We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Hadrians Wall plus fantastic views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haydon Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed four nights in the Cart Shed at the end of April six adults and baby and found that we all had plenty of room,three double rooms each with en suite ,large sitting room with panoramic views and well equipped kitchen . Owing to the cold weather the under floor heating kept the building at a constant warm temp . The 1980 s office blinds in all the rooms are dreadful they dont shut out the light at all ! One other thing i noticed was that noise was a problem when children had gone to bed and adults were talking in the sitting room , so that might be a problem for some parents after a bottle of wine or two !! All in all we had a most enjoyable stay with the bonus of being so close to Hadrians Wall

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 67 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Dave and Jackie excellent hosts. Cart shed has three en-suite rooms. Was B&B now you can rent the whole place! Kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, dryer (although clothes can dry overnight on the clothes pulley). Towels, hand made soap, small marmalades and raspberry jam - all the little touches that make things special. Sustainable water and doing all they can to sustain the environment - an extra plus.

The weather outside was freezing but the place was cosy with stove and under floor heating.

Jackie and Dave great with kids - showing them the new lambs, making a farm stay really worth it. They explained how everything worked in the cottage - even for us late arrivals.

Lots of things to do - recommend the roman museum before the Vindolanda.

Over all one of the best easter breaks we have had.

Thank you Dave & Jackie

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Grindon Farm! It is within a few miles of the main sections of Hadrian's Wall, Saxon sheep folds, major battles and 4000 year old burial mounds. A history buffs paradise.
The accommodation was very comfortable and Jackie and Dave have just switched from B&B to self-catering, which it is perfectly setup for. Jackie and Dave couldn't have been more helpful with offering us local knowledge about the best places on the Wall to go to and even looked interested to hear about our days adventure when we got back of an evening.
Grindon is a working farm and at the end of the day to sit and sip a whisky watching the countryside and the sheep from the large windows was truly restful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in the converted cartshed after an arduous walk over the central section of the Hadrian's Wall path, and we were blown away by how lovely the accommodation was, and how friendly the owners Jackie and Dave were. We felt truly taken care of, and we had the whole living room area to ourselves which has excellent views looking South, as well as some chickens and sheep just in front. The fact that they do food there makes it very convenient, though it was a little bit expensive for what it was, hence the 4 stars instead of 5. Nevertheless, we had an excellent stay, and would recommend anyone to go there and hire out all the rooms for a family or friends stay. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed in the b&b during a charity walk of Hadrian's wall which is very nearby so I didn't have time to explore the area. It is a very relaxing and attractive conversion with a conservatory style communal area overlooking the lovely countryside although some walkers may prefer the old repeater station b&b up the road. The room was well stocked with drinks and lovely biscuits and I liked their obvious attention to ethical & organic tourism.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesignerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Old Farmhouse and our New Zealand family were looking forward to experiencing a famous northern welcome. However, if what we experienced is typical of what travellers experience - give me a southern welcome any day! Yes, we understand that the owners were away, but it is a farm with sheep and chickens needing to be fed and watered so there must have been someone to stand in for them to care for the human guests also. But no one greeted us or even called to see us at any time during our week's stay. There was no tea, coffee or milk left for us which we thought would be standard - it certainly was in Devon and Cornwall where we were also left home-made cake and a bottle of wine!
Having said that, the barn conversion was very comfortable and warm, with basic items provided. The view from the living room was wonderful and ever-changing. A great place from which to tour the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a beautiful farm! Quiet and peaceful with gorgeous views.
Jackie and Dave are wonderful hosts. Jackie served us a delicious dinner and Dave made a great breakfast.
We stayed at the Cartshed and were the only guests there so we had the living room to ourselves. Sitting on the comfortable sofa and looking through the down-to-the-floor windows, it was like a dream looking at the view, watching the sheep and hens - and the weather shifting.
There must have been very gifted architects and interior architects who have designed the place, it is very attractive indeed.
Jackie and Dave are admirable people who do their utmost for their guests and to run the farm in the best and most environmental way. We wish them all the best in the future and highly recommend a stay at Grindon Farm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydon Bridge
8.3 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
6.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
704 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hadrian Lodge Hotel
Hadrian Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
94 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Reading Rooms Bed & Breakfast
4.0 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse

Address: Grindon Farm, Haydon Bridge, Hexham NE47 6NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Haydon Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haydon Bridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Grindon Farm - Cartshed & Old Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have two beautiful barn conversions situated in the picturesque and tranquil Northumberland National Park. We offer self catering accommodation and the cottages have cosy wood burning stoves.Both cottages offer panoramic views down the Tyne Valley.The Old Farmhouse has two en suite bedrooms and sleeps 4 people. This cottage is wheel chair accessible.An extra folding bed is available.The Cartshed has 3 en suite bedrooms and can sleep 6 people. This cottage is suitable for less mobile guests.Well behaved pets are welcomed in both cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing