We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views but even more wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed here on business over 7 or 8 times over the last few months, the rooms are always clean, fresh and well presented. The bathroom is always fresh too and quite new, no dirty black marks around the bath here where the sealant has seen better days! The breakfast is always very, very good. I have eaten in the restaurant too several times and it is always very nice. The staff though are something else again. What an amazing team of friendly, helpful, diligent people. They always smile, greet you and are helpful. From reception staff, managers to the most wonderful bar and restaurant lady you could imagine; warm, kind and wonderful. I cannot praise them enough. I have had to stay else where occassionally and I have to say I dread it, because nothing locally compares.

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 5 and 6, 7 and 8 all have lovely sea views and it is an amazing panorama
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoyaIngbirchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 463 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spent an overnight at Hunleys while working in the area.
The room was clean and well maintained, the bathroom very new and sparkling, with a great power shower and nice deep bath.
The food was very good and excellent value, note the "Jenga block" sized home made chips,which are served in a chunky stack. Lovely
The meals were served in the clubhouse which was a bit noisy and loud, probably not ideal for family dining.
Overall a great stop-over if you find yourself working in the area, or if Golf is your game.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philstreet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a great location with excellent rooms, great views very friendly staff and good food, the golf course had obviously suffered due to the long cold wet winter but nevertheless was enjoyable. Would come again.

Room Tip: ground floor golf course view is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location & the excellant staff always make the buisness trip more enjoyable. Everything about Hunley Golf club is in my opinion hard to better when coupled up with the beautiful weather which we had last week. The staff are always very freiendly & helpful & go the extra step to ensure you enjoy your stay. Excellant value for money & i will definately stay there again & would have no problem recommending it.

Room Tip: Executive rooms with seaview are excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful location,great golf course and greatv views, Course looking good but tees need updating,
Accomadation very poor,rooms need updatind. Public rooms are old fashioned,
Club house out of date ,
Staff helpful but not hotel trained .
Breakfast ok,bar snacke need some updating as does menu ,r

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The friendly helpful staff, beautiful location, well appointed spacious clean rooms and lovely food make this a perfect base for the Saltburn/Whitby area and we can't wait to come back again in August !

Room Tip: If you can grab a sea view room you will have stunning views across the golf course to the sea and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited the restaurant and didn't stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly and concerned about our visit and welfare. the restarant was empty - on a Saturday lunchtime; so it's a good time to go. We were attended to quickly and waited whilst our food was cooked. The quality of the food was outstanding although the portions wouldn't suit a big eater. We were quite satisfied with what we had. the price reflected the quality of the establishment and the food. The views around are excellent. Our visit was on a cloudy day but on a sunny day they would be exceptional. The goods train which goes to the potash mine looks like a model railway in the enormous grounds. Well worth a visit for the restaurant and views.

Room Tip: Sorry. Didn't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
574 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
252 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,162 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
21.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range: $91 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi. Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels. Hunley also benefits from a self catering property that sleeps upto 6 guests in 3 en-suite rooms. The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop. Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel
Hunley Hotel And Golf Club Saltburn-By-The-Sea, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing