We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break and excellent value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Belper
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely break and excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just come back from a 3 night break with 2 kids and dog. Hotel was excellent value for money - room was enormous. Breakfast was lovely. Can't fault the hotel. Shame about the festival in the nearby hotel that was really noisy - but this had nothing to do with Hunley. Nor was the accidental fire alarm!. If you play golf this hotel must be perfection as the course looks great and the views are lovely. Bargain. Would have been good (for us) if dog was allowed in the bar - but totally understand why he wasn't. Staff all very nice. Could easily get another star with just a few coats of paint.

Room Tip: Sea view room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doxables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The golf courses are hugely appreciated our golfers (especially when they’re playing well ;-) and they’re in great condition as well enjoying the wonderful coastal views all the time. We’re currently working our way through a full refurbishment programme in the hotel and have only a few final bedrooms left to do, so I’m confident that next time you visit (and please do bring your clubs) you should be able to add that additional star :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    108
    37
    18
    8
See reviews for
70
137
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a 2 night golf break. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and the meals were delicious. We had a room at the front overlooking the golf courses and the sea. It was very spacious, and spotlessly clean. The golf courses are in very good condition, and having a different course to play each day was even better. All in all, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are really pleased to hear that you got to experience what Hunley is all about, which is delicious locally sourced food, clean & comfy rooms, fantastic golf courses & more importantly our friendly staff :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel was lovely. All staff we encountered had good manners and we're happy to help etc. the view from our room was stunning. Everything about our stay here at Hunley was excellent. Will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The golf courses are hugely appreciated our golfers (especially when they’re playing well ;-) and they’re in great condition as well enjoying the wonderful coastal views all the time. We’re currently working our way through a full refurbishment programme in the hotel and have only a few final bedrooms left to do, so I’m confident that next time you visit (and please do bring your clubs) you should be able to add that additional star :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Food excellent, staff most courteous, in fact they could not do more, Room was an upgrade with sea view, most comfortable. Professional golf services highest quality, very informative. The golf course was in excellent condition a pleasure to play, tribute to the hard working green staff. We will be back. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Advise the booking staff @ reception and they will endeavour to oblige to your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainsley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you David for taking the time to write your review. I will pass on your kind words to the team, as they always appreciate feedback. I’m sure if they could have had anything to do with the horrendous weather the full country had that weekend, they would’ve made sure you all had sunshine. We look forward to welcoming you all back & hopefully the sun will play its part too :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very disappointed, was nt what we expected at all, is nt like it looks on website. We went in 2 couples, we paid for a basic double room the other couple paid extra for a sea view room. When we got there both rooms were exactly same apart from in the more expensive room the TV did nt work

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had hoped. Looking into your comments, I understand that you had been upgraded you to a sea-view room free of charge so that you would be accommodated next to your friends and I can only apologise that you weren’t told this when you checked in. We do hope that you will visit us again and I’m sure you will enjoy a much more enjoyable stay next time.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This golf course hotel is about 20 miles north of Whitby and worth the drive. It is quite, the
setting overlooking the ocean is beautiful. Rooms are very large, comfortable and recently refurbished.
Staff is very very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room overlooking the ocean (we had room 27)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyBrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have to agree the views we enjoy over the spectacular coast line are amongst the best around. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished bedrooms, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We spent last Sunday and Monday at Hunley Hall celebrating our friends ruby wedding anniversary and a special birthday and just as on our last visit had a wonderful time.
The service was first class and we will be back for another visit very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are so pleased that you chose Hunley to celebrate your friends and family’s special occasion and that you enjoyed such a memorable experience. We hope you won’t leave it too long next time :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. The public areas at Hunley Hotel have been refurbished in 2010.It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi.Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels.The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop.Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel
Hunley Hotel And Golf Club Saltburn-By-The-Sea, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing