We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Reasonable prices, no silly extra charges, large well furnished rooms with comfortable beds, friendly service all enough to get the hotel a good rating. But what really pushed it was the location looking out over the east coast, the howling gale and driving snow made the setting even more dramatic.

Might be full of golfists and wedding parties at weekends

Room Tip: Ask for a sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoredScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    114
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
75
143
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a lovely nights food was excellant plus room first class would definitely reccommend this hotel to stay at.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.The veiws from the hotel were excellant the golf course looked ecellant

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_gutteridge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We chanced upon the Hunley Hotel when we were visiting friends in Stockton. We were giving a friend of ours a lift to Stockton but due to the adverse weather conditions we got snowed in, the staff welcomed our friend and didn't make a fuss or charge us extra when he had to stay with us. Instead they provided extra towels, tea and coffee etc.
We also had dinner in the restaurant on Friday evening the food was excellent and despite us not spotting the special on offer when we ordered the meal, the waitress informed us of the special so our meals were cheaper than the printed menu price.
The only complaint I have was that the heating in the bar area needed to be increased as it felt a bit nippy due to the inclement weather outside. However, I didn't mention it at the time and I'm sure if I had informed the staff they would have responded to my request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

At a time when some rest and recuperation were needed by my partner and myself we returned to my roots at Saltburn by the Sea. This was our first stay at Hunley Hotel but we didn't want to leave. We had a lovely suite with views over the golf course, sea and cliffs. We stayed early in the new year after all the festivities and it was so peaceful and quiet. All the staff, from Sarah on the desk, the Manager of Hospitality, and all serving and cleaning staff were very friendly but not intrusive. The food at breakfast and evening meal was delicious. The accommodation was clean, warm and comfortable. We cannot rate this hotel high enough, it has been the best we have stayed in an met all our needs. We are looking forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: The junior suites at the far side of the hotel away from the main hotel building and overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The company my partner works for had their Christmas dinner here, so a special deal was arranged for overnight rates, only £45 per double room, outstanding for a lovely large room, very clean, comfortable bed. The Christmas meal was excellent - my partner chose for me and had to submit a pre-order; he chose parsnip soup for my starter, turkey escalope for main and Christmas pudding - I'd never choose soup for starter in a mass catering situation because I've known it to arrive lukewarm, but this was piping hot, served with a cheese French bread crouton and absolutely gorgeous, very impressed. The main course was, again, piping hot and very good indeed, served with a good selection of vegetables. He'd forgotten (?!) that I don't like Christmas pudding, so we swopped and I had their Bakewell tart, which was very nice. After the meal, there was a DJ/disco, which was very lively. We were the first up the next morning at 730 (we were later told some hadn't got to bed till 5am, when the cleaning lady told them it was time they went to bed, so not surprising!) and the breakfast was lovely, very good hot and cold choices, then we went for a walk round the golf course to blow the cobwebs away, great views. All in all, 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarannSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very tasty with a good variety of vegetables, The staff were friendly and served at the right speed so that we did not feel rushed. The tables well spaced out, good value and fine views to the coast. A good choice of 3 dishes for each of starter, main course and sweet. Options were for one, two or three courses.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hunley Hall for a few days over Christmas whilst visiting my family. The rooms were supurb for the price and would recommend to anyone needing to stay in the area or who likes a good game of golf.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Junkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
518 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
8.3 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. The public areas at Hunley Hotel have been refurbished in 2010.It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi.Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels.The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop.Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel
Hunley Hotel And Golf Club Saltburn-By-The-Sea, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing