We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insight into Roman Life”

Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.80*
and up
Rosslyn Chapel and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Insight into Roman Life”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We were surprised by the Housesteads site it is really well preserved and interesting especially with children. Our daughter was given a trail for which she received a certificate at the end. The only downside was the trek uphill in the wind, beware it gets cold up on the hill.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pearly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    372
    86
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable little secret”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We came across Housesteads Roman Fort on our way to Hexham Tourist info centre for Hadrian's Wall. We are very glad that we stopped here instead. After a bit of a trek up the hill to the former fort we enjoyed the near 360 degree views of the beautiful surroundings. We started in the museum. Although greeted by a very enthusiastic member of staff we did not glean a great deal of info. It would be more suitable for children and those new to Roman Britain events. The fort itself was interesting and contained very informative plaques about the various buildings. We also took the chance to walk part of Hadrian's Wall.

Overall, worth the money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comet, Qld
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A great place to get the feeling of the wall”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My first visit 6 years earlier was in misty rain. This time it was a lovely day. I enjoyed it on both visits. Yes, it's a bit of a slog to get up to the wall but worth it. Of the sites I've visited, this is the one that gives the best impression of the size and height of the wall and the layout of the forts. I feel like I can imagine the soldiers and the daily life going on around me. The museum and video presentation are also excellent and worth spending the time to do them justice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fort”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is the best Roman fort and ruins I have ever seen. If you like this sort of thing then its a must see!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FIFILEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is an excellent site, almost as good as the nearby Vindolanda site but you should visit both if you're in the area.

It's a fair walk from the carpark but well worth it, and there are some stunning views of the Wall and Northumberland from there too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall also viewed

 
Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing