We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good site - free for National Trust members”

Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.60*
and up
Rosslyn Chapel and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middle England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good site - free for National Trust members”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Probably one of the most complete forts - everything laid out, including the toilets. Quite a hike from the car park, but new visitors centre and museum were interesting. Mix in with a stroll along the wall makes a good half day

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiddleEnglandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    349
    77
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing views.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The view was amazing. A fantastic site which we visited for about two hours. The walk up to the fort wasn't too bad with a 4 year old boy. Well worth the trek. Only downside was the 4 pound parking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dion74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fun and beautiful walk up the hill.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hard to believe how old this Roman fort is. It is a good hardy walk in a sheep pasture up hill. Beautiful view from the top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dball23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING VIEWS”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have visited several points along the wall already from Wallsend to Carlisle and now in our retirement years intend to walk more often through this beautiful part of the world. We did not know that on the day we were visiting that fees had been waived for the day so that was an added bonus although would have had no problem with the $5.60 pensioners rate as thought it would still have been worthwhile. In addition there is a £4 parking fee but as this is for all day and can be used at any of the sites along the wall then it can be very good value if you want to cram a lot into your day. The reception area is good with facilities but thereafter, unless you are very ambulant the you should not visit here as the fort is a fair way away up hill. For those fitter people the experience is tremendous with stunning views and a well preserved roman site. We visited on a nice day but I imagine it could get quite bleak so plan your visit accordingly. We will revisit here again as it is an ideal spot to walk those parts of the wall that are best preserved ( that we have seen so far anyway). Vindolanda will be our next port of call which I believe will be a full day as two separate sites involved there .Back to Housesteads we could see many walkers bypassing the fort which stands on the wall and which in 174 AD was the foundation stones for commencement of the building of the wall so steeped in history. Walking either way should be good but that is for our future visits. We travelled east and approx. 5k stopped at a spot where there is a well preserved Mithratic Temple not far from the car park. I would suggest that from here to Housesteads and back would be far enough to venture for a ramble.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DARGEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What did the Romans ever give us??”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brilliant - now I want to walk the whole wall!! Worth joining the National Trust or English Heritage just for Hadrian's Wall alone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mackem56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Northumberland, England
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Housesteads Fort and Museum - Hadrian's Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing