We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“loved it”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris D
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Cosy,warm and comfortable cottage,50 yards from the cliff top,stunning views.Loved the log fire.
The kitchen is well equipped and the beds are very comfortable.
5 minute walk to the beach and the pub.
I will be stopping here again,ideal base for walking.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny R
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful, restful holiday cottage, perfect for a relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We cannot understand the tone of the previous two reviews.
1. The access by a track is perfectly possible to negotiate with a small car (ours is a Ford Fiesta) Of course you need to go slowly and carefully, as well as access for farm and cottages it is also a footpath, bridleway and cycle track - part of Cycle Route 1.
2. Parking - no problem, either beside the house or on the concrete area in the garden.
3. The garden is a wildlife garden so don't expect it to look like a suburban lawn and garden. We enjoyed the wild flowers, birds and insects that frequent the garden.
4. The cottage was clean to a high standard. We enjoyed the cottagey feel and do not expect everything to match. The doors are the original doors, but it is still cosy, and the heating is there at the flick of a switch. Give it half an hour and you're warm as toast! It's not a palace, just a modest holiday cottage which we found delightful. Everything we expected was there and we had no need to go out and buy anything that we considered should have been provided.
5. The walk into town. Yes you need to be fairly fit, but the name 'Cliff Top Cottage' gives you a clue. I am 71 years old and it took me just 20 minutes to walk down the cliff path - or steps - and up the steps into town. The bus service is brilliant and stops at the bottom of the path, near the Ship Inn, or at the end of the lane if you want to avoid going up or down hill. Even my husband, currently with a bad ankle injury, managed the walk into town - though it took him a bit longer! (We only used the bus when we had shopping to carry back or were going further afield to enjoy the walk back along the cliffs.)
6. Local walks along the cliff, to Staithes or beyond, or north along he beach to Redcar are stunning. The cottage is situated virtually on the Cleveland Way National Path.
7. The town is a Victorian gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry you did not feel you could recommend this cottage to others. We review all feedback that is provided to us and take the appropriate actions.

We have discussed this with the property owners and they feel they would like to provide the following response :

The owners deep clean this cottage once per month in addition to the 3 hour changeover clean by professional cleaners provided between bookings. They use equipment such as the latest Dyson and steam cleaning equipment, they move everything and clean, wash and wipe from top to bottom.
They have recently decorated the lounge area and had a new bathroom and kitchen fitted.
The comments in relation to the potholes, steep hill, steps and location are all outside of the owners control but are well documented by your description.
Feedback provided direct to Sykes is good and scores are always positive.

We are sorry if you feel this property was not to your expectations but neither Sykes or the owners direct were informed of any areas of dissatisfaction so we were unable to help or assist in rectifying these comments at the time as we would have liked to do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bruce s
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Gave up & went home after 5 days”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
10
people found this review helpful

Cliff Top Cottage

Ok let’s start with the good points of which there are few, a newly fitted bathroom looks to be in evidence very modern & fitted quite well. The views from this cottage are nice & the area is away from any road/resort noise that’s about all I can say for the benefits of this cottage.

Now for the bad points & there are many:
1. The approach to this property is via a gravelled track it was said to be maintained it is not there are many pot holes to traverse & they are impossible to avoid so bring your 4X4.
2. The garden is overgrown & looks severely neglected you must be sure of foot if you venture into it, I myself decided not to risk it, the second parking spot in this area is only suitable for a very small vehicle as there is inadequate space to manoeuvre a vehicle onto it. A neighbour who I canvassed an opinion likened the garden to a wasteland.
3. Planters around the property are just full of weeds with extra weeds growing in the entrance making the look on approach very unwelcoming along with two bins either side of the door which was not evident in the advertised pictures.
4. The kitchen is old & requires a total re-fit there is little by way of kitchen utensils the flooring has a few loose fitting door mats & loose vinyl floor runner just laid over the original flooring vinyl which could cause a trip hazard. There are several pans available for use but the frying pan is something else if you tried to fry water it would stick. The top drawer of freezer is unusable as it is iced up & requires a thorough defrosting & a good clean. The cheap & nasty table runner is filthy & stained it does not inspire you to eat from it. There is little by way of cleaning products bar a little washing up liquid but no cloths/sponges/mop we normally leave a cottage as we found it on this occasion because of the latter we could not.
5. The living room is fitted out with furniture which can only be described as the cast offs from a refuge & very uncomfortable to sit upon, some of this furniture looks to have been re-upholstered in a very amateurish fashion. The curtain rail is barely fitted to the wall with rubber bands at the end to stop the curtains from coming away completely the whole arrangement looks to be ready to hurl itself to the floor. There is a tiny tv perched on a wooden shelf & in order to read the sub titles you would need the sight attributed to superman the tv would perhaps be ok if it was situated in a VW campervan. The starter pack of fuel for the fire is a joke & only consisting of a small amount of kindling which would probably burn away within 60 minutes.
6. The bathroom whilst being quite new the shower system is very poor indeed the pressure of water could be likened to that emanating from a watering can, most unsatisfactory.
7. All in all a very uncomfortable cottage & not consistent with the normal standards one could expect from this type of cottage.

I would add that we were invited into the next door cottage also a holiday let & found the fixtures & fittings there far more superior to those we were having to endure.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing