel and their clientele". It is certainly true that we care about our hotel and clientele: that our passion for the job and interest in our guests' comfort and happiness shined through makes us very proud!

Also, we appreciate your thoughts on the advantages of "being away from the coastal bustle in the evenings but being able to drive to the beaches easily on the very quiet rural roads". We understand the short drive from our inn to the seaside resorts may be a problem for some, but we genuinely believe (and have always believed) that choosing an inland location like ours also holds many advantages for our guests. We are very happy you feel the same way. We want guests to choose us "because of" where we are and what we can offer as a result, and not "in spite of" where we are. So thank you for taking the time to review our inn and for your positive outlook.

Please come visit us again when you get a chance to. We would be honored to give you the best service we are able to provide!

Best regards,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    128
    58
    11
    8
See reviews for
61
152
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a ten day visit to the Pausania. The hotel is set amongst spectacular mountains about 40 minutes from the nearest beach at Isola Rossa. The cooler mountain temperatures (22 degrees) made a very welcome change compared to the beach temperatures of above 30 degrees. Our room was a good size with a little outside terrace shaded under a cork tree. The town of Tempio is about a 10 minute walk away and is very traditional and non-touristy which we found lovely. We chose the half board option at the hotel and were very pleased with the quality and quantity of the 3 course evening meals. The price of a decent bottle of local Sardinian wine was about 10 euros, which we thought to be reasonable for hotel prices.The hotel staff made us feel welcome and were extremely hard working. If you are looking for a real taste of Sardinia this is the place to come!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlady198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

We’re delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you appreciated the perks of our hillside resort within driving distance of the beautiful Northern Sardinian coast. Providing our guests with value for their money and making them always feel welcome is precisely what we strive for: reading your review has made our day!

Please come visit us again when you get a chance,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel food is excellent. Room large with beautiful view. Peaceful garden area for pre/post dinner drinks. Hotel staff attentive but not intrusive.

A hotel for guests that want to explore the island (beach 30 mins away) and have a peaceful location to return to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyonholiday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for what you had to say about our inn. That you and your family chose us to begin with and that later you were happy with your choice means so much to us. Please know that we would love to have you stay with us again in the future, should you return to Sardinia.

Sincerely,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Pausania Inn located just outside the town of Tempio Pausania is clean, spacious with friendly staff and good food. Every room has an Air Con which in the hot summer months you will need, a shower with plenty of hot water, a television with SKY albeit there are few English speaking channels available. However, there was no kettle or small fridge in the room.
The restaurant is large and spacious with English speaking waiting staff who certainly in my view were hard working. polite and provided an excellent service. Breakfast is provided and to cater for the numerous nationalities who use the hotel there is plenty of choice, from cereals and fruit, scrambled eggs, cold meats to pastries and biscuits There is a lunchtime menu available providing snacks and alcoholic beverages as well as as other drinks. In the evening the choice of food was either from a fixed menu consisting of a two/three course meal for 18Euros p/p, depending on what you want to eat or an a la carte menu with more variety.
There is a large clean swimming pool which after a day out in the sun is a welcome sight, but guests should be aware it is also open to locals.
One day a large group of well behaved local teenagers arrived at the pool occupying almost every sun lounger. When hotel guests later turned up many were unable to find anywhere to sit.
If you are sociable person looking for more to do in an evening this hotel might be too quiet. While we spoke to fellow Brits we found the Italian tourists spoke very little or no English and tended to socialise between themselves.
The town of Tempio has plenty of bars but surprisingly we struggled to find a restaurant, which might suggest why the hotel guests choose to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz730873, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

How wonderful that you enjoyed the food, views and peaceful gardens on offer at out inn! We hope you also enjoyed our outdoor swimming pool, which is indeed a sight for sore eyes after a long day out in the sun (and a great alternative to the beach for those who wish to take a break from driving). Locals seldom occupy more than a few spots on the poolside loungers, but to prevent overcrowding in the future, and to ensure that hotel guests get the best service possible, non-guest admission will be monitored more closely and better regulated from now on. We hope you will choose to visit Sardinia and stay at Pausania Inn again soon!

Sincerely,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

We spent 2 1/2 weeks traveling around Sardenia in the early part of July. I chose Tempio Pausania because as our one inland town. And then I was sorry that I did. The beaches and towns are so spectacular all around the coast, that this destination just did not seem worth the time it took to get there. The town itself is full of charm and not touristy at all, and a wonderful place to sample true Sardinian specialties.
However, I found Pausania Inn to be pretty soulless and rather just practical. I was missing the beautiful flowers and flowering trees and shrubs that landscaped all the other hotels we stayed at in Sardinia. There wasn't an inviting bar or lounge area for a pre-dinner drink. And the room decor was U.S. motel-style at best.
I go for charm and style over functionality any time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronninyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethvargiu, Proprietario at Pausania Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Hello Ronni,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Although we always aim to do well, we realize there are times when we may fall short of our guests’ expectations. It’s people like you who remind us how important it is for us to continuously improve our service. Suggestions from our clients help us push our professionalism further and make stays at Pausania Inn increasingly pleasurable.
We are delighted you enjoyed visiting Tempio, which, as you pointed out, is indeed an off-the-beaten-track location. We firmly believe that visiting our small community is a great way to get acquainted with Sardinia’s more authentic spirit, which is often overlooked.
We will take heed of all you have written about Pausania Inn, and hope you will one day have a chance to stop by again and see that we have found the ingredients you think are presently missing.

Thanks again and best regards,

Vargiu Family
Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

This Hotel was absolutely lovely, it was set back in the mountains so was very quiet and relaxing. The Rooms were big and have little balconies overlooking the cork fields which was very pleasing, although the walls are quite thin and unfortunately we had a crying baby next to us for the last 2 nights but the rest of the time it was fine. A lot of the staff spoke English and very very helpful and approachable.

Its just outside the little town of Tempio, a charming town with lots of character, a few bars and few restaurants all scattered around a central square, lots of pizzas!!the only downfall was getting back to the hotel after dinner- the only way back is along the very windy main road where there are no pavements and no street lamps so pitch black! which, as a result made us drive the town for dinner rather than walk the 1K,

The closet beaches are a 40 minute drive away but the roads are windy so its quite tiring, its definitely worth a visit to the beaches a little further away too like Santa Teresa, beautiful.

I would definitely stay here again, its lovely to have a bit of both- beaches and mountains, and very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sukisue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

The owners have put a lot of thought in to the running of this establishment. The food is excellent, service exemplary, rooms very good value. Tempio town itself is picturesque and there are many attractions a short drive away. Very highly recommended. We have now stayed twice and will return again next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthPammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempio Pausania
4.4 mi away
L'Agnata di De Andre
L'Agnata di De Andre
#1 of 3 in Tempio Pausania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
53.7 mi away
Isola Rossa Resort
Isola Rossa Resort
#2 of 15 in Bosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
124.5 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
#2 of 15 in Castelsardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
22.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
25.7 mi away
Speraesole
Speraesole
#16 of 40 in Olbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pausania Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pausania Inn

Property: Pausania Inn
Address: SS 133 Km 1, 07029 Tempio Pausania, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Tempio Pausania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tempio Pausania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pausania Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by the Vargiu family, the hotel is located in Tempio Pausania, in Sardinia, one short kilometer from the town center. Immersed in the peace and quiet of Gallura's wooded countryside, Pausania Inn is an ideal base from which to explore many destinations in Northern Sardinia, and it is especially suited to visitors who are looking to enjoy a vacation away from the hustle and bustle of seaside resorts. Surrounded by lush Mediterranean vegetation (including cork oaks, myrtle, and lentisk), the hotel greets you with stunning views of the Mountains of Aggius. Pausania Inn comprises 60 air-conditioned rooms, simple and unfussy, but furnished with care; some have a private little garden or a balcony. On arrival at the hotel, you will immediately be delighted by the beautiful views from its common areas. In the large lobby, you will find books by local authors describing the Sardinian heritage, maps and brochures for you to take, and a charming display of costumes, masks, textiles and other local crafts. On site there is a bar, a restaurant specialized in regional and national cuisine, a panoramic terrace, and a nice outdoor swimming pool. The hotel also has a tennis court, and a large parking area, which can accommodate up to 150 cars, as well as big tour buses. Friendly atmosphere, attention to detail, discretion and dedication to hospitality are our trademarks. The beauty and tranquility of the surrounding countryside, as well as the warm welcome and the attentive service of our staff, will make your holiday with us a source of many cherished memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pausania Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Tempio Pausania
Pausania Inn Tempio Pausania, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing