We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just got back from a golfing weekend for 8 people, the weather was kind, the course was in great condition & the hotel was superb.
Me & my Son shared a twin room No 9, spacious with all the usual amenities, the evening meal of smoked salmon fishcakes followed by lamb shank was very tasty.
Sunday morning breakfast was the usual full English although you could opt for lesser meals, but why skip a plateful before a round of golf, went down a treat!
Saturday night was a bit raucous due to not only a wedding reception being held there but the England game in the world cup.
The staff are excellent and very polite nothing seems to be any trouble.
Any negative comments you see about the course are completely unfounded, the tee areas are well marked, fairways are good, and the greens are true & in excellent condition.
Everyone said how much they enjoyed it and would easily recommend to anyone wanting a stress free golf weekend.
Popped in for a bite to eat in the bar after the Sunday round, good food in there too.
Brilliant weekend, thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EH-Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We will pass on your mouth watering comments to the kitchen team as they are always eager to receive feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic experience as this is what we try every day to provide for our guests here at Hunley. We hope to welcome you all again very soon.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 453 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

My two daughters took myself and my wife to Hunley Hall for afternoon tea.It was my wife's birthday. it was the first time I had been here,why did I wait so long?. The afternoon tea was first class, the setting is beautifull, lovely views.My granddaughter is getting married here in December, I can't wait. We will be staying for the night, so I will get a better perspective of the Hotel.I am sure it is going to be great. Staff were very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanmfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you, for taking the time to write your review. We totally agree Alan, why did you wait so long to visit us :-). We are really pleased to hear that you thought our afternoon tea was first class, and we can’t wait to be part of your granddaughters wedding in December
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our golf society travelled to the Hunley hotel in Brotton, the rooms, food, service and golf course were all of a very good standard. So often there is one aspect of a tour that falls short, yet on this occasion the staff were very friendly, professional and did everything to make us feel welcome, the rooms were excellent value ( even free wifi) the meals were all served quickly and of a great standard and the golf courses were in great condition. Thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room with strong wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you Kieran for taking the time to write such a glowing report. We are really pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay & that all aspects of Hunley exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you all again soon.
Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was my Mum's 81st birthday and we wanted to visit a traditional seaside village, so Saltburn was perfect and the Hunley Hall Hotel was perfect in every way for us. The beds were super comfortable, the food was delicious and plentiful and everyone of the staff were genuine, pro-active and made us feel important. It is so nice to find a hotel where the customer is put first, and this is exactly how we felt. It was very good value and my Mum will never forget her lovely birthday, because of all the little things you did. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms close to the top car park which were really spacious and very comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ursula1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you Ursula for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you chose Hunley; it was our good fortune that we’re only a couple of minutes drive from your favoured destination of Saltburn. It is a fabulous seaside town - that only the lucky have discovered. We really pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service, so when we read guest reviews like yours, it really gives the team here a real boost and the incentive to keep creating memorable moments. So thank you again and we really hope you visit us soon and maybe before your Mum’s 28th birthday ;-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Myself and 19 others just got back from washed out golf weekend at Hunley Hall Hotel . Played 36 holes over the Friday Sat and Sun , had 72 holes booked . Weather was foul . Spent lots of time in the bar , all of us abit fed up but made the most of it . Staff helped absolutely wonder full . Thanks a lot girls

Room Tip: Gave 1 spot for fitness and swimming , wasn't any need to be deleted good hotel great staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you David for taking the time to write your review. I will pass on your kind words to the team, as they always appreciate feedback. I’m sure if they could have had anything to do with the horrendous weather the full country had that weekend, they would’ve made sure you all had sunshine. We look forward to welcoming you all back & hopefully the sun will play its part too :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just come back from a 3 night break with 2 kids and dog. Hotel was excellent value for money - room was enormous. Breakfast was lovely. Can't fault the hotel. Shame about the festival in the nearby hotel that was really noisy - but this had nothing to do with Hunley. Nor was the accidental fire alarm!. If you play golf this hotel must be perfection as the course looks great and the views are lovely. Bargain. Would have been good (for us) if dog was allowed in the bar - but totally understand why he wasn't. Staff all very nice. Could easily get another star with just a few coats of paint.

Room Tip: Sea view room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doxables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The golf courses are hugely appreciated our golfers (especially when they’re playing well ;-) and they’re in great condition as well enjoying the wonderful coastal views all the time. We’re currently working our way through a full refurbishment programme in the hotel and have only a few final bedrooms left to do, so I’m confident that next time you visit (and please do bring your clubs) you should be able to add that additional star :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a 2 night golf break. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and the meals were delicious. We had a room at the front overlooking the golf courses and the sea. It was very spacious, and spotlessly clean. The golf courses are in very good condition, and having a different course to play each day was even better. All in all, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are really pleased to hear that you got to experience what Hunley is all about, which is delicious locally sourced food, clean & comfy rooms, fantastic golf courses & more importantly our friendly staff :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
236 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
7.7 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range: $88 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi. Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels. Hunley also benefits from a self catering property that sleeps upto 6 guests in 3 en-suite rooms. The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop. Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel
Hunley Hotel And Golf Club Saltburn-By-The-Sea, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing