We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Spa Hotel(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Brockley Hall Hotel(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grapes Inn(Easington)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
270
126
45
22
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
270
126
45
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunley hallhousing estaterooms are largein great conditionfire alarmsat navfirst classsea viewevening mealgreat weekendgorgeous viewscooked breakfaststeakstayed here for one nightfamily weddingbar and restaurantlovely staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 471 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Booked this hotel for a golfing trip with 11 other golfers and was terribly let down by the disorganized staff, unfriendly and surly golf shop staff and poor attention to it's guests, if you are thinking of booking this for a few days away golfing with friends then don't !! After travelling for 2 and a half hours to get there we were trying to fit in as much golf as possible to warrant the journey, however with 2 weeks to go until we arrived we were told that we could not tee off until 10:30 am !!! as we had already paid a hefty deposit there was not much we could do. The golf shop staff was surly and extremely unfriendly and after explaining our situation and them knowing we were planning on playing two lots of 18 holes (with buggies) the response we got was tough ! it's was ladies day (which they didn't tell us at time of booking) hence we didn't get back from our second round until 6:30 pm which was still light however the club shop was closed thus the next day as the course was empty we asked could we start playing earlier only to be rudely told tough ! as we could not be bothered to bring the buggies back in before 6 then they hadn't been charged so couldn't start golfing until after 10 again, giving no time to complete a 2nd 18 holes when i explained to the staff that it was still light at 6:30 and the course playable why were there no other staff available to charge the buggies up and why was it closed so early !! The course is really disorganized with the holes having no numbers on and no course map and each hole having different coloured flags so some times we didn't even know what green we should be aiming for.
The meal was good on the night time although the menu is the same and the staff were friendly yet disorganized and couldn't cope with 12 of us even though we were the only people dining, there was only one bowl of potatoes for all of us and when we asked for more by the time they brought some out it was 15mins later and all had finished.
When it came to checking out i explained what happened and all the disappointment we had encountered only to be stared blankly at with no apology offered, and when it came to the bill the prices were not what was discussed over the phone and came in at an awful lot more, it took the reception staff over 30 mins to work out the bill including drinks on the room bills that were not taken and a lot of broken promises.
Considering we were planning on making this an annual trip we will not be coming back and WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS FOR ANY MEDIUM TO LARGE GROUPS OF GOLFERS as you are not made to feel welcome and play a very poor second fiddle to the members.

Room Tip: there are two parts to the hotel an older part with older rooms and a new part, the rooms are clean and a reasonable size however the walls are really thin and you can hear everything your neighbours are doing including toilet visits
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank superted1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Firstly, I would like to offer our sincere apologies for any part of your stay which was not up to our usual high standards.

As you will note from other reviews, we excel in welcoming groups of golfers of all sizes, so your experience appears to be a one-off for which I can not as yet offer an explanation. I can promise you, however, that your comments are being taken very seriously and I am currently looking into every element of your review to ensure that your experience is not repeated.

I sincerely hope that we do have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hunley in the future and I can personally guarantee you the excellent stay that the majority of our guests here enjoy.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights, a last minute get away. Lovely location, great for accessing the Cleveland Way coastal path, you can walk left to Saltburn or right to Staithes, both great walks. We booked an executive room. I would say that the sea view was the best bit, but a little marred by the car park in the foreground. The decor needs an upgrade, yellow walls, red carpet and a small tv. All ok, but I expected more for an executive room. As none golfers we did enjoy it, but were aware of looking a bit like the odd ones out, so didn't feel comfortable in the bar or restaurant as our walking gear felt a bit odd amongst the golf garb. None the less, the staff were polite and friendly and the bar menu looked nice. I would recommend this hotel, but feel It would benefit from some upgrading to rooms and corridors. The reception area was much nicer than the rest me the hotel which is a shame as it has great potential.

Room Tip: Sea view is nice, upper floor for privacy from the car park.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank littlebuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had the pleasure of partaking in some of the fantastic walks that we have to offer.

Thank you too for your constructive feedback on the décor in the bedrooms. We have spent the last two years refurbishing our restaurant, bar, reception and holiday lodge and our next project is to renovate the bedrooms and hotel corridors to a similarly high standard of design.

I hope you will re-visit Hunley in the future and have the pleasure of staying in a newly refurbished bedroom.

Warm regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at Hunley as a golfing party early September 2011 and found the whole experience very good value for money. Check in at reception was a pleasure. The bedrooms were of a generous size, ours overlooking the sea, food excellent quality and the staff very friendly and could not do enough to enhance our stay.

The course itself was excellent and challenging in places. Would definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thankyou for taking the time to write your glowing review. Both myself and the team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I've read the excellent reviews this hotel has received and stayed there because they were so good. However too many things wern't right for a hotel charging a fairly premium rate. The selection of beer in the bar was limited to pressurised "cold" beers because the only real ale was off. Our "garden" room rooked out onto a huge hill with no view at all. The "carefull tended gardens" round the car park/entrance area were decidedly scruffy. The wifi didn't work in our room. And, finally, at 8am when you really want to bathe or shower the water was cold. I felt for the staff who were unfailingly nice in a situation where they were bound to fail becase of a
lack of attention to detail by management.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholasxmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide us with your feedback, it is much appreciated. I am sorry that some of the parts of your stay were not up to standard. We appreciate that attention to detail is what separates an ordinary visit from an excellent visit and excellence is what we strive for.



We have taken steps to remedy specific areas following your comments and I hope that should you choose to come back to Hunley in the future you will enjoy an excellent stay, equal to the reviews that you have previously read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The setting for this hotel is perfect. Glorious coastal views. The downside for me was that I was disturbed by load laughing, talking throughout the night as the night staff took their cigarette breaks. My room backed on to the golf course but was about 10 yards from the 'gathering' place. This did stop at 6am sharp, but by then it was too late to gain back what was lost. If this was Premier Inn I would not have been paying. All that said, if you are a golfer this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RorysThrow_In
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write your review. I am very sorry to learn of your disturbed stay with us and sincerely apologise for this. I would like to reassure you that on the strength of your feedback we have taken steps to ensure that such a situation never happens again so that should you choose to come back to Hunley in the future you should enjoy the perfect stay as well as the glorious coastal views.

Warm Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews