We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Anchor
Nearby Hotels
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
$176
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$155
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
$207
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
73
49
10
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
49
10
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe riversunday lunchfish and chipspuddinggreat foodbig portionsdefinitely worth a visitbirthday partyseparate dishesroast beefbest steak i have ever hadleft feelingoutside arealovely friendly staffsit outsidebreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 151 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here after ladies day at Hexham. The food was excellent as always. Staff did a great job of serving everyone despite the large numbers. Food tastes fantastic and is great value! Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I cannot rate this place highly enough. It was first rate all round.

When you come in it is basically a pub so you won't get a massive fanfare, but the bar staff/landlord deal with checking you in. They were so nice and the poor young girl behind the bar who took us to our room even helped me lug my heavy case up the stairs!

The room was quite small but plenty big enough to house all the things you would expect to find in an hotel and it was light and airy. The building is Victorian and all the features have been lovingly restored. They have seemingly put in brand new bathrooms and the shower was really good. The room looked really pretty with some lovely finishing touches and the bed was very comfortable.

There is a restaurant just off the bar which is the second home for the locals and their dogs - all of whom were really friendly. There was lovely banter but not to the point where you were left feeling like the 'stranger in these 'ere parts'. It had a nice ambiance to it.

As for the food...........wow. It was absolutely beautiful. I enjoyed a plate of the freshest fish and vegetables. The fish and sauce were perfectly seasoned and it was piping hot. The chef in this place can REALLY cook. I was blown away by it. You get really good sized portions and it is food that would grace any top restaurant, I haven't had anything that good in a very log time. Add to that a gorgeous freshly cooked breakfast - using meat that has clearly been delivered from the local butcher, a decent sized cup for my tea in the room and we are talking major winner here.

Fantastic value for money, comfortable rooms (bed was lovely), excellent food....what is not to like? I won't hesitate to go back there and I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo123Mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The anchor hotel is a lovely place. The staff were so helpful and kind. Stayed in their family room which was clean, quiet and comfortable. The food (breakfasts and dinners) were excellent, good value for money, great taste and good full plate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baelathlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you happen to be in the area on a Sunday don't miss the opportunity to try The Anchor's Sunday Roasts. Fresh meat, huge portions (we couldn't even finish our small ones), plenty of colourful vegetables, massive Yorkshire puddings, delicious gravy, and a really friendly service. Also love the place for its history going back to 1422.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SilvieFisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed overnight after a wedding at Langley castle. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and the service was very good. Doesn't look much from the outside but good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews