We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and plenty of space”

General Havelock Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

The salmon dish was lovely and cooked to perfection.
The chips are delicious also along with the cod dish were very tasty!
Worth a visit!

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Adventure2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

We have had 2 Sunday lunches here recently and have been blown away both times! No vegetarian option advertised but they have been happy to offer one. Plenty of veg and cauliflower cheese came with the meal too. Great customer service and a lovely terrace outside by the river. Recommend booking as it gets busy.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank amberlauren1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Very nice bar & restaurant. Most of the clientele obviously knew each other, but we did not feel like out-of-towners.

Had a meal in the restaurant on our last night and because I asked for a small portion, we were only charged half price, which was a really nice gesture.

It has a lovely setting right on the river.

Can recommend.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Raeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

A really excellent Sunnday lunch. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks to the chef who produced a special dish for one of our party with specific dietary requirements. The meats were lean and delicious and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. Lovely to see the restaurant and bar busy which speaks volumes regarding the quality and value.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

If you are in the area, do not miss the Havelock Inn. The proprietor Jo and her husband chef Gary run a lovely, welcoming place.

We stopped in to try the local ales, which were delicious. We highly recommend both the Rivet Catcher and the Shuggy Boat. There are always at least two local ales on tap. We also had a couple of excellent sandwiches, one made with local cheese and tomato and the other with locally sourced crayfish.

We discovered that it was 'movie night,' so we returned for dinner. For 10GBP you get dinner and a movie. That night the film was de Sica's Bicycle Thief, so the chef made a wonderful vegetable pasta dish. Then you are served homemade ice cream in a homemade coronet. The strawberry ice cream was scrumptious, fresh and full of flavor, and the coronet was delicate and crisp and not too sweet. Perfect! There were about 20 guests, and I believe we were the only non-locals. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

We came back for a second dinner in the lovely dining room with a view of the river. It was a memorable meal. We started with a luscious crayfish cocktail in Marie Rose sauce. Then we had rack of lamb, which was locally sourced and just delicious. For dessert my husband had sticky toffee pudding, which he says has set a new standard.

There is good wine by the glass and a good, if modest, list of bottles. We can recommend the Lebanese red- sounds unusual but it was perfect with the lamb.

The pub has a wonderful welcoming atmosphere. Thanks Jo and Gary!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marycontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Havelock Inn also viewed

Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
 

Been to General Havelock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing