We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent stay would recommend to anyone service, room and food fantastic.
The room was very clean and newly decorated. I couldn't say a bad thing about the food on both nights . Amazing stay thank you

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroldavison6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food, the chefs take great care in producing fresh locally sourced dishes, so always appreciate excellent feedback. We are so glad you liked our newly refurbished bedroom, we are more than half way through refurbishing all the rooms so its nice to hear that guests are enjoying them :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    108
    37
    17
    8
See reviews for
70
134
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We did not have a very good introduction to the hotel (very much a golf club and not a hotel) as they were refurbishing in the next door room and drilling on the adjoining wall. It was also freezing cold as the radiators had not been turned on. However, the room itself was very spacious and potentially comfortable but soul-less and full of dark furniture with no settee (illustrated on-line). There were no bedside lamps or lamp on the desk/computer/dressing table area and we found we had to move the beds to enable us to switch the overhead lights off when retiring, which meant that we were then far from the bedside tables and headboards (fixed to the wall). The bed linen was tired and the valance had not been fitted properly. The staff were brilliantly efficient and speedy and the food very good (both breakfast and evening meal) and reasonably priced. The breakfast is definitely worth the money. The dining room was equally soul-less with worn furniture but the food and staff made a visit worthwhile. It is understood that a refurbishment is being undertaken but in the meantime, we were not offered any reduction for our room.

Room Tip: Book a reburbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 60roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very much taken on board. We really appreciate your positive feedback on staff efficiency and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the full yorkshire breakfast & your evening meal. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience due to the refurbishment our bedrooms, we only allow work on the rooms to start after 9am and to finish before 5pm, however as a result of your comments, we have amended our procedures to maximise communication and minimise inconvenience. With the vast majority of the hotel (bedrooms, bar and Brasserie) refurbished within the last couple of years, our programme will be complete within the coming few months and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Hunley in due course to stay in one of our newly refurbished bedrooms and that you’ll enjoy the perfect stay.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have often struggled to find a nice hotel in the Middlesbrough/Redcar area in which to stay on business, especially as I often find myself booking at short notice. The Hunley Hotel was recommended to me by a colleague, so, discovering that it was under £50 for bed only, and that three rooms were available, I decided to give it a try.

Check-in was seamlessly efficient and soon we were in our rooms, spacious, spotlessly clean and adequately equipped: mine (Room 4) had a 6ft bed, an electric heater, plenty of large-sized bath towels (not obviously worn), Tea/coffee, TV, free wifi - and views over the Golf buggies on charge outside!

Having considered the matter carefully, I managed a run round the circumference of the Golf Course, which undulates enough to make it a decent work-out! Try it!

There were interesting beers in the bar and we found good food served in the restaurant that evening. The Lamb Shank would normally serve a family of four for Sunday Lunch! The wine selection was fair, and not severely over-priced. Service was quick and the staff friendly.

Check out was equally quick, though the receipt was e-mailed to me in a format that I could not open! If I were to change anything, I would separate the power points from the other electrical circuits in the room. The problem with the key having to be in the holder all the time if you want to charge your laptop battery or have the heating on, is that whilst you are not in the room it is getting colder and your laptop is not being charged. A small detail, but an irritation otherwise, in spite of which I will probably go back here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like you took our phrase ‘breathtaking views’ literally with your run around the outskirts of the golf course. May we suggest for your next visit (for a small increase in your room rate) a stay in one of our newly refurbished and much larger executive rooms where you can enjoy the fantastic view without having to put on your running kit. Thank you for your feedback on the email version of your room bill, we have tweaked our system so that all emailed invoices now go out in either Word or PDF formats to make them easier to open. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were looking for a base for as couple of days walking along the coast and found an excellent deal here, with good reviews on tripadvisor so decided to go for it - a great choice. Ideal location, high quality accommodation, very friendly and helpful staff and great food as well. Shame they couldn't do anything about the fog on the first day, but they worked it for the second and it was great to be able to walk all day from the hotel. Highly recommended. Ian & Julie

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SheffieldIan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello Ian & Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are very glad you chose us for your base to walk some of the beautiful coastline right near Hunley on the Cleveland Way, you really couldn’t be nearer such an exceptional walking route. While we take great pride in ensuring that we are friendly & helpful to our guests, the team really must have pulled out all the stops to get the sun shining for you on the second day of your stay :-). Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Have visited lots of Hotels in the north of England for similar afternoon teas and this is without doubt the best. Excellent value and excellent food. Staff very friendly.When we made the booking, the lady said that she would reserve the table near the window in the Morgans bar. Sure enough the table was next to the window and we had an excellent view across the golf course and the coastline. The occasion was a family birthday celebration which we all enjoyed and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chick60Middlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Our team of chefs will hugely appreciate your feedback and for you to think our afternoon teas are the best they will be very happy indeed. We couldn’t agree more that a lovely tea overlooking the spectacular coastline is a great way to celebrate a special occasion. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future :-)

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel and grouns are located near to Saltburn by the Sea. Staff very helpful, friendly and warming - certainly recommend this hotel to future customers. We stayed here on a golf break, food exceptional.

Room Tip: rooms with a sea view are exceptionally nice to look out on
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are really pleased to hear that you will be recommending us to family & friends. Our team in the kitchen will be very happy to hear that you thought the food was exceptional. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl Shilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely location, superb views, & of you're a golfer it's a winner. Good cooked breakfast, at a price.
Now the bad news: fire alarm sounded at midnight, no fire marshall or officials to guide guests, no idea when safe to re enter building, just took a chance on that one. On every level it was a terrible example of how to handle an emergency situation.
On the lighter side of complaints, the beds are far too soft to be comfortable, the overall decor throughout needs updating, the shower curtain smelt very damp & musty, and the television in the room was far too small.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissdorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to the usual high standards you would have expected from reading other guest reviews on Tripadvisor. I apologise that our Night Manager missed you when assisting other guests back into the hotel. As a result of your comments, we have amended our procedures to ensure that our night managers are more visible to guests and ensure that all guests are safely returned to rooms once the building has been cleared should a similar situation happen again. Your safety is our primary concern. With respect to the decor, over half our rooms have been refurbished in the last twelve months and we are currently working our way through the remaining bedrooms so amongst other improvements and upgrades, shower curtains are being replaced by shower screens and televisions are being upgraded too. Having said the above, we are pleased to hear that that you enjoyed your full Yorkshire Breakfast, the location and the views. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back with a happier experience some time in the future.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
475 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.6 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. The public areas at Hunley Hotel have been refurbished in 2010.It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi.Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels.The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop.Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel
Hunley Hotel And Golf Club Saltburn-By-The-Sea, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing